We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Buenos Aires” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Florida 1005, Buenos Aires C1005AAU, Argentina (Formerly Marriott Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Buenos Aires”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

We just enjoyed several days at this great hotel. A beautiful historic building. Service was outstanding! All staff we met were fluent in English. The location is ideal, very convenient to many downtown attractions and pedestrian street. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    326
    187
    85
    40
See reviews for
143
331
55
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

The title of our hotel review is "Old lady with no money left" because a stay at this hotel is like a stay with an elderly woman whose family was wealthy at one time, but they ran out of money to keep the guest rooms up.
This hotel has SOOO much more potential! The location cannot be beat! It's perfect for shopping, hoping on the Subte (subway), right at the foot of Calle Florida, fairly safe area, etc!
The exterior of the hotel is a simply a beautiful building!! The staff were wonderful during our four night stay with them...particularly the front desk and the concierge staff. All were eager to help and with no pretense!
Also, the common areas of the hotel (lobby, restaurants, etc) are exceptionally well cared for and up to date. The lobby (not the sitting area off of the lobby) is a bit sterile (all white, with white walls) and could afford to be dressed up a little, as could the second floor where the elevators are located.
Food at the hotel is quite good as well, and we had daily breakfast there. A nice selection of pasteries, omlette station, fruits, etc. All that you would expect, and all fresh and very good!
Where things changed for us was in going to the room. We had Room #422. As we walked to the room, we noticed that the seams of the hallway carpeting were coming apart (there were 1/4 to 1/2 inch gaps)!! The room was clean, but very much showing its age!
For the positives, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and all was in pretty good working condition. Hot water was easy to come by, and it was so very refreshing to be able to drink the tap water after having spent two weeks in Peru just prior to arriving in Buenos Aires.
The negatives...well, there were more than we think there should have been for a Marriott. In the bathroom, water was coming out of the floor tiles when the toilet was flushed. And there were several chips in the bath tub. In the room itself, there were numerous chips in the paint, particularly in door ways, on the door, and a number of dirty/grease marks all over the intake vent of the a/c and heater units. It also appears that the hotel paints over problems, rather than taking the time to strip paint and put on a fresh coat.
For us, the first impression (and throughout the hotel) was that all of the beautiful original chandaliers and lighting fixtures have those ugly spiral flourescent light bulbs. EVERY SINGLE ONE! How tacky for a hotel of this calibar and historical significance!
If our room was similar to others, this absolute diamond in the rough is being allowed to deteriorate. That would be such a shame!! As previously mentioned, the potential beauty and historical value of the hotel is very clear! We sincerely hope that Marriott will maintain the common areas as it has, but pour some additional resources in to room repairs and maintenance. And finally, get rid of those ugly flourescent light bulbs!! This hotel could easily be lifted to the status of more elite hotels in Bs As.
Despite our experiences, so long as we didn't have to stay in a room that was any worse than the one we had, we would still choose to stay at this hotel. As previously mentioned, the location cannot be beat. The historical significance and beauty of the property is evident, and the value for the money is fair.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLEN COVE, NEW YORK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

the location of the Marriott is fabulous. It is adjacent to Florida Street, which is a wonderful, pedestrian only Street that is lined with shops for blocks and blocks. We were able to walk to alot of great restaurants. Their concierge is also terrific and recommended great tango shows, and a trip on the Tigre River. Transportation was very afforable and there was a taxi available constantly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Il
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Beautiful hotel. Past guests include Kings, Queens and dignitaries. Spacious rooms. Nice workout facility. Great location for sightseeing!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

This hotel is a must for every hotel fan...and even you you are not a hotel fan, still. Such an historic building, a great brand ad fantastic service, especially from housekeeping and room service!
Dont let yourself fooled by the reviews...it quite sad that people are not happy with this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

The only reason why we stayed there was because we had a discount voucher wich cut the price in about 50%. Hence, I thought it would be nice to stay there for half price.

The hotel is on an old beautiful building, had great staff (although the bell staff were rude at a couple of times with us by not opening the door for us, but strangely openning the doors to other guests ??? weird).

I've stayed at other Marriotts and I believe the one in Buenos Aires has to improve to reacah the standards of other Marriotts.

Overall it was a good stay because we did not pay full price, but I would be deeply disappointed if I had paid full price for that stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed here for two nights on the first part of a first visit to Argentina. Initially we were planning to stay elsewhere but when we realized we had the opportunity to redeem points for free nights we decided to take advantage of the savings. By and large this was a good choice for a first visit, especially since the hotel is well located for tourist sites and transportation.

The building itself is beautiful and very historic, the interior of the hotel is showing its age--clearly had once been "grand" but now carpet and other, especially in the common area was worn. Elevators were also prone to delays (not that many given size of hotel). The gym was clean, modern and had more then enough equipment. Rooms were pleasant and larger then expected.

Since it was a large hotel there was less of a personal touch with the staff but all of our interaction with them was pleasant. When we first arrived there were issues with our in-room internet connection and someone came up to fix it--spent close to 30 minutes solving the problem, which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Florida 1005, Buenos Aires C1005AAU, Argentina (Formerly Marriott Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires)
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#90 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#101 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#109 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of Argentina's most distinguished hotel, the Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires. Conveniently located in the heart of Buenos Aires just steps from Calle Florida shopping area and overlooking the Plaza San Martin, this Buenos Aires hotel offers exclusive guest rooms amenities with the best high speed Internet access and Wi-Fi. Guests can enjoy the culture of the Retiro District's businesses, shops and restaurants as well as experience the tango dance in Buenos Aires. With nine ballrooms, our elegant hotel provides the perfect venue for any type of Argentina group meetings and memorable events. The Plaza Hotel houses the five-star Plaza Grill, known as one of the best Buenos Aires restaurants. Guests can also unwind at the Plaza Bar, chosen by FORBES as one of the top hotel bars in the world. Whether staying at the for business or pleasure, you are in the perfect place for a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.