We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alvear Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alvear Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Alvear Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Alvear 1891, Buenos Aires 1129AAA, Argentina (Recoleta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Arnold, Maryland
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Lovely Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a lovely property in a very interesting part of Buenos Aires. The style of the hotel is elegant and the service is quiet and efficient down to the private butler on your floor. The rooms are spacious and the food was very good with a lovely breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so glad you had a wonderful time at the Alvear Palace Hotel.

Thank you so much for your review!

We hope that you can return soon!

Regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    99
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
126
378
41
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

“I loved the fact the hotel was small. I felt I received more personal attention.The staff was wonderful!! They went beyond their duty to make our stay excellent.


Our suite was just beautifully appointed, the staff very helpful, polite, and professional, excellent breakfast buffet included in room rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, We strive to provide a personalized service and I am happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I and a group of buddies stayed here after spending a week in Cordoba staying in a hunting lodge, so perhaps I was just so happy to be in such a plush place after the lodge, but even discounting that, this place was incredible. Very historic and beautiful. The staff is incredibly polished and knowledgable. They were very discrete and professional. The lobby bar was terrific, and a perfect place to wind down at the end of a day of sightseeing and walking. Our rooms were all large, with huge bathrooms and fine fixtures. Really enjoyed how quiet it was too, plus each floor has its own separate floor concierge who looks after every little detail. We needed a special electrical adaptor (an oddball machine), and they managed to find one for us in a couple of hours. We only ate breakfast in the hotel, but it was superb, and the buffet was enormous, with incredible breads, pasteries, fruit, etc. This is our "go to" hotel when we go to Buenos Aires now, a terrific place and we cannot recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review! We want to thank you for your valuable feedback and compliments regarding our staff and amenities.

We are very happy that you enjoyed this location as well.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed at the Alvear Palace in October 2012 for 5 days and had a great time. Accomodations are just beautiful, the breakfast buffet was outstanding with lots of variety and the staff was kind and gracious.
Would recommend the hotel to all who are looking for quality in all areas.
I hope to come back one day!

Room Tip: We had a suite that was like a small apartment and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the the Alvear Palace Hotel. We are excited to hear that your stay fully impressed you. Your kind comments are truly appreciated.

We want to thank you also for your recommendation of our hotel and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back the next time you are in Buenos Aires.

Regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is in a great area. You can walk right over to the Recoleta Cemetary. The area felt safe to walk around in. Our room was nice. The bathroom was very nice, spa tub with tv. The beds are very comfy. The hotel is old, but very well kept. We ordered room service a few times, and the service was great. The lobby bar is also very nice. The service there could not be faulted. The concierge staff could be a bit more friendly. I would probably stay here again. Buenos Aires is a very nice city to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful time at the Alvear Palace Hotel!

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is helpful and appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinandega, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Beautiful Classic Hotel in the Heart of Buenos Aires. Rooms are impeccably clean and comfortable. The beds are resting and the pillows warm. The breakfast area is refreshing and service was excellent. A bit pricy, but worthwhile.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind comments,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Alvear Palace Hotel and that you enjoyed our facilities. Your comments are very important to us and we thank you for taking the time to share them.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas, USVI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This gorgeous hotel is situated in the upscale Recoleta neighborhood and offers the finest services available anywhere. The hotel is even in walking distance to the historic Cemetery Recoleta.
It has great appeal to tourist and business visitors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing the Alvear Palace Hotel for your recent stay in Buenos Aires and for taking the time post your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and that you took advantages of our lacation.

Regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alvear Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvear Palace Hotel

Address: Av. Alvear 1891, Buenos Aires 1129AAA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#1 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#2 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#3 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alvear Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alvear Palace Hotel is situated in the most elegant neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, La Recoleta. It is an area of extensive parks, wide avenues, and luxurious architecture in a classical style, where the best restaurants, cafes, antique shops and boutiques of Buenos Aires, are to be found. Some of the main museums and cultural centres are close by, and the financial area is only five minutes away.A symbol of elegance is bornOriginally built as a luxury hotel to accommodate the increasing amount of European visitors arriving in Buenos Aires at the time, the Alvear Palace was transformed in 1932 into a model of the highest expression of refinement. The majestic rooms and suites, as well as the lobby and public areas, are reminiscent of the Louis XV and Louis XVI styles, which are evident in the furniture, the crystal chandeliers, walls decorated with gold leaf and works of art of famous artists.The eleven-floor luxurious building with five basement levels stands as an undisputed symbol of the city, on the corner of Alvear Avenue and Ayacucho Street.The second foundationContinuous work and dedication, guided by the maximum standards of international excellence, led to the designation of the Alvear Palace Hotel as a member of the Leading Hotels of the World in 1993, an organization that recognizes the best hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alvear Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvear Palace Buenos Aires
Hotel Alvear Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alvear Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.