We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Enough for the Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Buenos Aires

Save Saved
You added Ibis Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Buenos Aires
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hipolito Yrigoyen 1592, Buenos Aires 1089, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 439 hotels in Buenos Aires
Marlton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Enough for the Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Room was clean, although no frills. Breakfast was not worth the money in my opinion, but there were not many alternatives. Good location to travel from - in the middle of downtown, but also very noisy and subject to government protests. Staff was very good. Tip: If you have 2 hours to spare, you can save a lot of money by taking the public bus to/from the airport - it stops on the same avenue as the hotel about 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisCongreso, General Manager at Ibis Buenos Aires, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Firstly, I would like to thank you for your comments because they will help us to improve our service. Ibis Congreso staff will be happy to have you on your next trip to Buenos Aires.
Regards,
Javier Iribarnegaray.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    748
    308
    53
    22
See reviews for
289
693
132
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Absolutely terrific value for money Hotel. The location is great and the staff are very, very helpful, they do all they can to make sure you enjoy your stay. I work overseas and travel constantly, I can honestly say that you won't get a better value for money Hotel than this if you are looking for somewhere clean to sleep at night in a great Central location. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to any couple as my Wife and I will most definitely use it again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisCongreso, Manager at Ibis Buenos Aires, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments!
ibis Congreso expects to welcome you again on your next trip!
Regards,
Marcela R. Iturburu
Gerente General
Hotel ibis Congreso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The only fault we can find was the condition of the towels as they were very hard, thin and a bit too old. Also there could have been more soap left in the room. The breakfast menu could also have a bit more variety in the hot dishes. Apart from that the rest was okay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisCongreso, Manager at Ibis Buenos Aires, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for your feedback!
We have changed 50% of hotel towels, leaving 50% for the second semester.
The amount of soap in the room are standard, but also we have more soaps at the reception for customers who require it.

I hope see you again,
Marcela R. Iturburu
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Ask for a room overlooking Plaza Congresso, this is a good location for your B A stay. You can walk to Theatrre Colon, or even the cemetery. Similarly Plaza Mayor .
This place has free Wi Fi and you can pay a little extra for a breakfast. Although it is basic you have all you need including English channels on TV. I asked for extra pillows and towels and no fuss obtaining them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisCongreso, Manager at Ibis Buenos Aires, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback about our location!
About the towels, I apologize, we will re training the team to prevent this from happening again.
Thanks again!
Marcela R. Iturburu
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a good option for the city, close to many of the sights, very clean and well priced. The only negative is that the front desk staff were not very helpful to us as tourists who had just arrived in Argentina, and we were on our own when it came to exchanging money, booking a tango show or a soccer game. We were sent to Calle Florida where we found a travel agency that helped us but it would have been so much better if they could have made some of the phone calls and organized them at the hotel itself. If they could fix this flaw, this would definitely be a hotel I would recommend to friends. They had a problem with the water and the elevator one morning but Marcella who seemed like the owner or the manager was very apologetic, offered us free breakfast, another room where we could get ready, and the service elevator that we could use - her eagerness to resolve the situation made up for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisCongreso, Manager at Ibis Buenos Aires, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, for us, ibis Congress all comments of our customers help us to improve day by day. We will training reception team to find a more effective way of getting the customers can count on us more directly for advices!
It will be a pleasure to have you on your next trip!
Tks!
Marcela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
369 helpful votes 369 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our cruise arrived in the morning and the flight left in late evening. The Ibis Congreso was a moderately priced hotel in a central area of Buenos Aires that would allow us to visit parts of the city and freshen up for the flight. However, the United flight was cancelled five hours before takeoff. Thanks to the free internet, the information was received and a new flight for the next evening was booked. The hotel staff was extremely accommodating with our changes and arrangements.
The Ibis is located on the beautiful Congreso Park, headed by the impressive Argentine Congress Building. Just walking around the park is enjoyable, with its many shops and restaurants. The Ibis seems to be the only full-service hotel in the area. The room is similar to Ibis hotels in other countries with a minimalist concept of decor including built-in queen bed, desk, sofa, shelves, bath and tile floor. All very clean with non-smoking floors, central air and free breakfast. Other paid meals are available 24 hours a day. The staff will call a taxi to the airport and expect the ride to be an hour in moderate traffic.
We enjoyed our stay at the Ibis and certainly could recommend the hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisCongreso, Manager at Ibis Buenos Aires, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Oh! In the name of ibis Congreso Thanks for your coments!
Regards,
Marcela R. Iturburu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Location is ok, although is not the best neighborhood.
Price is good for the city, although it does not include breakfast and they could explain better how the additional breakfast work: the signs say AR$16 (some €2.5 at the time), but that is only before 6:30, after that is AR$32 and after 10 is AR$64. They don't keep good count of the breakfasts, so if you stayed three days and only had breakfast once they try to charge you for three breakfasts unless you notice and protest.
Room is comfortable and well insulated from the outside noise (which could be substantial), but for a double room we only got two shower towels, instead of two sets of hand and shower towels. We managed, but certainly was uncomfortable. Also, the room had only shower, not bathtub, which is ok but not ideal.
Another annoying bit is with the free wifi: not only you have to call to reception to find out the username and password (because is not indicated in the room, nor even in the English part of the brochure), only one device per room connects at any one time! With the number of different devices we normally carry with us nowadays that use wifi (mobile, tablet and laptop), multiply it by two people in the room, and now try to imagine the frustration of realizing that you have to disconnect your smartphone wifi and your go through the authetication process again if you want to answer an e-mail on your laptop, while your wife waits until you are done to skype home with the tablet. Very annoying.
Other than that, the room is ok, and the bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisCongreso, Manager at Ibis Buenos Aires, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I would greatly appreciate your feedback, we work on them to improve every day.
The information of our breakfast are common on every floor of the hotel, the concept is for all clients have access to a breakfast from 4:30 to 6:30am breakfast for early risers, from 6:30 to 10 : 00am buffet breakfast and 10 to 12:00 pm a breakfast for late risers, I apologize if this has not been clear, we will find the way to indicate better.
By standard the hotel has no hand towels, all rooms has 2 bath towels and if that should embarrass the customer, you have available in the reception.
Wi fi is free and has a key that is not scattered in every room, because for security reasons it is changed monthly.
From now and again, thanks for letting us know your opinion and help us to improve day by day.
Thanks,
Marcela R. Iturburu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Buenos Aires

Address: Hipolito Yrigoyen 1592, Buenos Aires 1089, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#103 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#129 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Buenos Aires 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Buenos Aires hotel is very near the centre, 5 min from the OBELISCO tourist area and the 9 JULIO avenue. 25 min from Ezeiza international airport, it has 147 rooms available for booking, including 3 adapted for disabled guests, and 3 meeting rooms for organising seminars and conferences that can seat 60 persons. The hotel also has a restaurant, a bar open 24/24 serving light meals and snacks and private covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Ibis Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Accor Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Ibis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.