We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and Chic Hotel in Puerto Madero” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Faena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Faena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Martha Salotti, Buenos Aires 1107BDA, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 439 hotels in Buenos Aires
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Cool and Chic Hotel in Puerto Madero”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Good Points:

Design and style - great Phillipe Stark design and decor
Cool bar and restaurant with DJs playing - full of BAs most trendy and styish crowd
Comfortable room and excellent bed - very quiet
Good Breakfast
Safe area in BA and close to other restaurants in PM

Not so good points:

Puerto Madero is a bit artificial and lacks the street soul and vibe of other BA areas like Palermo and San Telmo and you cant really walk around there and browse in shops and cafes. Its a taxi drive to get to the other areas

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear bc 1050
Thank you for choosing Faena Hotel, and for sending in your comments. Hearing how much you enjoyed Faena experience was very rewarding for us!
Puerto Madero is the newest district in Buenos Aires and also the safest one, it is still getting its character and personality but I am sure it will be distinctive and unique as San Telmo or Palermo shortly. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how your stay went, and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the property in the future.
Sincerely,

Ariel Barrionuevo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    82
    39
    14
    21
See reviews for
26
199
19
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you like Phiplip Stark and no remotely experience the City, this could be for you. i found it very annoying and actually moved out. In Porto Madero sector, it is safe and clean, but not for a first visit to one of my favourite cities. The staff are helpful but the design of everything i hated

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your review shared in Tripadvisor.
I am sorry to learn Faena Hotel Buenos Aires is not the type of hotel you expected because its design.
I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I will be happy to make all the necessary to make your stay memorable.
Best regards,

Ariel Barrionuevo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had stayed at the Faena once in the past and once again I really enjoyed it. Veronica Carrasco was my experience manager. She sorted tickets to a football game and was seeingly always around to offer great advice and recommendations. The service here is top notch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Mr McGinnis,
We would like to thank you for choosing the Faena Hotel for your recent stay in Buenos
Aires and for taking the time post your review on TripAdvisor.
It is very special for Veronica to receive such wonderful compliments from guests. It is through such thoughtful support and feedback like yours that our staff continues to be inspired
to provide impeccable service each day
We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward
to welcome you again in the near future.
Best regards,

Ariel Barrionuevo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just come back from 3 nights in the hotel for a business trip where we took 7 clients for meetings. By far the smartest hotel I've stayed in in Buenos Aires and within easy walking distance of all the fab restaurants in Puerto Madero.

Hotel staff could not have been more helpful and remember your name from day 1 - a very nice touch (or maybe I was just making myself too much of a pain so they remembered my name!)

Food at lunch was superb - although dinner needs to step up a bit for the prices on the menu.

Only two minor negatives about the whole time I was there

1) needing a torch to find colleagues in the bar because its so dark - or maybe I'm just getting too old ;-)

2) Getting in and out of the shower takes a degree in astrophysics due to the design of the glass bathrooms and the door arrangements.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Roger,
It is very special for our hotel staff to receive such wonderful compliments from guests
and clients; we truly appreciate you taking the time to do so. It is through such
thoughtful support and feedback like yours that our staff continues to be inspired
to provide impeccable service each day.
I also take your minor inconveniences to serve you better in the next future.
Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Faena Hotel Buenos Aires.
Hoping to welcome you again very soon.

Ariel Barrionuevo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just had a lovely stay at this sexy poshy hotel in Buenos Aries.
The decor is over the top and very Philippe Starck!
Delicious food and the service is excellent.
Prices are very reasonable too.
The area is newly developed with lots of restaurant choices with in walking distance of the hotel.
This was the perfect hotel for our romantic get away... We will definitely be back!
They are opening one soon in Miami - so check it out if your travels take you there.

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend the loft suites... ours was a bit stuffy in the upper bedroom area and the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Missy B,
Many thanks for taking time to share your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.
It has been a great pleasure to welcome you to the Faena Hotel Buenos Aires and we are glad for all your compliments.
Certainly, we will be in Miami soon and we hope to see you there too.
We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Warm regards.

Ariel Barrionuevo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

By far one of the best hotels I have stayed in - the rooms are very classy without trying too hard and the service at the hotel during the stay was excellent. Even after my stay they helped me out with an item of clothing I left behind and sent it back internationally for me.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Michael
It is tremendous pleasure to read such a nice comment on Tripadvisor.
On behalf of our team, thank you very much for your kind words and we look
forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Ariel Barrionuevo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great rooms, lovely architecture and good food. Breakfast should be better, because they've got a crazy cool place to do so, but food needed more attention.

The wifi is the worst in the world, although it's free. The system falls down every 5 minutes, so you have got to log in again. They should change it.

The restaurant Bistrot is also remarkable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Mr Agostini
We would like to thank you for choosing the Faena Hotel for your recent stay in Buenos
Aires and for taking the time post your review on TripAdvisor.
I also would like to apologize for the inconveniences with WIFI service, they were caused by our external supplier but we have already fixed them.I would like to mention this type of incidents do not belong to our standard of service and we are working with the personnel involved, in order to avoid future repetitions. We truly hope you do not judge our services by these unfortunate incidents and you will consider using our hotel in the next future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next reservations, I
will be happy to make all the necessary to turn your stay into a memorable experience.

Best regards,

Ariel Barrionuevo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Faena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faena Hotel

Address: 445 Martha Salotti, Buenos Aires 1107BDA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#15 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#15 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#18 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#20 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Faena Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conceived to the very last detail by Alan Faena, and designed by Philippe Starck, Faena Hotel Buenos Aires features 90 rooms inspired in the stunning glow of the Belle Époque, while providing world class comforts and modern technology. The first and second floors shelter the Universe, an area that fosters the interaction among guests and visitors. These areas includes two unique dining experiences El Bistro where sophisticated international cuisine is served, and El Mercado an authentic cantina serving fresh local cuisine, as well as The Library Lounge bar and a 3500 bottle Wine Cellar. El Cabaret provides an intimate setting for the best tango show in town, Rojo Tango, and other live performances. The Faena Spa, the only Leading Spa in Buenos Aires, features a gym, personal trainers, beauty treatments, nutrition specialists and healing therapies, the Hammam, a Turkish style steam bath and the best outdoor Pool in B.A.Experience Manager®, whose mission is to make their dreams come true and to even exceed their expectations. This concept, solely created by Faena Hotel Buenos Aires to provide its visitors with a special and tailor made service, is always available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Faena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faena Hotel Buenos Aires
Faena Hotel Universe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.