We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Buenos Aires Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Buenos Aires Hotel to your Saves list
Melia Buenos Aires Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Reconquista 945 | Centro, Buenos Aires C1003ABS, Argentina (Retiro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPECIAL OFFER
Ranked #75 of 449 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I primarily booked this hotel so that I could be in the same hotel as some friends of mine. As well it was a hotel used by Princess Cruise Lines so I expected it to be good. However, it was better than expected. My room was large with 2 queen beds, a desk and sitting area. More than adequate for a single traveller. Also, the price of the hotel was very reasonable considering its location and the fact that it included an "all you can eat" breakfast buffet.

The location was great for me as I like to walk everywhere. It was 2 or 3 blocks from Florida Street, one of the main shopping areas. Normally the fact that it was a shopping area was not of interest to me but the street itself was just interesting to walk along. The 9th of July Avenue is fairly close too.

It was also close to several parks and squares. La Recoleta Cemetery is within walking distance although it is a long but interesting walk. The cemetery itself is a "must see" for its uniqueness as well as it being the burial place of Eva Perón.

The hotel staff were great. They were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor and faced Paraguay Street. I found it quiet and had no problem sleepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_C499109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Snohomish
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The location of the hotel was excellent. The rooms where good. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast was included with our room but was terrible. It appeared that everyone ate in the same dining room and had the same breakfast. Complaints were often heard. All bread products were flavorless and did not seem fresh. Fruit that wasn't fresh and cold cereal were the other breakfast choices. Service was poor.
After arriving home from our trip in South America the Melia Hotel had charged our credit card an additional amount. We have no idea what the charge was for since we purchased nothing additional and our room and breakfast were prepaid. I have emailed the Melia Hotel and never received a response. We stayed at the Melia in January 2013 but I waited until March to write this review to see if Melia would respond to my email. We have stayed in other Melia Hotels and have been satisfied but would not return to this hotel or recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the street in front. It was not noisy at all. We enjoyed looking down on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kakeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We are family, 2 adults and 12 years old child. We stayed in Melia BA 4 nights in February 2013. Localisation is good. Hotel is clean, staff is very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast but nothing special.Nothing to complain. I can recommend Melia BA to other visitors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvedin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were booked into the Melia by our tour operator as part of an Antarctic trip so didn't pick it ourselves. We weren't expecting character or charm, but we would have liked a better breakfast and more helpful staff. We had a continual problem with our room card entry and found the reception staff less than sympathetic during our irritatingly frequent trips back downstairs to resolve this.

Otherwise, the hotel is quiet, well located within walking distance of most things you'd want to visit and handy for bars and restaurants, most rather touristy. As others have mentioned, several of our group were mugged (bird poo or snatch attacks) so we certainly wouldn't describe the area as safe, but perhaps nowhere is in the city if you look like an obvious tourist. Just wise up and don't wear watches, jewellery or tote a camera.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antofagasta, Chile
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is very central. There is a lot of restaurants and night clubs of this area, literally start in 15 feet. It is a very clean hotel.
The pool and fitness room in the basement and it is dark down there and smell humidity.

Room Tip: choose non smokers room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dasencic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redvers
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is very central. When you walk out the front door, all the main restaurants and night clubs of this area, literally start in 15 feet. It is a very clean hotel. My only complaint is the pool and fitness room in the basement and it is dark down there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GayleSask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here for two nights during a recent visit to BA. Hotel is very well located in a safe area of the city on a quiet side street. Breakfast Buffet was great and basement pool a pleasant experience. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
#42 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
San Nicolas
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#157 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Retiro
Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel
Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel
#90 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#51 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 2,385 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#10 of 449 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#8 of 449 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Buenos Aires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenos Aires Hotel

Address: Reconquista 945 | Centro, Buenos Aires C1003ABS, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#38 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#53 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#66 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Buenos Aires Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Meliá Buenos AiresOur most important objective is to provide you with a warm and welcoming atmosphere for you to enjoy to the full.This modern hotel provides 209 spacious and comfortable rooms including Standard Rooms, Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Junior Suites, Executive Suites and Premium Suites. All the rooms have been carefully designed and combine elegance, quality service and the latest technology, as well as modern temperature control systems and soundproofing.The rooms are fully equipped with individually controlled central heating, LCD TV, desk, broad band Internet connection and WiFi, 2 telephone lines, minibar, safe, kettle, shoe-shine service and 24 hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Melia Buenos Aires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing