We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bel Air Hotel to your Saves list
Bel Air Hotel
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Arenales 1462, Buenos Aires 1061AAO, Argentina (Recoleta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Excellent Hotel, super location close to Recoleta 2 blocks from a Freddo ice cream and close to many restaurants. Rooms are very contemporary design with blonde wood floors and modern furniture. They gave us adjoining rooms in the back of the hotel and there was an outer door you could close to make it into a 2-room suite which was a great idea for families. Buffet is excellent although the breakfast room is a bit like a dungeon. Wifi is ~$9 a day which was also a bit of a letdown would prefer free. Biggest complaint was absolutely no blankets, just a skinny sheet to sleep under, it was fine the first 2 nights but then it rained and got cool out and there was no heat and we didn't sleep so well b/c it was cold and all you could do to get warmer was put a towel over yourself, a duvet or blanket in the cupboard would have been appreciated. Front desk and housekeeping are excellent. Overall a great experience would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aegir101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed 5 days there. Easy to go to most places in Buenos Aires walking. A large variety of restaurants and ice cream parlors nearby. The staff is very helpfull and nice, been able to speak Spanish, Portuguese or English. Nice and comfortable room, nice bed, cleaned everyday. The breakfast was good, not spectacular, but with everything you need to begin your day in a good mood. Definetly I recomend! :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igorsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was in Buenos Aires in Sept 2012 and the hotel Bel Air was in a great location just off a busy street Santa Fe, thereby keeping the place quiet. It is just off a nice park and walking distance to Florida Street and San Martin Square. Hotel had a great buffet that has moved to the basement for better privacy and away from the entrance to the hotel. The internet was FREE and available. The gym was good and the staff was very helpful, courteous and spoke good English. The room was roomy and very comfortable. They made very good arrangements to see a tango show. I recommend the Puerto Madeira show and it is in a good location overlooking the dikes in the reclaimed land and a lovely view of the yatch's near the Yatch Club. Please change dollars at Florida St exchange places and use pesos for a good deal.
The only issue I had was the taxi had a hard time getting to the right address of the hotel because of the ONE WAY streets. Otherwise, I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEEElody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I didn't choose the hotel a friend did. Having read some of the other reviews I was expecting something a little less desirable. Much has been said about rude staff. I found the hotel to be very good and the staff delightful. For value for money the hotel is excellent. The location is fantastic with everything within walking distance. I go a room at the back - so any issues with noisy rooms wasn't a problem. I always travel with ear plugs in any event! The room (again considering the cost) was massive. It was about fifteen years old judging by the deco but had stood up well. The linen was excellent - don't normally even consider such things but this stood out. Breakfast was absolutely fine - as good as most hotels. The food was fresh and there was plenty of it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PommyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at the Bel Air in BA three times in the last 6 weeks. My bill was paid by a third party, which obviously was trying to save money. Had I been free to move, I would have gone to another hotel for my second and third stay.
This is an old building which has been remodeled , located in a nice shopping district. I stayed in different rooms and found the rooms which look to the Arenales street to be very noisy.
The hotel limits service at a maximum: for instance the Bel Air does not have a doorman or bellboys....you have to carry your bags. Breakfast was not a good experience: served in a dark room ( in the basement) and then , for a city known for its 'confiterias' where excellent coffee and medialunas are served, in this case, everything tasted second rate. The topping on the cake was a morning when we did not have hot water to shower. Had to shower with cold water. Good or your health, I guess.
So, not a very pleasant experience, overall.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the street rooms which are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, while a short visit to Buenos Aires visiting family and friends.
The hotel is located in a nice area with a nice park in the corner. It is on a busy street and locals drive like crazy, so BE CAREFUL when walking.
We arrived and there was a very BAD weather (in fact, 11 people died on that evening because of the weather). My husband got off the car and ran under the rain inside the hotel and asked for an umbrella to get me and our little 3 months-old bay out of the car. They did not have an umbrella AND they didn't even bother to come out and help us with luggage... VERY RUDE of their side.

Pros:
Location
Nice and big bed

Cons:
Wifi VERY expensive
Poor breakfast
OLD OLD bathroom
Unfriendly staff

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband, two year old son, and I stayed at the Bel-Air Hotel for three nights. It was during the off season (end of June-July) so the hotel was quiet. We were pleased to learn we had a complimentary upgrade to a suite upon arrival - and they had set up a pack-n-play crib for our son, which was a surprise to us since the reservation we had said children under three were free as long as you used the bedding in the rooms already.

The breakfast was simple, but good. I loved the coffee and there was a good selection of teas. My son loved drinking the strawberry yogurt every morning! As far as free hotel breakfasts go, I'd rank this above a Holiday Inn but below an Embassy Suites. But, come on, a free breakfast is nice even if the eggs are a little runny.

The location was perfect for us. The hotel is near a park with playground equipment, and we were able to walk to all the destinations we wanted to see. (The Buenos Aires Zoo was a pretty long hike, so I imagine especially during spring/summer it would be too hot, but for us we were comfortable).

The staff was very helpful, kind, and willing to answer any questions we had. We liked that the business center had free internet access. When we left the front desk called a private car for us, it was about 60 pesos cheaper than using a Radio Taxi.

Our suite faced the street, which had a good view, however on Friday night the street got very noisy. We had the windows open and were woken up a few times. I read some people complained about rooms without street views, but it may be a good thing!
All in all, a great place in a beautiful city. We had an amazing time!

Room Tip: Street facing rooms are probably louder at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
#145 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Recoleta
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
#79 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta
#65 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Recoleta
Melia Recoleta Plaza
Melia Recoleta Plaza
#55 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Hotel

Address: Arenales 1462, Buenos Aires 1061AAO, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 468 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The excellent location in Recoleta combined with a dedicated attention and outstanding services, make Hotel Bel Air one of the best choices of allotment in Buenos Aires that can be found in the "3 star allotment in Buenos Aires" hotel type. This prestigious Hotel in the Buenos Aires city has luminous and well-equipped rooms and suites, two wide meeting lounges (Vicente Lopez and Arenales) with professional event planners, business center with free internet access, gym, wi fi zone and a luxurious restaurante inside the Hotel called bisabis that serves delicious national and international meals as well as a complete wine card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bel Air Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Buenos Aires
Hotel Bel Air

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#