We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff, service, and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Buenos Aires Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melia Buenos Aires Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Buenos Aires Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Reconquista 945 | Centro, Buenos Aires C1003ABS, Argentina (El Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 439 hotels in Buenos Aires
1 review
“Amazing staff, service, and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This was my secon time staying at the Melia BA. I've only ever stayed on the renovated side so I can't speak for the rest but the rooms are great! I have no complaints whatsoever except for the Internet. You have to pay additional forthr Internet and it can only be used on one device. Other than that I have no complaints. The breakfast is amazing and the staff are always there to help. I would definitely stay at the Melia again in the future and would recommend it to anyone I know going to BA.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    479
    371
    76
    18
    4
See reviews for
149
395
59
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We recently spent one week in Buenos Aires and stayed 4 days at this property prior to travelling to Iguazu Falls. The property is located in an excellent location with many pedestrian friendly streets. We walked to many of the "must see" highlights of this beautiful city and cabs were easily available when we ventured further. Getting a room facing the back is highly recommended. There really are no views so what your missing in the back is the noise from the streets below. This should be no surprise as Buenos Aires is a busy city that really gets going after 9 p.m. Our room in the new section, facing the back, on an upper floor (the higher the better) was great. We found the front desk employees to be very friendly and helpful at all hours of the day. While we read other comments critisizing the breakfast however we had only good service and food each day. Comparing notes with other friends and people we met while there, this hotel is clearly superior to most.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our experience was pretty good overall. Very nice rooms, amazing location allowed us to go anywhere, and employees seemed very nice. Breakfast was not that good. We liked the food, but the waiters weren't really paying much attention to the guests. Great experience if you get your breakfast very early - not as good at peak time. You won't be disappointed though.

Why 3 stars then? Well, a couple weeks after we left, they charged our credit card for a small amount of money (I think it was 20 or 30 dollars). We didn't even pursue it, but this was very unusual. They basically took our money. I don't know who did this or why, and we didn't even pursue it (not really worth it to fight against a company from another country for 20 bucks), but we lost confidence in the place. We stayed in late 2011 - I was thinking about booking it again because it was a pretty good experience, but this bothered us a lot.

Since I didn't follow up with them on the matter and the rest of the experience was OK, I just took one star from the rating I would give them.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

what attracts you the most of this property is perhaps the location.. its just excellent, both as a tourist or even a business traveller. all the 'central' attractions of this beautiful city are at a walking / short taxi distance from the hotel. areas like La Boca are not too far either and the metro / train station is close by incase some one wishes to travel to the North of Buenos Aires. taxi's are generally safe in buenos aires and run by the meter. the hotel is situated near a 'walking plaza' which is great for walking / dining options with a mall / money exchange options. on weekdays during lunch time the area comes alive with the work force down for lunch.

as for the rooms, they are nice clean and big. breakfast is sumptuous and service precise and courteous. its a hint too expensive but probably its royalty for the location.

Airport: aeroparque is very close (maybe 15 -20 mins) whereas Ezeiza is almost an hour away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Positives:
- Very big rooms
- Excellent locations near (walking distance) to Puerto Madero and Calle Florida
- Excellent area for company events (conferences)

Negatives:
- The breakfast could be a little better

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent 7 nights at this hotel in executive suite. The room was very spacious (2 separates wardrobes), a large confortable bed, enought light from outside but not too much, air condition working perfectly, very clean. Only the bathroom could have been a little bit larger. The location is perfect for those who want to be close to Florida Street and Casa Rosada. The difference between this hotel and a lot of others is mainly in the quality of service. All the staff was very helpfull, friendly, quick and efficient. They all showed what we were expecting: Attention. It was our first trip to Argentina and the people of Mellia Hotel showed a very good image of their country. This was also our first experience with Mellia and after this one, we shall choose this chain again whenever possible. Thanks to them. A good 4 stars+!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is well ubicated in an almost only walking street.
Nice instalations. Nice service. Nice people.
Only be carefull with the floor you choose due to the noise you could get from the bars just in front. Try to get upper floors.
Most of the times I use this hotel because it has a good cost benefit relation and is a couple blocks from my office.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Buenos Aires Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenos Aires Hotel

Address: Reconquista 945 | Centro, Buenos Aires C1003ABS, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#17 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#38 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#64 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Buenos Aires Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Meliá Buenos AiresOur most important objective is to provide you with a warm and welcoming atmosphere for you to enjoy to the full.This modern hotel provides 209 spacious and comfortable rooms including Standard Rooms, Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Junior Suites, Executive Suites and Premium Suites. All the rooms have been carefully designed and combine elegance, quality service and the latest technology, as well as modern temperature control systems and soundproofing.The rooms are fully equipped with individually controlled central heating, LCD TV, desk, broad band Internet connection and WiFi, 2 telephone lines, minibar, safe, kettle, shoe-shine service and 24 hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Melia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Melia Buenos Aires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Buenos Aires Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.