We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buenos Aires Feb 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alvear Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alvear Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Alvear Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Alvear 1891, Buenos Aires 1129AAA, Argentina (Recoleta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Canberra
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Buenos Aires Feb 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A wonderful classy hotel in the best part of town, close to restaurants & markets in Recoleta.
Several banks in walking distance (although not all ATMS had money when we stayed there).
Taxi to other parts of city very cheap.

Room Tip: higher floors appear to be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    100
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
126
381
41
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This has to be one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. 5 star without being pretentious like some are. We stayed on a city break as part of a trip around South America. Excellent location for us being able to stroll around the Recoletta district at night safely was important to us. We has a junior suite which was very comfortable. The bed was excellent and the sheets very welcoming. Even though we were in the middle of the city we had a fantastic nights sleep. Bathroom and shower were excellent and well stocked. Check in and check out was efficient and quick. Breakfast was included in our room rate - perfectly adequate continental breakfast. The bar area was a nice place to relax and have a drink. My husband used the gym which he informs me was very good. I used the spa which was lovely. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Swimming pool was really just a token I think. More than 2 people and its full. But nothing to spoil this wonderful hotel, I would definately recommend it for a stay in B.A.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor. We were on the 7th floor and had no noise to distrub us from the cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review about your recent stay at the Alvear Palace Hotel.

It sounds as though you were able to take advantage of our prime location in the heart of Recoleta neighborhood.

We are also glad to inform you that we started a project which involves building a new swimming pool with an outdoor area.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here two times in two weeks based on word-of-mouth recommendations... and I can't say enough about the Alvear.

First stay was booked same day on a 'last minute' rate after a missed airport connection on the way to Uruguay. Room was nice (if a little small) and the detailing was fantastic--from the architectural details to the concealed bathroom plumbing valves and milled marble shower. We were impressed with the concierge as well who recommended Leopoldo restaurant for a late dinner. Our second stay was even more impressive as we were upgraded (on an Amex FHR rate) to a large and fantastic suite with separate sitting room with fresh bouquet of roses. Both rooms had butler service with complimentary ironing and inclusive buffet breakfast--which is one of the most spectacular spreads I've ever seen! Don't miss this breakfast!

The grand rooms downstairs are wonderful and well worth time for tea, a drink or a snack. My only gripe if that service in the bar tended to be very slow. Otherwise, the location is great and the service is impeccable. In short, this hotel is not to be missed. Among the best urban hotels in the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased that you appreciated your accommodation. Kindly be assured that your positive feedback meant a lot for us and that it has been our pleasure to share your warm comment with all the team.

We have also noted your comment about the service at thr Lobby Bar is slow. We would like to inform you that we have discussed your comment with our Food and Beverage Manager in order to improve our service in this respect. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Recently stayed 4 nights at this lovely hotel in BA, as part of a package holiday. The hotel is well located although it is away from central BA it is in a good and safe area. Its within walking distance for most people of the main shopping mall street and is within a couple of blocks of two other shopping malls. There are numerous restuarants close by.
The rooms are of an excellent standard with full facilities. Buffet breakfast in the enclosed conservatory area is a lovely experience with an excellent range of food and excellent service.
Dissapointed with what was on offer within the hotel for evening meals but as mentioned many restuarants close by.
Free wifi available by obtaining a code from reception but if you dont have a wifi device there is a business centre with computors at a charge. not free.
service from doorman to reception and room maids is first class.
Also very close to many sites that tourists may want to visit.

Room Tip: people in the group we traveled with had rooms on the 2nd, 3rd and 7th floors no one had any negativ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

It is fantastic that you enjoyed your sttay and found our staff, breakfast, location and the room ideal.

We want to let you know that our Lobby Bar is open from 9:00 AM till 2:00 AM every day and that you can enjoy delicious meals.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Alvear Palace hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

An incredibly helpful and friendly staff; wonderful neighborhood of Recoleta; concierge desk made our entire stay delightful and smooth. Without doubt, one of the most terrific hotels we have ever stayed at, throughout this world!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is my pleasure to read such a fantastic comment on Tripadvisor.

On behalf of our team, thank you very much for your kind words and we look forward to welcome you back ar the Alvear Palace Hotel in the future!

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Purely by chance we found ourselves in Buenos Aires and decided to stay in the Alvear Palace hotel. From the first call with Florence in reservations we knew this was a class act. Even though we only had our clothes from the mountains we were welcomed like royalty. The room (503) was out of this world with parquet floors and majestic decoration. The concierge Esperanza did an incredible job in recommending a local tango club but what a pleasure to return to the Palace. Breakfast includes a glass of Champagne which really sets one up for another day of opulence.

Definitely one of the best hotels in the world.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments with us.

I was delighted to read that you found Room 503 "out of this world" and that you enjoyed our Buffet Breakfast.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Alvear for five nights after Christmas in a junior suite and a 2-bd diplomatic suite. This is not a hotel for young people, although there were some families - it's a little stuffy, so young travelers or honeymooners might opt for something more modern.

Pros: great location; very attentive staff; rec'd complementary high tea for six, breakfast, and wi-fi; generously sized rooms; Hermes bath kits; accommodated early/late check in/out

Cons: bed linens were dirty (maids changed them upon request); the non-smoking 4th floor reeked of smoke our entire stay; wi-fi was spotty, slow, and only worked from the desk area; no view; TV reception spotty (although they have a lot of channels); toilet was insanely difficult to flush (a bizarre complaint, to be sure, but I got my hand stuck in the lever); World's Most Uncomfortable Couch (with dirty spots!) in the living area

I would recommend Alvear Palace to the parents of my friends - not so much people my age (around 30). Overall, we had a very lovely stay in Bs As, and enjoyed the spaciousness of the room. I especially loved the bath products! We had a huge shower AND a bath with a TV.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSalvagno, Assistant to the General Manager at Alvear Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations and would like to find out the details of your dissatisfaction to improve our performance. Please contact me at nsalvagno@alvear.com.ar

Kind regards,

Nadia Salvagno
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alvear Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvear Palace Hotel

Address: Av. Alvear 1891, Buenos Aires 1129AAA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#1 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#2 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#3 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alvear Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alvear Palace Hotel is situated in the most elegant neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, La Recoleta. It is an area of extensive parks, wide avenues, and luxurious architecture in a classical style, where the best restaurants, cafes, antique shops and boutiques of Buenos Aires, are to be found. Some of the main museums and cultural centres are close by, and the financial area is only five minutes away.A symbol of elegance is bornOriginally built as a luxury hotel to accommodate the increasing amount of European visitors arriving in Buenos Aires at the time, the Alvear Palace was transformed in 1932 into a model of the highest expression of refinement. The majestic rooms and suites, as well as the lobby and public areas, are reminiscent of the Louis XV and Louis XVI styles, which are evident in the furniture, the crystal chandeliers, walls decorated with gold leaf and works of art of famous artists.The eleven-floor luxurious building with five basement levels stands as an undisputed symbol of the city, on the corner of Alvear Avenue and Ayacucho Street.The second foundationContinuous work and dedication, guided by the maximum standards of international excellence, led to the designation of the Alvear Palace Hotel as a member of the Leading Hotels of the World in 1993, an organization that recognizes the best hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alvear Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvear Palace Buenos Aires
Hotel Alvear Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alvear Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.