We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise! A very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   San Martin 1225/1275, Buenos Aires 1104, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Medina, Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Surprise! A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

After reading some of the reviews, I was a little nervous about staying in the BA Sheraton in late October. But we were pleasantly surprised. We found the hotel's main lobby to be quite attractive, and the rooms to be in excellent condition. Yes, it is a HUGE hotel - but it's the convention center hotel, after all. Management must have turned on the air conditioning, because the public areas were downright chilly, and we could adjust our thermostat without any difficulty. The AC was fairly loud, but it was a consistent "white noise" kind of sound that didn't bother my husband or me. My husband's Starwood status got us a room on the club floor. The room was very classy, with crown moldings, updated neutral decor, and a view toward the clock tower (and the train & bus stations, but don't let this deter you - the view is very nice). We enjoyed breakfast in the club lounge, which tended to be crowded in the morning. However, the staff checked in each guest, and led each to a table, which definitely helped keep things running smoothly. The hotel is located a short walk from Avenida Florida, where you'll find all kinds of shops, including fur and leather factory stores, souvenir shops, and the like. We tapped the concierge for recommendations for tours, and decided on an estancia visit and a Tigre River tour. We were satisfied with these recommendations, and with the hotel in general, and would likely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonbuenosaires, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
We hope to have you with us again.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    385
    211
    67
    26
See reviews for
119
220
63
413
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

It is simply beyond belief in this day and age that a Hotel could be so arrogant as to "lock" the air-conditioning system in a room and decide that whatever temperature they like is the one their guests will like. But that's what you get at the Sheraton BA. Now this wouldn't be a total disaster unless your room was hot enough to roast a side of Argentinian beef in, which mine was.
So after 4 phone calls, 2 to reception and 2 to the Duty Manager, some kid about 11 years old turned up with a ladder and a torch and a screw driver to fiddle around with the unit until he cheefully told me it would cool down in 15 minutes. An hour later and it hadn't dropped a tenth of a degree despite the force 4 gale coming out of the vent.
Long story short they gave me another room but not of the same type and it was like stepping back 20 years..
Seriously this Hotel is rubbish. It's old, it's run down and it's at least 15 years past it's use by date.
The other thing you should know is that they charge about $30USD a day for Internet access. What a rip off!
If you feel nostalgic and want to see what hospitality looked like circa 1992 then drop in for a coffee at the prehistoric coffee lounge on the lobby level. But for goodness sake stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonbuenosaires, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Dear Guest,

We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the air conditioning in your room.
As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, texas, USA
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
12,016 helpful votes 12,016 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

If you are looking for a good business hotel this one would be hard to beat - excellent club lounge, good business center, nice gym, and the only hotel other than the Park to which it is connected that always seemed to have cabs waiting even during rush hour on a rainy day. The room we had was also fine, pretty typical Sheraton with a great bed. While this is a fine business hotel its location is not the best if your a tourist nor did the staff I encountered have any advise I found helpful - in fact they directed me to some truly bad restaurants. It is also seemed a bit expensive when you consider that the Park Tower to which it is connected was just twenty dollars more - and worth every penny. I found the staff at the Park Tower much more helpful and certainly loved every restaurant they suggested unlike the staff at the Sheraton who seemed focused on the big steak and Japaneses food. Their is really nothing wrong with this hotel it just struck me as the Starwood hotel in BA I would be least likely to recommend to someone traveling as a tourist. While it has a very nice club room that offers a very good breakfast that would not be enough to get me to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonbuenosaires, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. They are very important for us in order to continue improving our services. Thank you so much.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed in the Sheraton for part of our visit to Buenos Aires. I am a Starwood Gold member, and we stayed on my Starwood points. We were upgraded to the very nice Club level floor at the top of the hotel with its own breakfast and lounge rooms. The breakfast was delicious and included luxury items like smoked salmon and fish roe. We had a nice view from our room, overlooking the clock tower next to Plaza St Martin and the location is pretty convenient (walkable to Microcentro, Recoleta, Puerto Madero, etc).

This is definitely a huge convention-style hotel though - it was really chaotic and crowded in the lobby area at all times (and the staff was, as a result, efficient but slightly brusque). If you are in Buenos Aires for business - you can't beat the convenience, consistency, and Club lounge perks of this hotel. However, if you are visiting BA for romance or culture, this is not as good of a choice. We spent the other part of our BA visit in a small boutique hotel in Palermo Soho and felt like it was a much more intimate and authentic experience.

My main critiques of the hotel center around the service, which hopefully if the hotel management reads, they can take into consideration for future improvements.
The Club level has its own check in desk. However, the people at that desk made it very clear that they cannot assist me with even pointing a local attraction out on a map. They told me I need to go and ask the Concierge on the ground level. The Concierge desk on the ground level is consistently understaffed, and there's always a big line to speak to the concierge. I don't know why the Club level desk isn't staffed to be more full-service. Most of the time I past by the Club level check in desk, there are two staffers and no guests - so to not assist guests with some very simple concierge services is really strange. Also unlike all other Sheratons we stayed at in Argentina (Iguazu, Mendoza), internet access is not complimentary for Starwood Gold members. This seems like a very easy perk to provide to make Gold members happy - and would be a better investment than more food in the Club lounge.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonbuenosaires, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Dear Guest,

We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We apologize for not having been so helpfull as you need.
As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Buenos Aires is so amazing and every time I go it gete better and better. The hotel is in a wonderful location right by Puerto Madero and the Retiro/Avda Florida. Room staff wonderful, reception so, so. Rooms fairly nice but ceilings need a little flaky paint repairs.
Ammenities are first class, pool, spa and web access.
The nightly turn down and Alfajor was particularly welcomed.
Highly recommend for couples and families.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonbuenosaires, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
We hope to have you with us again.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

This hotel is beautiful and well located. Lobby is very cosmopolitan. We were on the 14th floor facing the harbor and the view was spectacular! We did have some difficulties in the city, and the manager and staff were wonderful in the way they helped us. Bathroom was great! (I noticed that someone complained about the bidet--unbelievable.) Yes, there didn't seem to be a way to turn on the AC, but we just opened the window. It was early Spring and very cool. I might add that everywhere we went in the city, the inside temperature was warmer than I would have liked. We usually sat outside to eat when we could. Really liked the computer area in the lobby. Food at the bar and breakfast were excellent. I am diabetic, and found many alternate choices at breakfast. Really enjoyed the stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonbuenosaires, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
We hope to have you with us again
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

The best thing about the hotel was paistry in the executive lounge. Really delicious.
Breakfast was also fine, but nothing extraordinary.
The room was not that big as for a Sheraton. Of course, it wasn't small for for 280 USD per night I would expect something bigger, with an LCD screen at least (there was quite old tv instead).
The staff was helpful in everything, including a room upgrade.
Once you are in Sheraton in BA, look who else is staying there. Lots of rock stars who play concerts in BA, choose Sheraton BA as their hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonbuenosaires, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Dear Guest,

We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center

Address: San Martin 1225/1275, Buenos Aires 1104, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#67 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#94 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#95 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#105 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 742
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel And Convention Center
Buenos Aires Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.