We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   San Martin 1225/1275, Buenos Aires 1104, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 439 hotels in Buenos Aires
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Only staid in this hotel for one night as I was in between flights. It was a very late night check-in and I was offered a late check-out so I could "sleep in" which was a nice gesture. Rooms are comfortable yet dated (baring in mind this is probably a 40 or so years old property). Amenities are what's needed. Shower, albeit powerful, wasn't great. I was also given an executive floor room which came with complimentary breakfast in the St. Regis room. The brekkie spread was small but very nice indeed; with everything one could wish for, even smoked salmon and caviar (for those who enjoy such things -not my cup of tea though); oh, and Argentina's omnipresent delicacy "DULCE DE LECHE" a sort of toffee spread you're met to put on a buttered toast, but as it goes it can be put on virtually anything!!!
I had intended to use the SPA, but fund prices to be extortionate, even if paying in USD....
But it was a good experience over all.

If you can afford the difference, you can also stay in the newer extension, called Park Tower, where they have butlers and a sharper service.

The hotel's location is fantastic as is nearby Jorge Newbery airport for internal flights and some flights to neighboring countries and within walking distance of Puerto Madero, Florida Street, Recoleta and the picturesque neighborhood of San Telmo. On the downside, it's across the road from Argentina's largest bus station and Buenos Aires local trains terminus, therefore heading toward those places is not advisable as it's VERY dangerous; now if you must, and only if you must, please ensure you remove all jewelry and do not flash expensive stuff (mobile phones, cameras, watches, etc etc etc) as it would be tempting fate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Sheraton Buenos Aires. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    296
    184
    57
    22
See reviews for
91
180
46
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Maybe the rooms need a facelift and maybe i was a bit unlucky to have been on the 9th floor. I heard that the rooms on the higher floors (22-23) are renovated. Nonetheless, the view of the tower was really nice.
The lounge on the 23rd floor was in renovations so they made us use the one in the ParkTowers....i think its a St-Regis....simply wow. The breakfast buffet as well as the selection for happy hour was huge and extremely tasty. What to say about their wine selection as well.

Overall the service was impecable and I would stay there again.

Just a side note concerning security in the area...its ok during the day, but dont walk towards the port at night. Lots of druggies and can be dangerous. i did not feel safe. best to take a taxi from and to.

Room Tip: high floor as I heard they have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments made in Trip Advisor, regarding your experience during your last stay at the Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel. We look forward to host you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertford
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

You can walk from here to most locations.Its in a good central place. Rooms are OK, could do with a bit of renovation.Large bedrooms and you get a good view over the water or the city. Pool area is great, a lot of space, and a large pool. Only problem is that at weekends it gets very busy. Gym is an extra, it has all you need if you are happy to pay. Staff very helpful and friendly. Food in hotel is average.be careful about getting fake money, always get the staff to check each note they give you.Enjoy the city, which is wonderful.Only go for this hotel if you want a good swimming pool, and large hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
We hope to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our trip -- we had previously stayed in the adjacent Park Tower hotel for two nights the week prior before travelling to other parts of Argentina. Both the Park Tower and the Sheraton are nice properties -- located in a convenient area and solid amenities one would expect from a higher-end Sheraton property. The pool/fitness area is sizable and well maintained, and the general amenities such as the breakfast buffet and bar/shops were sufficient. This is a high-traffic property in which a lot of large groups and airline crews seem to flow through, so it is not a place that might be labeled as quaint or intimate, but for a standard, tourist / luxury hotel this was a good fit. Rates were reasonable, and we didn't really spend enough time at the hotel to really make that big a difference. Location is key and this is a good one for getting around town and to both airports. A solid recommendation.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the clock tower in Plaza San Martin -- was great to see from our windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at Sheraton Buenos Aires and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Buenos Aires!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hotel is located in central Buenos Aires a moderate walk to all city points of interest. Lobby and most areas are generally busy indicating the premises' convention centre status.

Unlike Sheraton Rio the gym is not included here. Access to the pool is included but this is located on a hotel floor and was usually crowded. Front desk and restaurant service ok but nothing memorable about this hotel. Breakfast buffet selection was decent. No free wifi but 1/2 hour net access per day provided on lobby pcs.

Room was small. Bathroom had seen better days. Door did not automatically lock upon closing and door bolt was faulty. Room was not serviced on one occasion but this was rectified upon request.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback! We really appreciate them. Is very nice to hear that you have a pleasant stay with us.
We hope to have you with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morganville
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This Hotel is located close to the cruise port. If taking a taxi ask around. We found one for $10 US . The hotel is only 8 blocks away but other Taxi drivers were trying to charge up to $30. The Hotel is very nice looking on the outside and inside. The rooms themselves need to be refurbished. The carpeting was not very clean and there were cracked titles in the bathroom.The Hotel is in a good location to see the sites of BA. It is not far from a Hop on Hop Bus or you can simply walk all around. It is located close to Florida street and within walking distance to the famous cemetary. The staff at the Hotel were very helpful with directions and other questions.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool area which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

2 years ago, we had stayed here in a suite and remember that stay very pleasantly.This time, we had a normal room, and were dispappointed.
- The rate is still considerable high, but the room has nothing special and is worn out. Water in the bath tube is full of rost, the TV did not work in the beginning (was fixed though), no evening service, no little chocolate, no nothing. Not really 5 star.
- Service overall is mass volume oriented and not friendly or helpful. For example, I had a few questions on my SPG status, but was simply referred to the listed telefone line
- Wifi did not work, which was sort of embarassing after traveling for 3 weeks through smallest towns in Argentina with smalles cafes having all decent Wifi. And the few avalailable computers downstairs were always busy.
I was not sure to give it 2 stars or 3 stars, but finally made it 3 in spite of our disappointment because we liked the breakfast (with salad, great idea), the pool and the nice memory from 2 years ago ..... I guess the learning is to invest the additional 40,50 bugs for an upgrade to a better room with a better view and a potentially better service.

Room Tip: Invest the money for an upgrade room. Only then you feel the 5 star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center

Address: San Martin 1225/1275, Buenos Aires 1104, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#74 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#94 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#117 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Media 8, Inc., Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel And Convention Center
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.