We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Buenos Aires” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo to your Saves list
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arroyo 841, Buenos Aires C1007AAB, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #23 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
san juan capistrano
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Buenos Aires”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were in Buenos Aires for arteBA recently and stayed at the Sofitel. This is a favorite hotel in BsAs. The hotel is in a great location on Arroyo Street near many art galleries. The staff is great with the Concierge, Pablo being outstanding. Luis of the bell staff and Damian of security were also exceptional. We have stayed here before and appreciate the friendliness of the staff. There is a wide variation of room configurations, and would recommend one with larger bed area with couch and larger closet and bath. Beds are comfortable with nice linens. Bath towels were generally good ,but did have some thin ones. Housekeeping was good with dependable cleaning and turn-down service.
Our room came with breakfast which was served in the Le Sud restaurant. Buffet was very good and one could also ordere from the a la carte menu. Did not eat dinner here, but the menu looked good. Prices on the high side
Only negative is that the rooms in the hotel need to be refurbished soon to avoid that threadbare look. This however remains a great hotel in a great location in a great city.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, Director General at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por haberse tomado el tiempo de contarnos sobre su experiencia en el Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires.
En Sofitel trabajamos para poder brindar una experiencia de calidad superior a cada cliente. Por eso su feedback es muy importante para nosotros.
Le aseguramos que vamos a tomar sus observaciones en cuenta.
Una vez más, le estamos agradecidos por haber compartido sus impresiones con nosotros y esperamos recibirle próximamente.

Atentamente,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    132
    28
    10
    6
See reviews for
87
253
44
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The title of this review says it all. The service was top notch and the facilities were maintained immaculately. I looked forward to returning to the hotel to rest everyday when I was there because the room was so comfortable. I would definitely return to this hotel when I visit Buenos Aires again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, Director General at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Google Translation
Recibimos con agrado sus comentarios sobre su estadía en el Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo. Su opinión es muy importante para que podamos mejorar la calidad de nuestros servicios, gracias por compartir su experiencia.

Esperamos que su próxima visita sea tan placentera como ésta que acaba de realizar.

Atentamente,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a beautiful property in a very high end part of BA. You feel very safe walking around in this area at day or night. The exterior, the lobby area, the bar and restaurant all reek of glamour and indulgence.

The Positives -

- The concierge was spectacular. Everything he did for us was spot on and timely.
-We upgraded and paid for a Prestige Suite which was very large and a very nice layout with every possible amenity you could ask for - in room exercise equipment, wireless printer, multiple televisions and a wonderful Nespresso coffee maker with unlimited pods.
- Drinks at the bar were overpriced but very good and it was a great atmosphere.
- The pool and fitness center are small but very nice.
- The location is great
- We did get a 4 pm checkout and then they kept our luggage for us afterward for a while. this was very appreciated since we had a late flight.

The negatives

- Our room was supposed to have fruit and water in it when we arrived and it didn't - it took multiple calls to remedy this.
- No acknowledgement of Le Club platinum status, no welcome gift and had to ask for the welcome drink.
- After being told to help ourselves to a welcome drink at the bar, we were still charged for it. They did take it off after asking but this is a hassle.
- No turndown service on the first night.
- No washcloths for most of our visit. After I called about it was told they were out. What kind of a hotel runs out of wash cloths?
- The shower is bizarre. It appears to be a very large walk in shower but inside is a small drain pan - almost like a sink that you have to stand in. It actually makes it end up being a very small shower. Not a big deal, but very awkward design. Our room also had a huge soaking tub that we didn't use.

All in all, this is a great hotel in a great city and the location is nice. It is very much a luxury hotel. We enjoyed the room very much and with just a few pretty simple corrections I would have given it 5 stars, but there were too many little things that frustrated and annoyed us. In fact, if 3.5 stars was an option, thats where I would have put it.

Room Tip: Go look at the room first before you take your bags up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires, and let us know exactly the negative points of your stay. I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Please note that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems you have mentioned us and prevent future occurrences.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

One of the best Sofitel hotel I've stayed in. Cannot evaluate the size and conditions of a standard room, since I was fortunate enough to, due to fully booked hotel, my reservation was upgraded and I end up staying the 19th top floor, in a huge duplex suite.
I had a very pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires.

We are glad to hear that you had an agreable stay overall.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you soon again.


Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a great hotel, the rooms are sofisticated and the breakfast is excellent.

The staff is efficient and attentive making the stay special!

Location is a plus, one of the best spots in town.

I strongly recommend it both for business and for leisure.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires.
We are truly delighted you spent an enjoyable stay wit us.

I will share your comments with our team, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you soon again.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Good location, nice hotel, seemed fancy for the area. Rooms were a bit small and the carpets were very stained, otherwise rooms were just ok. I was really annoyed that there was no coffee maker in the room. Lobby bar area was nice, quaint library feel, but cocktails were definitely overpriced. I have no comparison in BA for hotels so this might be a top hotel, just wasn't a 5 star on my scale. I give it a 4 mostly because of location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires.
I am sincerely sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelford, uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, in a good area of the city. The staff are very good. We were especially impressed with Pablo Castro (the Concierge) who is professional, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. This hotel is exactly what we would expect of a 'Sofitel'....understated elegance, comfortable rooms, but above all, the staff are efficient, well trained and courteous.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBuenosAires, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires.

As we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services, it is a pleasure to hear positive feedback.

We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us, and we hope to welcome you soon again.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo

Address: Arroyo 841, Buenos Aires C1007AAB, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#10 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#16 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#24 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#24 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Buenos Aires is located in the tranquil and charming Arroyo Street, surrounded by enchanting and quiet sidewalks flanked by trees, the area is a heaven made up of antique shops and art galleries, a true epicenter of culture. The hotel features a perfect blend of the French savoir faire and the Argentine tradition, with an ambiance complementing exquisite decor and the delicate scents of soft flowers, awakening the senses of the guest and giving them the feeling of being where true luxury sits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo Hotel Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.