We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch hotel, location, and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo to your Saves list
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arroyo 841 | C.A.B.A, Buenos Aires C1007AAB, Argentina (Retiro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
New York City, New York
1 review
“Top-notch hotel, location, and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Everything was perfect - the room was very nice (no view of anything, but it was spacious and well-appointed), the location was pretty near things but still on a quiet/classic looking street. The staff was very helpful throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Second floor room (overlooking lobby) had much more space than higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Philippe Seigle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    154
    36
    13
    6
See reviews for
90
307
48
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here twice during our recent trip to Argentina and this hotel oozes understated luxury. It's in a nice central yet quiet, safe location and the lobby just takes your breath away upon entry. (You quickly realise that you will be staying somewhere special)

Our rooms were spacious with a massive bed and all the amenities you expect from a 5 star hotel. And any that weren't there (ie: kettle and iron/ironing board) were happily provided upon request.

But it's the staff who are the best feature of this hotel. They were ALL so lovely, helpful and genuinely spent time with us to understand our needs. I must give a special mention to Pablo and Johanna at concierge, Hernan and Cintia on Front Desk and Bell Boy Luis who were all brilliant.

If we ever return to BA then this is where we will stay for sure.

Room Tip: As is standard with most hotels in Latin America, complimentary tea/coffee is not provided in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo and for writing such a positive review following your stay.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, and our service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Philippe Seigle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Excellent location, but as were in a group of 35 we had to have breakfast in a conference room.Service and food choice was not what we had experienced in other Hotels on this trip. This was down to bad design of the Hotel. Rooms varied a great deal, so your appreciation of this Hotel could vary considerably depending on your room allocation, and as to whether or not you were travelling in a group.
Mention must be made of the young lady who looked after us each evening in the bar. She spoke wonderful English and was charming and attentive.

Room Tip: A number of rooms have windows that look at a wall a few feet away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires. I am sincerely sorry that your experience did not reflect the level of service we strive to provide our guests.
Your feedback is crucial to our improvement. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Philippe Seigle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I can't understate the completely nearly-perfect stay I had at the Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo. I was there for three nights in September, and there wasn't one aspect or element of my time there that fell short, or gave me concern. The staff was exceptional–even for Sofitel–polite, attentive, yet unassuming and completely without pretense. I have stayed in many different hotels for many years, and many were on the same level as this. I can't say any one of them was more pleasant, more agreeable, more tip-top or completely, all-around, at once correct and special, as the Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires. It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who will be delighted as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Philippe Seigle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Pluses: Quiet, spacious room, unfailingly courteous multilingual staff, location near main road yet secluded, art galleries and museums nearby, superb food and quick service (in contrast to a recent reviewer's experience) in both restaurants, lovely artwork throughout hotel, sufficiently many and fast elevators, business center, wide comfortable bed.
Small minuses: I don't like "water descends vertically" shower; A$34 for a bottled water or a Diet Coke is too pricey.

Room Tip: High up is quieter. Ignore spa rating (I didn't use it).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We are delighted that you had a good experience overall at the Sofitel Buenos Aires and that you enjoyed our location and services.


Cordially,

Philippe Seigle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Hotel is situated within walking distance of the shops and some very good restaurants. Rooms were good however the dining room for breakfast is quite small. We were in a large group and the wait for an order to be taken for breakfast and then to get served was very long (15 minutes and 30 minutes)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires. I am glad you enjoyed our location but sorry that your breakfast experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Philippe Seigle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire,UK
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

A typical city business hotel but we chose it for being close to tourist sites. It was within walking distance of Recoleta, Florida Street and Plaza San Martin on a quiet street. We were in Room 1106 [11th floor] and the windows opened! [important to us]. Sofa and table, bed very comfortable, room a good size, bath and separate shower and separate loo, two basins. All amenities provided i.e. shower gel etc., slippers, shower hat, extra pillow in wardrobe. Turn down service. Only two small grumbles - two cups provided for the coffee machine, 1 expresso size and one teacup! and the fact that the morning we had an early start the breakfast room opened 10 minutes late and then the coffee wasn't ready as only one member of staff on duty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo.

We are delighted that you had a good experience and that your stay was overall agreable, though I am sorry to hear that some details such as the coffee service did not meet your expectations; please allow me to apologies and assure you that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.


Sincerely,

Philippe Seigle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo

Address: Arroyo 841 | C.A.B.A, Buenos Aires C1007AAB, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#18 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#19 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#22 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Buenos Aires is located in the tranquil and charming Arroyo Street, surrounded by enchanting and quiet sidewalks flanked by trees, the area is a heaven made up of antique shops and art galleries, a true epicenter of culture. The hotel features a perfect blend of the French savoir faire and the Argentine tradition, with an ambiance complementing exquisite decor and the delicate scents of soft flowers, awakening the senses of guests and giving them the feeling of being where true luxury sits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo Hotel Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.