We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel lovely but watch out!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Florida 1005, Buenos Aires C1005AAU, Argentina (Formerly Marriott Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Waco, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel lovely but watch out!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We've stayed at The Plaza before and enjoyed it. It is still a lovely hotel even though very dated. However, we were "mugged" within 1/2 block of the hotel in broad daylight. During the 4 days we were in Buenos Aies we heard of 4 other hotel guests robbed all within the hotel area. Use caution.

Room Tip: Do chose an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    325
    187
    85
    40
See reviews for
142
330
55
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Three of us shared a room at the Marriott Plaza Hotel next tio San Martin Plaza on Dec 28 - Dec 31st. I was a bit reluctant to book the hotel based on some of the reviews, but once you start looking at the details of the reviews the negatives mainly related to the age of the facility. If you're booking into a 100 year old hotel, then you need to be realistic about the age and condition of the facility. We found the facility to be extremely nice. Yes, you have to walk up a few steps to access the elevator (although it looked like they had a lift if you really needed it), but buildings a 100 years ago didn't necesaarily have ADA in mind (try walking around the Vatican sometime). I don't like steps anymore than the next guy, but I felt that all the comments about the steps were somewhat over blown. We thought the facility was very well maintained and loved the room and the beds were very comfortable. The lobby has the old world charm and when you walk outside the hotel you're steps away from being of Calle De Florida, which is a main pedistrain mall with lots of shops, bars, resturants, and of course the Pacifico Galleria (very nice, elegant, and high end mall). You're close in to everything downtown and short cab ride away from Recoleta. The breakfast buffet was good and they had nice variety of things to choose from. The health club was really nice and they had a good seledction of machines and a bar area that transitioned out to the outdoor pool. It was a fairly small pool, but it was a very nice setting. The health club also had a good locker room, with a sauna and whirlpool. The whirlpool's were bascially bathtubs that filled up with water to the tempature level of your liking. They filled up quickly so it wasn't a big issue. The sauna was good once it warmed up, so ifif you try and use it early in the mroning, then it may take a while to warm up. The showers were powerful and had everything you needed (shampoo, conditioner, gel). Overall, we were really pleased with our stay at the Marriott and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have written over 130 reviews on Trip Advisor and take providing feedback seriously. I hope you find my review helpful.

After reading all the reviews about this Marriott property, I was unsure about staying here. In fact, I even went so far as to book another hotel at one point. However, I have so many points with Marriott from business travel, I decided free was better than $200 a night elsewhere.

The short review is simple: My wife and I loved this hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the concierge was always helpful and friendly, and the location cannot be beat for visiting Buenos Aires. Yes, some of the hotel feels outdated as it's 100 years old... but we didn't mind. Clean is clean...even if it's old.

Yes, this hotel is old. In fact, it's the oldest luxury hotel in Buenos Aires having opened in 1909. That means that some things are out-of-date. For example...you have to take stairs up or down in the lobby to reach the elevator. No big deal for me and my wife, but I can see why others find that an inconvenience. There are plenty of Marriott employees to help carry your suitcase up or down when you arrive or leave. Otherwise, it's a flight of stairs to get to the elevator.

The decor is old. It's a 100 year-old hotel. Enough said. We liked the charm of it. I don't understand why so many travelers gripe about this.

Our room was very nice. The carpeting needs updating, otherwise, the bed was a Marriott-quality bed...the room was very clean, the linens were fresh, and the water pressure in the bathroom was great. Hot water was always hot. Regular rooms are slightly smaller than what you will find in the states...but comfortable nonetheless.

If you have Marriott status, the concierge lounge on the 8th floor is a great perk open from 6 a.m. to midnight and stocked with bottled water, sodas, coffee and tea. They also serve a decent breakfast in the morning and some appetizers at night followed by some dessert. Breakfast consisted of an assortment of bread, rolls and croissants, eggs, some days sausage or bacon, some days fried potatoes, cheese, ham or salami, yogurt, milk, cereal, and their version of oatmeal...looked more like a Kashi to me.

At dinner, they usually had all the breads again, some cold cuts with cheeses, usually at least 1 hot selection (pasta, beef stew, empanadas, etc). Alcohol was an additional charge and the prices are steep.

Room tip: We asked for a small fridge in our room and instead they just cleared out the mini-bar for us and we stocked that with some beer and wine for nighttime. (we didn't know we had a mini-bar until they told us)

The location cannot be beat. You can get to any of the trendy neighborhoods in minutes and all the historic monuments and sights are all within walking distance from the hotel. The metro is across the street but we took taxis everywhere and never spent over $10 (50 pesos) on any ride in town. The tourist-street "Florida" starts from the hotel and is a pedestrian street lined with all the shops, cafes, street performers, and touristy stores you will need. We felt very safe walking up and down Florida both day and night.

Tango Tip: It's expensive and most places have dinner included, but the dinner is usually not good quality. Do your research and do a "show only" versus with dinner. Expect to pay a lot and expect the show to be shorter than what they tell you.

Restaurant Tip: From this Marriott, there is a great steakhouse just a few blocks away called Las Nazarenas. The portions are HUGE and the steaks were to die for. My wife and I couldn't finish 1 steak. We went there twice.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this Marriott to anyone visiting Buenos Aires. You get a historical hotel, great service, and a wonderful location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

You can tell the hotel used to be one of the grand hotels of Buenos Aires back in the days. Although it has retained some of its charms, it is a little dated and would need more than just a coat of paints to bring it to the 21st century. Still, it was a nice hotel. The location was great. The service was attentive. Not much more we could have asked for, for the price we paid.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, New York
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Due to gold status we were upgraded to an executive suite. This hotel has been refurbished since our last visit to BA. Still need to either walk up or down one landing to get from lobby to elevator.
The exec lounge provides a comfortable area to relax. Good capucino and decent snacks.
Evening service had good choices including hot soup.
The only negative experience was in the restaurant for dinner. The steak was tough. We are in Argentina, and expected that the beef would be excellent. The prices in this restaurant are high and the service is cold
The location is perfect sitting adjacent to Florida Street, a main shopping street in BA. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here for 10 days; its an older property and the rooms definitely need some work but we did enjoy staying in a suite (upgraded) since we are Gold status. One item that definitely disappointed us was that the executive lounge (another Gold status perk) did not have free alcoholic drinks. Due to my extensive business travel this year we have stayed at Marriott hotels in many countries and this is the first lounge where drinks were not free. That said, the food was very good in the lounge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I am staying at the Plaza hotel and was upgraded to a suite on the 9th floor - double bathroom and showers.

Balcony view of the park - the room is quiet clean and extremely comfortable.

Executive lounge is very pleasant and food quality is high.

Wireless internet is very good.

The staff have been more than helpful and friendly.

I really do like this property!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Florida 1005, Buenos Aires C1005AAU, Argentina (Formerly Marriott Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires)
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#90 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#109 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of Argentina's most distinguished hotel, the Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires. Conveniently located in the heart of Buenos Aires just steps from Calle Florida shopping area and overlooking the Plaza San Martin, this Buenos Aires hotel offers exclusive guest rooms amenities with the best high speed Internet access and Wi-Fi. Guests can enjoy the culture of the Retiro District's businesses, shops and restaurants as well as experience the tango dance in Buenos Aires. With nine ballrooms, our elegant hotel provides the perfect venue for any type of Argentina group meetings and memorable events. The Plaza Hotel houses the five-star Plaza Grill, known as one of the best Buenos Aires restaurants. Guests can also unwind at the Plaza Bar, chosen by FORBES as one of the top hotel bars in the world. Whether staying at the for business or pleasure, you are in the perfect place for a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.