We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in Buenos Aires” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bel Air Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bel Air Hotel
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Arenales 1462, Buenos Aires 1061AAO, Argentina (Recoleta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun in Buenos Aires”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was booked for us by MSC Cruises as a 3 day 2 night pre Cruise treat - very satisfied with our room - breakfast in the basement on the 1st morning but in the bar on the 2nd which we found to be more cramped and the service a bit slow. Central position clean room and comfy beds what more could you want after a 13 hour flight from Heathrow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    112
    39
    15
    8
See reviews for
40
102
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teaneck, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay here in April. The room was on the small side but comfortable and pleasant. The location was great, close to a park and convenient to sights in Buenos Aires. The employees at the front desk were helpful with our questions and requests. They arranged transportation for us, printed boarding passes, etc. Breakfast was good but the staff at breakfast was slow clearing tables and seemingly uninterested. We used the exercise room and they even provided fresh fruit, a nice touch. Got plenty of exercise walking around the area though!

Room Tip: Our room faced the back and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have been there with my husband last year in August and appreciated the employees´ efforts to please us.The room we had booked was very bad, with mold in the bathroom, so they gave us an upgrade and then it was ok. Breakfast was good and location too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week with my wife prior to a fishing trip in Patagonia. The hotel was a good value. The room was a little cramped because of my extra fishing gear but not a problem as we spent most of the time exploring the city. It is within walking distance (1-2k) from the cemetery holding Evita Paron's body and the same distance in the opposite direction to Mayor's square. It is close to the buses but not the underground. The hotel staff were not familiar with how to obtain a bus pass or the rules but did point us to the post office where we were able to get them (passport required). The routes are confusing (over 300) and no maps but the people waiting at the stops were helpful in telling which bus would take us to our destination.

Room Tip: I saw other reviews that mentioned outside noise. We had a room with a view overlooking an air shaf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent 10 nights here in March. Rooms were clean and comfortable, staff was friendly. WiFi was spotty/slow and breakfast was so-so. Location is convenient to many areas of Buenos Aires and a short cab ride from many others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel February 2013. This in a better area of Buenos Aries. I use a wheelchair and this hotel has a ramp. I did not go into a disabled room but found that the room was big enough to get a wheelchair in however the shower is over a bath. The room was clean and tidy and bedding was clean. The breakfast was ok, just the typical continental type but enough to keep you going for the day. The hotel staff spoke very good English and were very polite and helpful. At the corner of the road is a lovely little park. It is in walking distance of many of the attractions including the cemetery. A word of warning we met a significant amount of people who had necklaces ripped of their necks and bags stolen in tourist areas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Excellent Hotel, super location close to Recoleta 2 blocks from a Freddo ice cream and close to many restaurants. Rooms are very contemporary design with blonde wood floors and modern furniture. They gave us adjoining rooms in the back of the hotel and there was an outer door you could close to make it into a 2-room suite which was a great idea for families. Buffet is excellent although the breakfast room is a bit like a dungeon. Wifi is ~$9 a day which was also a bit of a letdown would prefer free. Biggest complaint was absolutely no blankets, just a skinny sheet to sleep under, it was fine the first 2 nights but then it rained and got cool out and there was no heat and we didn't sleep so well b/c it was cold and all you could do to get warmer was put a towel over yourself, a duvet or blanket in the cupboard would have been appreciated. Front desk and housekeeping are excellent. Overall a great experience would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Air Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Hotel

Address: Arenales 1462, Buenos Aires 1061AAO, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 399 Specialty lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The excellent location in Recoleta combined with a dedicated attention and outstanding services, make Hotel Bel Air one of the best choices of allotment in Buenos Aires that can be found in the "3 star allotment in Buenos Aires" hotel type. This prestigious Hotel in the Buenos Aires city has luminous and well-equipped rooms and suites, two wide meeting lounges (Vicente Lopez and Arenales) with professional event planners, business center with free internet access, gym, wi fi zone and a luxurious restaurante inside the Hotel called bisabis that serves delicious national and international meals as well as a complete wine card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Bel Air Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Buenos Aires
Hotel Bel Air

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Air Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.