We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for shopping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Libertador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Libertador Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Cordoba 690, Buenos Aires 1054, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location for shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I unexpectedly needed a hotel room at the last minute, and decided to stay at the Sheraton Libertador. It turned out to be a great place to stay, since the location is great for shopping and eating. There is a whole range of shopping and eating options nearby. You might not even have to cross any streets if you don't feel like it; there are two lovely cafes with al fresco dining on the same block as the hotel.

Club Room breakfast and happy hour were great! Lots of options served tapas style.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belen L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear NPhoebeM,
thank you very much for choosing Sheraton Libertador Hotel in your recent visit in Buenos Aires.
We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your comments are very valuable to us. we look forward to host you again! Warm Regards. The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    345
    130
    48
    28
See reviews for
139
230
66
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Sheraton libertador is a great choice in Buenos Aires. 1 block to Florida avenue (shopping), 3-4 blocks to Plaza San Martin and a nice stroll to Recoleta.
Most important the service was excellent, all the employees and the club floor at the 21st floor was awesome.
Sometimes you find a lot of people around because the hotel is use by cruise lines for 1-2 day stays between cruises but still is a great option in buenos aires.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belen L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear aliceann1,
Thank you very much for choosing Sheraton Libertador Hotel for your recent visit to Buenos Aires.
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay, we will share your feedback with our staff and we hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Buenos Aires!
Kind regards, The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, mass.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had a week long stay in Buenos Aires and after one or two days, it felt like home! From the moment we stepped out of the taxi, the service was exemplary! The front desk reception personnel were helpful, efficient and courteous. The porters were respectful of our belongings and helped orient us to not only the hotel, but the city. Each day started with a wonderful breakfast which offered typical foods of Argentina,and of course, excellent cafe con leche. The location is perfect for shopping (right next to FLorida Street and Galeria Pacifico) and although long, it is a manageable walk to many interesting parts of the city........though taxis are plentiful on the street right in front of the hotel. Whatever question we had.....the staff were able to help. Whatever we needed.....they were able to provide. Fitness center was ample for our needs and the swimming pool and jacuzzi were a welcome addition after a day of continual activity!! Several good restaurants are available nearby, but the hotel{s restaurant is quite good, too! We were quite pleased that on several occasions, a manager on duty inquired about our stay and wanted to ensure our satisfaction. We were very happy with our stay and will certainly return!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_TeamSheraton, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear AliceAnn1,

Thank you for having chosen Sheraton Libertador Hotel for your recent visit to our wonderful city, as well taking time to share your reviews.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our property, your comments are very valuable to us. We will share your congratulations with our staff.

We truly appreciate your feedback, it help us to improve our quality service.

We look forward to host you again..!

Warm Regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

You can't beat this hotel for location - close to July avenue and Florida Street, we stayed here twice, both before and after an Antarctica cruise. The breakfast was good, lots of choices with surprising great coffee. Wonderful service too from the check-in people and the breakfast servers. It can be noisy though, we stayed a Saturday night and there was lots of action on the street below, but it didn't keep us awake as we were exhausted after a 13 hour flight to get there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

A nice hotel well placed for shopping, eating and sight seeing. The decor is tired and the room and bathroom we had, although clean, had very old fashioned decor and tiles. Hotel reception very helpful and efficient.The staff are lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_TeamSheraton, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear MrsYown,

Thank you for having chosen Sheraton Libertador Hotel for your recent visit to our wonderful city as well taking time to share your review.

It is a pleasure you enjoy your stay at our property. We will share your feedback with our staff. In order to better accommodate our guest, we will refurbish our Lobby and Front Desk areas during this semester.

We appreciate your comments, and we look forward to host you again..!

Kind Regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sendai, Japan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I had a three-night stay at the Sheraton Libertador with my wife in February 2014. It was an anniversary trip, and I am an SPG platinum member, so we were upgraded to a presidential suite.

The good

-amazing upgrade to a fabulous room. This very much made our stay and I really appreciated it.
-convenient location, near shopping, restaurants (we enjoyed Chacra for meat and La Barra for informal dining), and not too far from attractions
-one excellent staff member on the front desk who really went out of her way to be friendly and helpful
-reasonable and tasty room service
-a great rooftop (inside) pool
-decent club lounge breakfast

The bad

-the hotel is a little worn and noise (loud humming, banging pipes) was noticeable but not a problem. One of the toilets was leaking slightly in our room.
-the gym is a little small and under-equipped (but will do at a pinch)
-although most of the staff were professional and friendly, there were a couple who were not

Overall

Despite some small issues, this was a wonderful stay and a great experience for my wife and I. We would definitely return to the Sheraton Libertador and hope to do so in the not-too-distant future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_TeamSheraton, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Sendaiben,

Thank you for having chosen Sheraton Libertador Hotel for your recent visit to our wonderful city as well taking time to share your review.

We are delighted you enjoy your stay at our property. We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience with us, as it really help us to improve our quality service.

We look forward to host you again..!

Kind Regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

February 01, 2014 for one night, pre-cruise:

We selected this property based on Tripadvisor reviews, and the fact that fellow cruisers would also be there. No need to belabor what so many have already reported ... the location is very convenient. Restaurants, shopping, wine shops are all close by.

My first impression? Well, somewhat unimpressive. The lobby was dated, there were no shop fronts for interest, and the furniture was somewhat past its prime. The lobby reminded me of a conference hall. And at 08:30 in the morning, there were already arrivals from all-night flights hoping to check in early. But no such luck for us ... although we'd booked the "Club Floor," we were told that we could only check in early if we paid an additional $50. That infuriated me, because even with an early check-in, we'd still only be there for 24 hours. And, they did have rooms available! On principle alone, we refused to ante up and retreated to one of the few available seats close to the check-in desk.

During a 3 hour wait, we observed several couples paying the extra $$, as well as a near mob scene as two lone clerks tried to handle an endless line-up of cruise passengers attempting to check in. Finally though, and only after asking, we were issued our room key card.

The halls were dark and narrow as we approached Club Room 2012; a little depressing. The room was minimally decorated and I didn't see much evidence of the refurbishment that I'd read about. Still, it was spacious and very quiet; quite comfortable in fact. The Euro-style bathroom was lovely, even though the old pipes would bang whenever a toilet (above or below) was flushed! Warning about the hot/cold water in the shower ... very difficult to control the settings.

The overriding positives:

Again, location. For a tourist, couldn't be better. Room 2012 (well away from elevators) was dead quiet. No view, but I'll take quiet any day.

The Business Club Lounge proved to be a veritable oasis! Sooo nice to wander in after a few hours rest from the flight and be able to enjoy a cappuccino and delicious cookies before heading out to explore the area. The lovely hostess was gracious and welcoming.

We returned to the Club Lounge for "Happy Hour" and delighted in the relaxing atmosphere and the attentive service of that same hostess. We found the generous hot and cold appetizer selections to be first rate ... far better than what I'd expected. We couldn't have been more pleased! And contrary to some of the negative comments written about the breakfast, it was absolutely fine. Hot offerings of eggs/bacon/potatoes. Fruit/yogurts/cheese/meats/cereal/breads and choice of juices. Perhaps not the selection you'd find in the restaurant downstairs, but more than enough to satisfy even a picky eater.

Adding it all up, yes; we'd probably come back to the Sheraton Libertador. But I'm spoiled now ... only a Club Floor room will do!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Libertador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Libertador Hotel

Address: Av Cordoba 690, Buenos Aires 1054, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#72 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#102 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#121 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Libertador Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Downtown Tower Hotel located next to shopping area, near business district, banking, & Teatro Colon Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Libertador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Libertador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.