We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small tiny little room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Exe Hotel Colon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Exe Hotel Colon to your Saves list
Exe Hotel Colon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carlos Pellegrini 507, Buenos Aires 1009ABK, Argentina (Formerly Hotel Colon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
KL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“small tiny little room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

cons:
small tiny little room
use the wash basin half of the room will get wet
smelly carpet and linen
disfunctional tv, poor air ventilation
dirty bathroom...stuffy room
no hot water provided
unfriendly staff

pros:
great location....in the city centre.. i walked to almost every place i wanna visit
my colleague stayed in a room facing the obelisk..awesome city view
fairly price
breakfast was good...

Room Tip: choose the one facing the city view and not the one with no view...at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    219
    169
    67
    35
See reviews for
129
196
26
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed here one year ago, I was disappointed in the deterioration in amenities. Rooms are small, need paint, and the heating/cooling system often doesn't work. Breakfast is good, but the facility is frequently crowded, and staff is slow to clear tables, or replenish plates, cups and food on buffet. I think I'll look for another place next year, even though Hotel Colon is close to my business needs.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

An excellent location, but that is about it! It is way overpriced when one looks at the quality of the place. The lobby looks nice, but that is where the good part ends.
Upstairs one sees old run-down rooms that badly need refurbishing; really NOISY air-conditioners, torn drapes that do not fully keep the sunlight out, tiny rooms, most minimal bathroom amenities, a large but pretty mediocre breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is gourgeous on the website, but when you get there it is a different story. There is no pool at the upperfloor (as advertised on the net), the "spacious, modern and full of light rooms" are tiny, worn out and, the one we've got facing an internal "patio" (????), is rather dark. The carpet is a kind of dark brown, but you can see the cement floor everywhere through the roles. The air conditioner would work fine if it was not for the leak inside our room weeting all the carpet. It was really unpleasent walking over a wet dirty carpet, barefoot it feels like sticky mood. Bed sheets were ok, blankets and bed covers are full of roles. The bathroom provides you with stained towels, feces on the shower curtain (white color) and special host(ess): mr/mrs Cockroach!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed in Hotel Colon in 27 of August of this year on the way to Rio de Janeiro and i liked what i saw. A good price hotel with a room with big size, big double bed and a small room attached with a single bed , a look like new room and bathroom. Air-conditioning look like a 19th century model ( not 20th, 19th really, hehe) . Great breakfast with a big variety of items. Excelent. Great location, near of Calle Florida. I have payed US$ 89 for this room and it's a great deal, really. The hotel staff is ok. Two years ago i stayed in this hotel and i be sick (not because of hotel) and this staff was so helpful in this moment because it i consider the staff ok. Great deal in Buenos Aires Microcentro.

Room Tip: Be careful when walking through downtown at night. Do not carry too much money, passport or anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

the hotel did not have a swimming pool, as they say.
the hotel facilities are a bit old, the ar conditioner of the bedroom leaked water, and the carpet got wet everytime the air was on, so all the time the carpet arround the air conditioning was wet.
the bedroom was big and the internet connection was fast.
breakfast was delicious!
the location is really good, near a lot of good points of interest. as cabs as really cheap, thres not a problem to get arroun on them.
i think there are better options arround city, but for the price, i dont think you can get good service and good location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

Very unhelpful staff, tired rooms (some are refurbished and they are actually ok but we started in an old room though which was really bad. I'd say no more than 2 star quality).
Corridors and common areas dark and dingy.
Find somehwere else to stay in BA- this hotel has absolutely no charm at all.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exe Hotel Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Hotel Colon

Address: Carlos Pellegrini 507, Buenos Aires 1009ABK, Argentina (Formerly Hotel Colon)
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Exe Hotel Colon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Exe Hotel Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colon Hotel Buenos Aires
Hotel Colon Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exe Hotel Colon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.