We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent twice around!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo to your Saves list
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arroyo 841, Buenos Aires C1007AAB, Argentina (El Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
40% OFF + BREAKFAST
Ranked #25 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent twice around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Susan and I had two spells in the Sofitel, one in October, at the begining of our trip to Argentina, and the other, at the end, in November. Both stays were first class with nothing to fault. We would give the hotel more points if the scoring allowed us.
The hotel is a quiet and centrally located oasis in a very pleasant and safe part of town, in easy walking distance of the bustling areas of BA. There are fantastic antique shops and private art galleries beside the hotel which give a very pleasant ambience to the location.
Accommodation and facilities were first rate. The level of attention was second to none, e.g. we were given the same accomodation for both visits, which pleased us greatly. Staff, without exception, were not just courteous, but took the time to ensure that we were comfortable with their service, and to converse with us. This was not confined to the front desk but cascaded throughout the hotel, from the doormen to the bar, restaurant, and fitness area: it makes a pleasant change from other 5 star hotels where service is usually always polite, but can be quite impersonal.
During the first part of our trip I lost a cuff link and on our second stay I mentioned this to the concierge who then had the staff check the hotel in case it had been left there. It hadn't, but A couple of days later I had a very courteous letter delivered to our room with an explanation of what had been done to check for it.
My wife asked one of the staff about the way that the chef had prepared a meal and the recipe, together with a note from the chef, was e-mailed to her a couple of days ago.
That is the level of service that we enjoy and having received it in abundance here we have no compunction in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room so that your view is extended. Converse with the staff as they really seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    128
    28
    10
    6
See reviews for
86
247
43
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Sofitel Arroyo in Buenos Aires is, like all Sofitels I've stayed at, a really good hotel. It is located close to many tourist attractions, nothing is more than a 10-15 minutes cab ride away. The building itself is beautiful and the room was good sized, clean and well equiped. The staff was wonderful and always very happy to help with any questions we had. Be sure not to miss "La Bibliothèque" next to the reception area, a great place to relax in with some homemade pastries after a whole day of touristing or shopping. If I return to Buenos Aires, I'd definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippeSeigle, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Ulrika1,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Compared with the other 5 star hotels in BA, I think you'll find that the Sofitel offers reasonably good value for their room rate. It has a good location in a nice part of town, near many of the tourist spots, the metro and the city airport. I stayed here twice over a period of two weeks with my wife. The first time we landed up in a very nice room on the third floor, but on our second visit, we were on the seventh floor in a rather poky room which would have better suited a single person. Tant pis, as they say in France. Another reviewer has made the point that the rooms in the lower floors are generally larger. The one complaint I have is the cost of breakfast. US$30 per person, which for those of us who pay the bill with their own money is a lot. The answer is to have breakfast in one of the many cafes situated near the hotel. If you turn right when coming out of the hotel and turn left at the first corner, a little way up on the left you'll find a small cafe called Maru Botana which serves fresh coffee, real orange juice and the best croissants in BA for a fraction of the cost you pay at the Sofitel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippeSeigle, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here last new year eve & the hotel is nice & clean. Food is good but staff are a bit slow & location isn't ideal! Argentina is a beautiful place & thee is a lot to see in the area. The spa is nice as well but it is all indoors which is a bit of a shame. Make sure you check out the local cusine!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippeSeigle, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Mrs. HannaS,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Sofitel Arroyo in Buenos Aires is in a great location and is extremely well appointed. The reception area, bar and restaurant are very nicely designed and staff and friendly and attentive. The rooms are quite small and do not have much natural light or any real view, however the bathrooms are large and well stocked. The only negative was that we had explicitly requested early check-in, but were disappointed to discover that rooms were not ready when we arrived and were told to use the fitness centre shower (which was occupied) - not great after travelling 17 hours. However, within 25 minutes the rooms were ready.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippeSeigle, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dar Mr. Seanyg,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed at the Sofitel Arroyo for business, the hotel is verywell located near Retiro in a street that you could easily believe you're in Paris. The staff is very efficient and will make your check in and check out real quick. The rooms are very comfortable with Bose radio, a big bathroom with bidet and L'Occitane toiletries. Nice view from my room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippeSeigle, General Manager at Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Stellarsupreme,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Arroyo Buenos Aires and its location.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo

Address: Arroyo 841, Buenos Aires C1007AAB, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#10 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#17 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#23 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#26 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Buenos Aires is located in the tranquil and charming Arroyo Street, surrounded by enchanting and quiet sidewalks flanked by trees, the area is a heaven made up of antique shops and art galleries, a true epicenter of culture. The hotel features a perfect blend of the French savoir faire and the Argentine tradition, with an ambiance complementing exquisite decor and the delicate scents of soft flowers, awakening the senses of the guest and giving them the feeling of being where true luxury sits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo Hotel Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.