We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy place, service could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Faena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Faena Hotel to your Saves list
Faena Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Martha Salotti, Buenos Aires 1107BDA, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Trendy place, service could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is my second time in B.A. and at the Faena as I loved it so much last year. I stay 10 days over Christmas and N.Year and still loved it.
This is the only hotel in BA with decent pool and trendy atmosphere. As I complained before to arrive than the previous year I did not have an Executive room(but paid for it), they told me that you have some with shower and some with bath and shower...well honestly if you pay that amount of money over Christmas you do want the bigger room!
and they did...I had a much nicer and what looks like an Executive room.
Good point for them,
Not so good when this time I wanted to see tagain he Tango show and instead to wait last minute to book, I send an email 10 days before arriving.
Mistake!! when we arrive in the cabaret, we had the worst table in the room, near the stairs, no view and I refused to stay, as if you can afford to be a guest in the hotel for 10 days, I do think the concierge should give us a better table (as the previous year).
And they wanted to charge me when I checked out! I was fuming and also disappointed to don't see this fabulous show.
Even more disappointed that on New Years Eve they did not did the Tango, what was the best on the previous year...instead we had a common brazil group..great when you have the best Tango Show in your place...
Just for this two raisons I will not go back this year to the hotel.
Breakfast was stunning, evrything you wanted was there.
Pool was very busy and staff very cool, our favorite was Celina, she is just so professional and very nice, always smiling.
Hope the management realize that they have someone good there..
SPA is very good but overpricy, $55 around the pool for 10min reflexology!!($330 for 1 hour??)Even in Paris or London, I do not pay that price.
Concirege was good but not as nice that previous year, especially when come to restaurants, we had to find our own choice as I was not happy with their choice.
Overall, it is a perfect hotel if you are not paying full price, service could be better, but if you manage a good rate, well this is perfect.
do recommanded!

Room Tip: For an Executive room, ask shower/bath, they are bigger. Avoid room facing the pool, very noisy at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    109
    43
    15
    22
See reviews for
36
246
25
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This hotel is clean, employs friendly staff , has an old world feel to it and has a very quaint pool with ample seating and attentive servers. Their spa facilities are top notch and I have to say I received one of my top 3 massages at Faena! I doubt anyone would be sorry they stayed here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

If you can afford it...stay here! If not, at least have a drink at the library bar at night. This is over the top hot!! By far the best place we visited in buenos aires

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Java23
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn your had a great time with us. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Julian Smaldoni
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I visited this hotel to watch the Red Tango two years ago and vowed to return and stay at the hotel. I returned in December 2011. The hotel is bespoke, classy, chic and elegant. I would not stay anywhere else in BA! The Red Tango is a must see too. Dinner and show for 250 dollars - expensive but worth every penny!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are absolutely fine. Ask for an upgrade - you may get lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Mungo69
Thank you for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor community. It is a pleasure to learn you came back to our hotel and you had a great experience once again.
Our best wishes for this New Year!

Julian Smaldoni
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The hotel is situated in a convenient location a short walk from the centre of Buenos Aires. It is in a regenerated area that was originally the docks and the building is converted from an old grain store to a very high quality. The rooms are excellent and the public areas are very nice although fairly dark! There are plenty of other restaurants and bars nearby on the side of the docks.

The food in El Mercado was excellent although the service at dinner was a little slow and inattentive. In the Bar, the service was very poor and inaccurate and the snack menu was poor in selection and in quantity when delivered - poor value for money. The service (when required) in El Mercado for breakfast was also very slow - the staff need more training.

Some of the Guest Experience staff ('reception') were excellent and others just rated 'OK' and this was because they were not always reliable in following up when they promised. Other staff were very confused about a vegetarian menu's availability in the Bar and in the Spa. After asking our third member of staff, we finally concluded that this menu (still on show in the spa) had been withdrawn. Again, there is insufficient up-to-date general knowledge about the hotel amongst the hotel staff members.

In summary - a very nice hotel in a good location let down by average service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Juniperro
First of all thank you very much for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor. We appreciate all your words because they encourage our teams to improve everyday!
Besides, we take seriously your comments about service. We regret we did not achieve the level of service you deserve. We will work with all personnel involved to avoid future repetitions.
Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any further details or suggestions.

Julian Smaldoni
Managing Director
jsmaldoni@faenahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

I dont really have the space to mention all the great things about this hotel. Just to summarise:

- Outstanding service (Faena Experience Managers are the nicest in LatAm)
- Outstanding food (breakfast is just divine)
- Excellent gym and spa (all the machines you really need with personal trainers onsite)
- Excellent rooms: clean, well equipped and spacious
- Location is just perfect in the micro bubble of Puerto Madero!

If you need further info, feel free to reach me. I would highly recommend this hotel after living here for 1 month.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Alex Torres,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor. You'll be always welcome to Faena Hotel + Universe. We are pleased to have you as a guest any time.
Our best wishes for this New Year 2012!

Julian Smaldoni
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

the best hotel in the whole city, great service, great location, very expensive, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Ed A
Thank you for your kind word in Tripadvisor. We hope to have to chance to welcome you back in Faena Hotel + Universe in the near future.
Our best wishes for this New Year 2012!

Julian Smaldoni
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Faena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faena Hotel

Address: 445 Martha Salotti, Buenos Aires 1107BDA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#13 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#16 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#19 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Faena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conceived to the very last detail by Alan Faena, and designed by Philippe Starck, Faena Hotel Buenos Aires features 90 rooms inspired in the stunning glow of the Belle Époque, while providing world class comforts and modern technology. The first and second floors shelter the Universe, an area that fosters the interaction among guests and visitors. These areas includes two unique dining experiences El Bistro where sophisticated international cuisine is served, and El Mercado an authentic cantina serving fresh local cuisine, as well as The Library Lounge bar and a 3500 bottle Wine Cellar. El Cabaret provides an intimate setting for the best tango show in town, Rojo Tango, and other live performances. The Faena Spa, the only Leading Spa in Buenos Aires, features a gym, personal trainers, beauty treatments, nutrition specialists and healing therapies, the Hammam, a Turkish style steam bath and the best outdoor Pool in B.A.Experience Manager®, whose mission is to make their dreams come true and to even exceed their expectations. This concept, solely created by Faena Hotel Buenos Aires to provide its visitors with a special and tailor made service, is always available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Faena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faena Hotel Buenos Aires
Faena Hotel Universe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.