We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for tourists” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Libertador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Libertador Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Cordoba 690, Buenos Aires 1054, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good choice for tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the Libertador for 4 nights in Feb. 2013 prior to boarding a cruise ship, and had done the same in Feb. 2010. The hotel is well located, comfortable, well maintained, and reasonably priced. Also, in 2013 we received -- based on our Starwood Gold status -- complementary WiFi access and buffet breakfasts daily in the Club room (quite good), and that made the overall experience very good. Even without those perks, as during our 2010 stay, we were quite positive about our stay. Overall, the service was very good.

The location is good for tourists. Numerous small restaurants are nearby, along with the Galerias Pacifico mall and Florida pedestrian mall. Also, it is at most a 20 min walk south to Plaza de Mayo, and a shorter walk west to Av. 9 de Julio (e.g., Teatro Colon) or north to Plaza San Martin. The HoHo bus passes within walking distance, and there are also 3 subway stations within 4 or 5 blocks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management S, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear J-D_from_Ont,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay in our property.

We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stayed at our hotel and it’s a pleasure to know we feet your expectations and needs and that you keep choosing our property every time you visit Buenos Aires.

As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff.

Again, thank you for your feedback, constructive support from our guests is extremely important for us when trying to improve our quality and take measures in those areas which so require.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    345
    129
    48
    28
See reviews for
136
229
66
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Carlos, SP
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Friendly staff and comfortable rooms. The hotel is very close to Corrientes Avenue, the argentinian Broadway with many theaters, restaurants and stores. Excelent for who is in a business trip but you wont get disapointed if you are enjoying your holidays.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management S, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Everaldo Perez,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Sheraton Libertador Hotel and trusting us with your accommodation during your trip to our wonderful city.

We are very pleased to learn that you spent a great time at our property and that you liked our location.

Constructive support from our guests is extremely important for us when trying to improve our quality and take measures in those areas which so require. Thank you very much for your feedback!



Sincerely,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Liberatador for several nights while in Buenos Aires and had a wonderful time. The location is perfect - in a very safe neighborhood and easy walking distance to the main shopping area, a number of restaurants, and the opera house. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable and the staff all spoke English very well (which made it easier for us). The breakfast was good and the servers delightful each morning. We also thoroughly enjoyed the pool on the top floor, especially at sunset when the city below looked gorgeous. The hotel staff even surprised us with cupcakes in the room in honor of my sister's birthday which happened to be while we were in town. Impressive!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management S, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mafels,

Thank you very much for your feedback; we deeply appreciate you taking the time to offer constructive comments regarding your stay with us.

It’s a pleasure to know that you enjoy your stay at our property. Thank you for your kind words! We honestly hope you return to our hotel and will be a privilege to welcome you once more.

Once again thank you very much for your comments.

Cordially,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, truly great. I am Starwood Platinum and got upgraded to the presidential suite. Juan Peron slept here!! Well, maybe not, but it was ridiculous...kitchen huge living room, office room bedroom 1 1/4 baths, dead quiet.
I returned two other times and got upgraded to a suite.
Extremely well located, clean, and a good breakfast.
Try to get on the club floor.
When or if I return to Buenos Aires this is where I will stay.
The other Sheraton in Puerto Madero might be nicer, (don't know), but not nearly as well located, unless you want access to the most expensive tourist restaurants and a bunch of newly constructed expensive condos.
I think you would have to cab or hike to almost everything.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management S, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Arlo3K

Thank you very much for your feedback; we deeply appreciate you taking the time to offer constructive comments regarding your stay with us.

It’s a pleasure to know that you enjoy your stay at our property. Thank you for your kind words! We are planning to refurbish the presidential suites next year, but the size will remain the same.

We honestly hope you return to our hotel and will be a privilege to welcome you once more.

Once again thank you very much for your comments.

Cordially,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Got a reservation for the Sheraton to spend a prolongued weekend with the family.
My folks arrived 1 day ahead of me, and my flight got late, so I arrived at the hotel arround 22ish.
For my surprise, my folks were since 6ish trying to solve a problem in the reception desk.
My reservation, according to the receptionist, was not transmitted from the reservation central to the hotel, and the hotel was full. I had the voucher on my hand with the confirmation. The suggestion of the attendants were for me to go out, in the middle of the night, to search for a hotel around the center of Buenos Aires, or, believe it or not, to put two beds in two different rooms for me and my wife.
The hotel manager and the receptionists insisted on the thesis that tey did not have any responsibility on the reservation, believe it or not. The reservation central is from Argentina, is the company that manages the reservations made from my travel agent from Brazil. I had all the documentation to prove it, but still they kept denying it. After almost 5 hours of stress, losing our reservations to restaurants we were planning to go, they decided, after I threaten them to complain on the Sheraton Central, they removed me from the hotel, and took us to another Sheraton, close to there. With the night ruined for me and all the people involved in the confusion, we had to go to sleep. The day after, they brought us back to the Libertator, and seeing the mess they have made the day before, sent me to a larger room, and sent us a plate of cheese and a crappy half bottle of the crappiest argentinian wine. We left everything there. For a hotel of this name, with a 200ish U$ day, this was a ridiculously frustrating experience. I hope they never ever do this to a guest again. We had problems with lack of hot water during the stay, and the noise in the rooms are very loud. Everything can be heard through the thin walls.

Room Tip: dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management S, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear RafaelCBorges,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Sheraton Libertador Hotel and trusting us with your accommodation during your trip to our wonderful city.

We are deeply concerned to learn the inconvenience you went through during check in process. At the moment you arrive to the hotel we did not find any reservation under your name and the main problem was that the hotel was fully booked. This is why the front desk employee had no choice that to move you to other hotel. The reservation was supposed to be done by a local travel agency direct with the hotel. The reservation was not done and they did not even have a confirmation number from your reservation. In fact the Travel Agency Manager came to the hotel on the next day to welcome you due to this inconvenience. He insisted on move you again to our property.
Due to all the distress you went through we sent you a table of cheese and wine as a courtesy. The quality of our cheese and wine is excellent not “crappy” like you offensively described.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review giving us your feedback.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Sheraton Libertador was completely solid and average in every way, but provided a great value for our money in Buenos Aires. The location was convenient to where we wanted to go, the staff was friendly enough, the rooms were smallish, and somewhat dated, but perfectly nice and adequate, and the hotel was proactive with club lounge access for Starwood Golds. That being said, the key for me was the value proposition: spending a lot to stay here would be disappointing, but spending a little and getting what we got felt great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management S, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Indychamps

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Sheraton Libertador Hotel and trusting us with your accommodation during your trip to our wonderful city.
It’s wonderful to know that you enjoy your stay at our property.

We have finished a refurbishing project that included guest rooms, meeting rooms, La Pergola Restaurant, the Link@Sheraton and our Sheraton Fitness Center programmed by Core Performance.

As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for your feedback, constructive support from our guests is extremely important for us when trying to improve our quality and take measures in those areas which so require.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stay in Sheraton Libertador Hotel approx. 3 times a year on my Business Trips. The 4 starts are very accurate.
The rooms are clean and specious, hotel staff speaks good English and is very helpful. Shopping mall, restaurants are close by, it is in safe area of the city.
Check in and check out is always smooth, if you need a help to organise a tour - all you need is just to ask reception desk staff. Housekeeping is very attentive. Gym is small, but fine for quick, basic work out.
I have to say the quality of food improved a lot ! Breakfast buffet is not the best, very South American ( I miss my german breakfast buffet), but A La Carte, or room service meals are delicious. Worth to try.
If you stay in Club Floor, view of the room is much better and the staff members in Club Lounge are superb. I asked the first morning for hot water with lemon, next time I walked in I was immediately asked if I would like it. What a memory and Attention to Details !
Hotel can do with some refurnishing, some TLC, modern update, but guess it's all about money.
Well, I'm looking forward to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management S, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Libertador Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear JNana_13,

Thank you very much for your feedback; we deeply appreciate you taking the time to offer constructive comments regarding your stay with us.
It’s a pleasure to know that you enjoy your stay at our property. Thank you for your kind words!

We will be waiting you next reservarion!

Once again thank you very much for your comments.

Cordially,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Libertador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Libertador Hotel

Address: Av Cordoba 690, Buenos Aires 1054, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#73 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#102 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#121 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Libertador Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Downtown Tower Hotel located next to shopping area, near business district, banking, & Teatro Colon Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Libertador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Libertador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.