We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It lacks the "grandeur" that it says to have....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Libertador 420, Buenos Aires C1001ABR, Argentina (Retiro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“It lacks the "grandeur" that it says to have....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My room was situated at the front facing the Avenida de Liberator... CONSTANT traffic noise from very early in the morning till the late hours. BRING EARPLUGS....I knew about the noise but my request to have a quiet room was ignored completely!
It is not really very classy - average room ambiance.
Plus points are the seperate shower/bath (GREAT powerful shower) and the selection of tv channels (actually to be found throughout most big hotels in South America).
Breakfast is average: if you are a sweet tooth you will like it; if you are a health freak not so!
It is a hotel comfortable but I sure have been in better ones!

Room Tip: do request a room facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    212
    77
    33
    15
See reviews for
77
183
41
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao paulo
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've been at this hotel for some times, always when I'm traveling for business and I appreciate the hotel in general. Very comfortable bed, the room is clean, bathroom, air conditioning, shower everything works well.
Maybe two opportunities: the rooms turned to the Main Street are too noise, sometimes disturbing a little bit if you need silent to sleep. Another thing is the cost to use wi-fi inside the room. This kind of hotel should offer as complimentary the service. But in general, I recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We traveled to Buenos Aires in a group and stayed at the Emperador Hotel, and then extended our stay after the tour and booked back into the hotel. The rooms were spacious and well equipped. Our initial room was definitely a smoking room and the smell lingered our entire stay, on our return we requested a non-smoking room which was much better. The breakfasts were wonderful and adequate. No coffee or tea facilities in the room, if you wanted coffee you either had to order from room service or purchase coffee from the mini bar and brew. The hotel was so centrally situated and within walking distance to the Recoleta Area and Florida Road. Radio taxi service was available at all times and the front desk was very accommodating and were extremely helpful and efficient. We almost forgot to use the beautiful indoor swimming pool which was heated and very tranquil and was open till 10pm. The gardens are spectacular. We requested a later check out due to our late flight departure and we were given it without any hesitance. Thank you so much for making our stay so memorable Emperador Hotel and staff, we will be back. We also had the South African Rugby team stay at the hotel which was very exciting!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The staff sincerely works with good attitude, they help me find everything i needed even if they were hard to find things. It was a great location and the concierge Paulo was extremely helpful. We had a gorgeous view of the Rio de la Plata.
I can't wait to go back. I have styed at many 5 star hotels. This hotel rocked my world. The room was always clean and the food in the restaurant was delicious and creative. Loved the energy, location and vibe of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I loved everything about this hotel, I have rarely enjoyed a hotel stay as much as at the Emperador in Buenos Aires. Apart from being a wonderful hotel, with great beds and the softest sheets ever, etc etc, the real difference to me was the staff: so so friendly, welcoming, wonderful. Would love to come back and stay here again, anytime.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very good spacious rooms in a fairly good location. Can walk to Ricoletta and the town centre. Godd place to eat nearby from cheap to more upmarket. Some rooms do not have much of a view but not really a problem. Rooms at teh front best views but some slight trafffic noise. Staff are good and bar in lobby is good for a few drinks in happy hour or a late night night cap. breakfast is OK but can be busy. Close to Domestic airport and ferry to Uraguay

Room Tip: Upper floor at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Staff was friendly, helpful, informative, efficient and gracious. The rooms are well appointed, very comfortable and spacious. I highly recommend a stay at EMPERADOR on your next visit to BA. I had both dinner & breakfast at the hotel, the food was great the service was excellent. All staff were great. The hotel was within a short walk to the cemetry which we found amazing. Recoletta area was great a little like Paris ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMarginet, e-Commerce Manager at Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires. We read with great pleasure that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always do appreciate to receive feedback from our clients as it helps to continuously improve our service and quality standards.

Our staff were really so proud to hear what you had to say about your special stay at Emperador Hotel.

We are happy you liked our great service as well as our great location, and our spaceous and confortable rooms

We are looking forward to welcoming you as our guest during your next visit to Buenos Aires.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Avenida del Libertador 420, Buenos Aires C1001ABR, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#43 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#48 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#60 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires is located on the Avenida del Libertador, only a few steps away from the renowned Avenida 9 de Julio, close to the art galleries and museums district, a top restaurant area, shopping malls, and in the elegant neighborhood of Recoleta with easy access to Puerto Madero Harbor.An excellent choice of hotels in Buenos Aires, Argentina, Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires offers a strategic location convenient for business and leisure travelers and offering excellent standards of service, accommodations and amenities.Our Buenos Aires, Argentina hotel is a perfect choice for meetings, conventions, social events, and weddings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperador Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Emperador Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.