We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Buenos Aires Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Buenos Aires Hotel to your Saves list
Melia Buenos Aires Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Reconquista 945 | Centro, Buenos Aires C1003ABS, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 437 Hotels in Buenos Aires
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Staff but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of an expedition cruise to the Antarctic at New Year 2012/13. The hotel was showing its age and the facilities were questionable. The location was not salubrious and all of the sidewalks and roads in Buenos Aires needed urgent repair - not the hotel's fault.

The Internet access as not free in the room or even in the "Business Centre". However, the rooms were fine. The hotel bar was in the foyer and there was nowhere to sit quietly and read a book or newspaper.

The best feature was undoubtedly the staff, From reception/concierge to restaurant/room service the staff were friendly and helpful and they could not to enough to please.

All in all, a disappointing stay made worthwhile by the people.

Room Tip: It is difficult to give a tip. The rooms at the front look over the roofs of other buildings and/or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    464
    98
    24
    4
See reviews for
177
465
64
288
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel in July 2012 and had a wonderful honeymoon. We stayed four days. The hotel is cozy and our room was a great size. Near of Florida street and Galerias Pacifico Shooping Center. The is nearby too of Puerto Madero and public transport is a block away if we wanted to go to another area. It's a lovely place. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LISBON
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Some years ago I spent a week in Melia Buenos Aires , now I came back for a 5 nights stay.
Obviously the hotel mantain some strengths : situation very central with a lot of restaurants near the door, Florida street in walkable distance like Porto Madero, the rooms are very large ana confortable, the staff is still kind.
But there are some important differences. Furniture beguins to be something tired and old fashioned.
The bar in lobby that had some years ago all afternoons a pianist now has noise, in terrasse we wait large time to order and another large time til something reach.
The breakfast now is a very poor one without sufficient variety,Croissants that were terrific are now simply regular.
Conclusion: still a convenient hotel but declining.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

my wife and I stayed in the hotel in November 2012 and had a wonderful nine days. The hotel is very comfortable and our room was excellent in size and furnishing. Convenience in location could not be better as so many interesting places are nearby and public transport is a block away if we wanted to go to another area. The shopping is wonderful, according to my wife and I have to admit a bought some leather shoes for myself.
The staff in the hotel were extreemly and I would recommend this hotel to anybody going to BA.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is located in a great location in the Centro area - walking distance to Florida Street, Puerto Madero, all things in the Centro area, and great restaurants. The hotel is on a pedestrian street with numerous cafes and restaurants.

Staff were very friendly and accommodating - we requested a later check out because we weren't flying out until evening, and it was done. Front desk spoke good English, so for those who don't speak very good Spanish, communication was easy.

Breakfast was quite adequate - fresh fruit, yogurts, breads, and eggs (you can specifically order a different type if you don't want the standard scrambled).

We had a superior room (could have upgraded to a junior suite for $30 more a night, but didn't plan on spending a lot of time in the room, so turned down the offer). The room was spacious (although a little worn), king bed was comfortable, and bathroom was big with seperate toilet and shower area.

Highly Recommended When in Buenos Aires

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is just perfect.
The location is amazing, near to lots of B.A.s tourist spots and a little walk from another bunch of cool sights. You can find bars, pubs, cafes, restaurants etc nearby.
For check-in we had some problems and we had to take a walk on the city before beingwe could get our room which was still being "cleaned". Other than that services were impeccable. Breakfast is fantastic, sauna & pool are amazing and checkout was fast and accurate. We also got a transfer out to the airport which no issues.
The room was great... clean, new and quiet. The bed was sooo nice and bathroom was excellent.
Totally recommend and will surely come back to this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed at the Melia for 8 nights in December 2012. I found the hotel to be comfortable, centrally located and reasonably priced (~$160/night). I was a bit nervous after reading the complaints of the noise from the bars across the street. My room was directly in line with 2 bars, and with the windows closed I didn't even notice it.

The gym/pool lacks a little to be desired and as others have pointed out the pay for wi-fi is a little annoying.

Overall, I found the hotel to be good for the cost and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Buenos Aires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenos Aires Hotel

Address: Reconquista 945 | Centro, Buenos Aires C1003ABS, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#30 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#44 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#64 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Buenos Aires Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Meliá Buenos AiresOur most important objective is to provide you with a warm and welcoming atmosphere for you to enjoy to the full.This modern hotel provides 209 spacious and comfortable rooms including Standard Rooms, Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Junior Suites, Executive Suites and Premium Suites. All the rooms have been carefully designed and combine elegance, quality service and the latest technology, as well as modern temperature control systems and soundproofing.The rooms are fully equipped with individually controlled central heating, LCD TV, desk, broad band Internet connection and WiFi, 2 telephone lines, minibar, safe, kettle, shoe-shine service and 24 hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Buenos Aires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Buenos Aires Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.