We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and tired” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Castelar Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Castelar Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Castelar Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Mayo 1152, Buenos Aires 1085, Argentina (Recoleta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Old and tired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Spent a night in this Hotel, would not recommend it. We booked an apartement for 4 adults, carpet was old and dirty and the walls would have needed some fresh paint.The bathroom smelled funny and the 2nd room looked worst than the first one.I guess for the price we paid for BA it was what you get but I would return here! Breakfast was good and employees helpfull.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    150
    113
    34
    30
See reviews for
51
158
31
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Right at avenida de mayo and within walkingdistance of all the touristic sights. metrostation in front of the hotel. Nice "cosy" rooms, that have all you need and nothing more. Beautiful lobby, good breakfast and friendly staff. All you need for exploring Buenos Aires!

Room Tip: They are currently replacing all the beds for ne ones, make sure you ask for a room with a new bed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Castelar is an older hotel in a beautiful building and once you step inside, the interior of the lobby area is enchanting. However, its best attribute is probably its central location. Situated on the Avenida de Mayo, at the Lima underground station and a short walk away from the Avenida de 9 de julio. Rooms are spacious but a bit jaded, yet comfortable with old fashioned bathrooms. The shower water pressure is decent and the water temperature is stable. The breakfast is buffet style with ample choice but it can get crowded in the small dining area. Rates are very favourable for what you get, and then you also have free entrance to the Spa if you stay at the hotel. Staff may appear to be reserved and even though the language barrier could be a bit of a problem, a friendly smile makes the difference. For me the biggest inconvenience is that there is no safe in the room.

Room Tip: Choose your room well or you may be disappointed! Rooms at the back section of the hotel tend to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel, where the rooms haven´t been renovated, painted or in any other way undergone any update in 80 years, this is the hotel for you! (The "80" years was actually told to us by the porter). We got a suite with huge spots of mold in the ceiling!!!
The rooms are in a very poor condition, the service at the hotel is very limited - ex. we arrived at 5pm and I wanted to iron a shirt before we should go out and ceibrate my birthday, I therefore asked for an iron and ironingboard to the room. This was not possible at all since the hotel has a service from 9am to 3pm for this kind of service and there were no help at all from the staff.
The staff at the reception never really smiled and were not recognizing you, so you never had the feeling of being welcomed to the hotel.
The warm breakfast is turned off 30min before the breakfast closes, so be there in good time.

My best advice - spend a few more money and give yourself the treat at better hotel. Castelar is simply not worth any money until it undergoes a very very thorough renovation!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

It was fantastic, the charme, the lovely staff, excelent breakfast and food.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This was my first trip to Argentina, and I am always interested in the traditions and cultural history of any country I visit. This hotel was a great place to start my trip...... nice !! It is only a few steps from the Obelisk, and Plazo de Mayo Square. The hotel did show some signs of wear, but it was very comfortable and staff members were friendly and helpful. The front desk did speak English, and provided a map and some ideas of places to visit. I stayed here four nights. My room was on one of the upper floors, and there was no noise problem. I slept very well. There are about 150 rooms, so if they are not booked solid don't hesitate to ask to see another room if you don't like yours. I ate at the breakfast buffet one morning, and it was fine. I prefer to eat at local restaurants when I travel, and there were many to choose from nearby. I used the spa once... very nice. If you are going to stare at the walls looking for a piece of loose wallpaper.... DO NOT stay here. If you appreciate culture, history, and comfortable surroundings...... this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This place is a little worn around the edges, but it is clean and in a great central location. It is easy to access sites and restaurants in Buenos Aires from El Castelar either by walking, taking the subte (subway), or a bus. In fact there is subway stop a few steps from the front door.
The front desk staff at this hotel is bilingual in English and Spanish. They were immensely helpful to us when we were trying to find out if our flight was cancelled due to volcanic ash. They stayed on the phone and website until we found out, which took a while since everyone else in Buenos Aires was trying to find out the same information at the same time.
We were on one of the top floors and noise was not an issue for us. We used our air conditioner, which was way quieter than any hotel air conditioner I have used in a U.S. hotel.
The breakfast had a big selection so everyone can find something they like. The coffee is SUPER strong.
If you will be out and about all day and need somewhere clean and convenient to stay, I recommend this place.

Room Tip: Higher floors are further away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castelar Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelar Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida de Mayo 1152, Buenos Aires 1085, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta , El Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelar Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The emblematic 4-star Castelar Hotel & Spa in Buenos Aires is located in the heart of the city centre, between the famous Avenida de Mayo and the Avenida 9 de Julio Avenues, at only few steps from the Obelisk and the Plaza de Mayo Square. The Castelar Hotel & Spa is more than a clasic hotel. Featuring modern amenities, the Castelar Hotel & Spa is a perfect accommodation choice both for business and leisure travelers in Buenos Aires. Among its outstanding facilities, guests will find a restaurant, elegant meeting and banqueting lounges, Wi-Fi Internet access in the public areas & rooms, and a luxurious Spa with sauna, Finnish baths, Turkish bath and a large range of beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Castelar Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelar Hotel And Spa
Castelar Hotel Buenos Aires
Castelar Buenos Aires
Hotel Castelar Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castelar Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.