We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Buenos Aires Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Buenos Aires Hotel to your Saves list
Melia Buenos Aires Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Reconquista 945 | Centro, Buenos Aires C1003ABS, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Moab, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great room for the price. Rooms are great. Good location. Friendly staff. I hadn't submitted a review until now, my third stay over the course of the past year. The results are consistent. WiFi is good. Both the room and the bathrooms are very nice and big. Lighting in the room is also very good. I've enjoyed each of my stays and will continue staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    436
    97
    22
    4
See reviews for
170
450
61
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Melia Hotel is a great hotel and very centrally located in the heart of Buenos Aires.
This was my first visit to South America and my impression with the city and the Melia will always be a positive one. The week stay with the Melia is an excellent one. The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and very efficient with requests. Mariana assisted with great customer care & service and had gone out of her way to make the visit a very welcoming one. I would recommend this hotel property to anyone visiting Buenos Aires and when I do visit again, I will stay with the Melia.

Room Tip: Always ask for the stay at the rear of the room as it is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

When we decided to take a Southamerica espace, I started looking for options in T.A. to decide which hotel would be the one to take in our 3 days stay at Argentinian Capital City. Eventhough Melia Buenos Aireas was not in the top ten, we took this option because 3 main reasons:

1. Location
2. Price
3. Ammenities included

We got to Ezezia international airport around noon and took a taxi for $210 Pesos (around $45 USD - make sure to ask before purchase the service - there are several options inside the airport at the international arrivals hall) directly to the hotel. It was sunday therefore traffic was not an issue.

When we arrived to the hotel main entrance, bellboy greeted and helped us with our luggage. Front desk service was very good and accurate and gave us our room very quick. In general service was very well in all areas so we felt cared.

Now, main points on which our decision was made:

1. Location to us was PERFECT!. you may walk virtually to all main sights (besides Caminito, which is kind of far). Just coupple of blocks away...we walked to Puerto Madero, main square plaza where Casa Rosada is located (through Florida avenue, which is all walkable and lot of shops), Obelisco and Teatro Colon. Galerias Pacific is also 3 blocks away where you might find luxury brands and nice dinning options. Area is totally safe and taxis area always available if you need one.

2. Price through solmelia web page was very good. We found a promo of a min. of 3 night stay and got a very good discount paying around $140.00 USD (tax included) per night with buffet breakfast included. Only downside of this was WIFI was not included, so if you need to connect to the web there are several packages (3hr,6hrs,12hrs,day) but for an extra charge.

3. Hotel services were very nice and helped us for a more confortable stay. There is a small inside pool for relaxing time. Concierge service is very helpful, they reserved a dinner and Tango show package to us with transportation included at "Viejo Almacen" which is a MUST!!!.

I have read previous reviews and I must say that hotel is very well preserved. Of course it is not a new brand hotel, but it has the classic elegance of a hotel of its class. it might be a little outdated but everyhing works perfectly fine. Rooms are VERY spacious, with a sofa area and work desk very nice. outside noise is not a problem and insolation from one room to another is just fine... we really liked this.

Breakfast was just OK. Variety is not what we expected from a 5 start hotel...but it is worth it if its included in your room price. If not, I might think twice before having it everyday, because although is good, it is not the best I had it.

We also walked to PLaza San Martin where yellow sightseeing bus stops, so you have all attractions with this turistc option. Its a really good option for sightseeing, covering all interesting spots all around Buenos Aires. You also may switch to line 2 for a longer tour. Its a hop-on/hop-off system...so just take it early and enjoy the ride.

In general, we were very satisfied with this option, and we highly recommend it based in our experience of our last visit.

Bon Voyage!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Melia is located on a great strip with lots of restaurants and about half a mile away from an open air market on Sundays. It's the perfect location for business travelers who want to experience a lot of food (local or something that reminds you of home). The staff is really helpful and very accommodating. My colleague and I were able to use their car service each morning to get to our office.

The rooms are a little dated but comfortable. Most of the rooms are adjoining so at times I could hear the neighbor coughing or sneezing. It was a little unnerving because I don't know what they could hear from my side. The room doors also don't do much to block the noise.

The internet is spotty during certain times of the day (6 - 8pm) which is frustrating especially when the internet charge is high.

I would book here again though.

Room Tip: My hotel room was twin/queen. When I opened the door it happened to be the twin variety. A simple ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London. UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel has all the trappings of a 5* but take a closer look and you find dirty, tired displays in the reception area. The rooms vary quite a bit. Only some have coffee making facilities and watch out if you think about drinking the bottle of water-it costs an arm and a leg as will the drinks in the bar. Go across the road to one of the bars if you're thirsty. No free wifi but the doors will be opened for free! On the whole rather disappointing but comfortable, spacious rooms. OK for a short stay but don't stray too far if you are British, several of our group were daubed with unpleasant stuff and a few mugged!

Room Tip: Go high rather than low!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great hotel for the price near all the main attractions that Puerto Madero has to offer. I would recommend you ask to stay in the new wing as the rooms are much nicer ... a little more expensive but worth the extra cash.

Room Tip: Choose the new wing....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Lets start with the bad things: the pool closes at 7pm, and it's a short hike to the train. Other than that, this place is fantastic. While Palermo Soho is more our speed, this hotel was within walking distance of much of what we wanted to see as well as some good shopping along Calle Florida. I would definitely stay again if looking for something in the Centro area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Buenos Aires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenos Aires Hotel

Address: Reconquista 945 | Centro, Buenos Aires C1003ABS, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#37 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#43 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#67 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Buenos Aires Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Meliá Buenos AiresOur most important objective is to provide you with a warm and welcoming atmosphere for you to enjoy to the full.This modern hotel provides 209 spacious and comfortable rooms including Standard Rooms, Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Junior Suites, Executive Suites and Premium Suites. All the rooms have been carefully designed and combine elegance, quality service and the latest technology, as well as modern temperature control systems and soundproofing.The rooms are fully equipped with individually controlled central heating, LCD TV, desk, broad band Internet connection and WiFi, 2 telephone lines, minibar, safe, kettle, shoe-shine service and 24 hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Melia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Buenos Aires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Buenos Aires Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.