We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location and nice stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Buenos Aires Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Buenos Aires Hotel to your Saves list
Melia Buenos Aires Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Reconquista 945 | Centro, Buenos Aires C1003ABS, Argentina (Retiro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #78 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Location and nice stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This was not my first time in BA but first in Melia.
The booking was done easily through their web site and I also was upgraded on check in to a superb and big room on one of the hotel corners. The room was really nice, very well organized and perfect to work. The toilet was nice and fresh although the hair drier was that kind of powerless one, however the hotel has alternative hair drier that they can borrow.
The lobby is really big and nice!
The bar at the lobby is also nice and had ok price.
The big plus of this hotel was definitely the location , 1 block from my work, bars and restaurants at the same street of the hotel. Tried the Al carbon and rigolletto. Both excellents. Walking distance to galerias pacifico mall and also to Puerto Madero.
Through the hotel we booked the La Ventana tango show which I also loved.
The breakfast is a point they can definitely improve: too little to offer (just one juice for ex) and always extremely crowded .
If the hotel keeps the same price level my next time in BA will be certainly be on Melia.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    509
    117
    28
    6
See reviews for
195
507
71
310
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were booked in by our travel company as part of an Antractic cruise so, in common with some other people, we did not choose it ourselves. We were,however, more than happy to come back to it several times during our extended trip around Argentina.The hotel is well run, staff are very friendly and helpful and it is in an excellent position on a part pedestrianised street with lively bars and restaurents literally just outside the entrance. It is also very convenient for walking around the Microcentro, Puerto Medero and the Retiro.
The rooms are good and well furnished but the trendy 'part open' bathroom in the refurbished rooms meant that any activation of the toilet light during the night also lit up the bedroom. We had rooms on the 3rd and 8th floors overlooking the Reconquista and never had any issue with noise even though the street below is very busy during the working week Monday to Friday. Conversely the area is quiet on Saturday nights and very quiet on Sunday nights.
We did not, however, consider the hotel to be 5 star. Comfortably 4 star and trying hard but let down by details such as the breakfast which, although perfectly adequate, was not very exciting, and the pillows which were lumpy polyester.
Notwithstanding the above we were always happy to return. A comfortable, friendly, professional hotel in a convenient position with fun bars and restaurents just outside the entrance - what's not to like?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Melia. It was very well located which made it easy to walk around the city.
It is situated on a pedestrian street so there was no traffic noise.It was handy to plenty of bars and especially a great steak restaurant.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've taken a long time to think about this review - because of an unpleasant experience at this hotel - which I would otherwise have rated 'very good'. I used to stay at this hotel about 12 or 13 years ago and thought it very modern and far superior to others in the same price bracket. I think it is still good value for money, with standard rooms which are much bigger than one usually finds. Despite what others have written, there is no intrusive noise from the street (on the third floor, facing the row of bars on Reconquista). In fact in 2001 there was a very noisy bus route on this road, now partially pedestrianised.

At the beginning of January, my wife and I had a good day based in the hotel having flown in from the UK overnight and not being able to board our cruise ship until the late afternoon.The hotel was as expected, and the car service from the airport (booked through the hotel) was fine. We returned at the end of the month for a three day stay. All went well (although the breakfast fare was not as good as it could have been, we thought, until our second evening. We came back from a local restaurant to find the communicating doors to the adjoinng room were wide open. The other room was in darkness, but there was a suitcas on the bed. I went downstairs to complain and get the doors properly closed and locked. There was no apology or explanation except that ther had been 'a mistake'. When I got back to the room, the occupant of the other room was there, looking rather surprised - but had he asked for the doors to be opened? We never found out what had happened, but were very pleased indeed that our valuables were locked in the room safe. It left an unpleasant memory of what was otherwise a good holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I am visiting town on regular basis and this was my second stay after almosr two years.

* LOCATION: in the very heart of Microcentro (city) 5 mins to Galerias Pacifico or San Martin Square. Also a bus terminal to the airport is very close. Losts of restaurants and shops

* HOTEL: Older building and decoration but well maintained.

* ROOM: Mine was a contemporary executive on 8th floor overlooking the street. With beige and light brown tones.

* BED: Excellent king bed where I slept very good.

* BATHROOM: Two separate sections for wc and shower. Very good presure and a large head with a lot of water! Great. Also another room with a bathtub with an opening to the room.

* TV: Miiddle sized plasma with lots of chanells. Needed 2 days to find them as not by order and there are 15 empty positions so you need to go one by one until no.80. When asked front desk about the selection they did not know anything.

* HEALTH CLUB: Basic workout room, small swimming pool, jacuzzi, changing room, massage rooms and sauna. Dirty water in jacuzzi and empty used bottles of gel on the floor in the showers.

* BREAKFAST: Nothing special and more like a company canteen than a hotel. Good selection of food (bread, medialunas, juices, fresh fruit...) crambled eggs and bacon. Would like to have different choices every day.

* STAFF: Front desk hepfull but slow and sometimes did not do what asked. At breakfast nobody asks anything and you have to order this and that...younger staff chit-chatting with each other instead of cleaning the dirty plates. Did not make sure at any time if you needed anything.
I asked for an iron which was brought in but later taken away and was not replaced later even if asked. The minibar was not re-filled in time and had to ask for it again!
Room was not properly cleaned!

Overall a good stay especially because of the bed and location and I was cosy inside it. I must add wifi was free in my room and a 30min vouchers provided for PC usage in business centre.
But being an expensive business hotel I would expect much more, especially from hotel staff. When you are Platinum Melia memeber I expect top services and an extra care from all the people involved, which was not met at this occasion.

I would recommend this hotel for businessmen and solo travellers or young couples.

Not indicated for families with small children and spoiled luxury tourist.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We arrived in the morning after a long flight from the UK. The check in staff were friendly and helpful and our room was ready. We had requested a quiet room on the top floor and we were allocated one. The room was large with two double beds, table and comfortable chairs. The included breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cereals, juices, fruit, pastries and cooked items. We used the fitness centre during our stay which had a decent range of equipment.

Overall we enjoyed a very pleasant 3 night stay and would be happy to recommend the hotel as good value for money.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I primarily booked this hotel so that I could be in the same hotel as some friends of mine. As well it was a hotel used by Princess Cruise Lines so I expected it to be good. However, it was better than expected. My room was large with 2 queen beds, a desk and sitting area. More than adequate for a single traveller. Also, the price of the hotel was very reasonable considering its location and the fact that it included an "all you can eat" breakfast buffet.

The location was great for me as I like to walk everywhere. It was 2 or 3 blocks from Florida Street, one of the main shopping areas. Normally the fact that it was a shopping area was not of interest to me but the street itself was just interesting to walk along. The 9th of July Avenue is fairly close too.

It was also close to several parks and squares. La Recoleta Cemetery is within walking distance although it is a long but interesting walk. The cemetery itself is a "must see" for its uniqueness as well as it being the burial place of Eva Perón.

The hotel staff were great. They were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor and faced Paraguay Street. I found it quiet and had no problem sleepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Buenos Aires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenos Aires Hotel

Address: Reconquista 945 | Centro, Buenos Aires C1003ABS, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#34 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#53 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#73 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Buenos Aires Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Meliá Buenos AiresOur most important objective is to provide you with a warm and welcoming atmosphere for you to enjoy to the full.This modern hotel provides 209 spacious and comfortable rooms including Standard Rooms, Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Junior Suites, Executive Suites and Premium Suites. All the rooms have been carefully designed and combine elegance, quality service and the latest technology, as well as modern temperature control systems and soundproofing.The rooms are fully equipped with individually controlled central heating, LCD TV, desk, broad band Internet connection and WiFi, 2 telephone lines, minibar, safe, kettle, shoe-shine service and 24 hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Melia, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your Melia Buenos Aires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Buenos Aires Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.