We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, well located.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Libertador 420, Buenos Aires C1001ABR, Argentina (Retiro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
385 reviews 385 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, well located.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Beautiful. There is an opulent entrance and a lovely bar on the same level. Staff are all very professional and charming. Breakfast was a great selection however it doesn't open until 7 am and there is no provision for early departures, unlike other hotels of this standard. They also charged me to make scrambled eggs despite them being part of the normal breakfast buffet. I am lactose intolerant so can't eat the pre mix eggs or any made with milk or cream. Most hotels I've been to do not charge if they already offer eggs as part of the buffet....maybe it was a case of the member of staff sticking to closely to the rules.
The rooms are lovely, we had one overlooking the garden so it was very quiet and we had a couple of good nights sleep. Housekeeping though did not fully replenish out bathroom so for the second night we only had 2 bath towels and one small hand towel, not bath mat or hand towels.....
There is a charge for internet, which is fine however the speed we had was so bad that we went down to the lobby where it was free and faster.
Overall it was a lovely hotel, not amazing, but certainly one of the better ones in its price band.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    212
    77
    33
    15
See reviews for
77
183
41
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taarnby, Denmark
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is the best that I have stayed in for a long time.Very nice rooms,and a very good service as well.
The view from the rooms is very good,and this hotel is located very central in Buenos Aires as well.
The Bar in the Hotel is very cosy,and the prices there is fair.
I am very sure that I will stay there again when I come to the Capitol of Argentina.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purrmerend
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This a good hotel, with just a few minor downsides. You can expect all the things you expect from a 5* hotel but there are some things missing. No outdoor pool and a small difficult to find sundeck. The restaurant is sometimes closed in the evening, so just must eat in bar area. the location not the best, there is nothing much to do near the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The Hotel Emperador is not what I would expect from a 5-star hotel. The hotel lobby is great; probably this hotel was very luxurious in the past. However, for today's standards, the rooms are outdated.

But for the worst part was the customer service. During the checkout, I have left my luggages in the luggage room, at the lobby. When I came back to pick up the luggages, I figured out that I have lost the tickets for the luggages and, due to this, they didn't want to return my luggages, although they had tags with my name on them.

I have also forgot a mobile cell phone charger in the room. Immediately after leaving the hotel, I sent an email, that was never answered. For a hotel of this category, this kind of customer service is unforgivable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The best word to describe the hotel is decent. It is an old hotel with a beautiful lobby and garden, but with very outdated rooms. Many small annoying things: plugs in the room very far from the bed, internet is almost non-existent, below average food, poorly trained staff. They changed the rate during the stay without any notice. Not worth the price, there are much better options in the area for this cost.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

An external plain impression of this hotel belies the spaciousness and impressive marble floored feel once inside. The main dining room at the rear of the lobby was equally open and welcoming. The hotel staff are generally somewhat reserved and at times too formal. One sometimes is able to extract smiles. The lobby has security staff overtly evident suggesting a caring for clients, or perhaps anticipating potential difficulties.
A request for an iron/board was met with firstly what was my room number before I got an answer of "no we do not have", as if dependent on one's room as to whether a an iron/board was available. (no irons seems to be a constant theme throughout South America).
My room was huge and with a lovely outlook to the rear beautifully landscaped dining patio and cascading garden with water feature. The drawback of the room was an old fashioned over-size, dated bedspread on a king size bed. I would recommend it to be replaced with a more healthy,fresh and modern duvet.
Paid wi-fi was available (80 P per hour use), although once again expensive hotels still do not seem to understand that free wi-fi should be included in the room rate.
Nevertheless this is a quality hotel to stay with.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

When staying in a 5 star hotel called Emperador I do have certain expectations of a grand hotel.The entrance was quite unremarkable, and the building in general downright boring. Nothing grand here. Service friendly and helpful. The rooms looked more promising on the website than in reality. On the bed a woolen blanket. I believe duvet would be better in a 5 star hotel and much more comfortable. The room was spacious in size and there was a spacious bathroom with separate shower.The hotel uses very bright energy-saving lichtbulbs in the room. This creates the atmosphere of a supermarket. My empty hotel shampoo was replaced by a new half-full bottle. I found this strange and did not experience something like this before. The noise from the street was clearly audible on the sixth floor, my room was located on the Avenida de Liberator side. It offered a nice view. The services of the concierge were very good. Gym and pool very enjoyable. Breakfast good and plentiful. Location of the hotel at the heart of Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Avenida del Libertador 420, Buenos Aires C1001ABR, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#43 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#48 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#60 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires is located on the Avenida del Libertador, only a few steps away from the renowned Avenida 9 de Julio, close to the art galleries and museums district, a top restaurant area, shopping malls, and in the elegant neighborhood of Recoleta with easy access to Puerto Madero Harbor.An excellent choice of hotels in Buenos Aires, Argentina, Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires offers a strategic location convenient for business and leisure travelers and offering excellent standards of service, accommodations and amenities.Our Buenos Aires, Argentina hotel is a perfect choice for meetings, conventions, social events, and weddings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperador Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Emperador Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.