We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, well maintained” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires

Save Saved
You added Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Florida 1005, Buenos Aires C1005AAU , Argentina (Formerly Marriott Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires) (El Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now - Save up to 25%
Ranked #164 of 439 hotels in Buenos Aires
San Antonio
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Well located, well maintained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel was built over 100 years ago and is a classic. OK it is not the Alvear Palace but it is infinitely more affordable. Executive lounge on the 8th floor is nice for breakfast but note that you sign in with your room number and later they determine if you are one of the 2 highest Marriott elite status members. If not, a charge can be expected to appear on your bill. The location is very convenient, on the Plaza San Martin by the pedestrian street Florida and near a subway stop. When you leave your room, ask one of the chambermaids to clean your room and they will do so right away. The business center is open for more hours than advertised. When one of the two computers is available, take it. At times, they are much in demand. Should one of them not be in service, advise the front desk. Otherwise, it can be down for days.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street. Traffic is constant in this city of night owls and buses can be part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    301
    179
    84
    40
See reviews for
129
308
53
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

As others have said the hotel is in a great location on Florida street but could use some renovations. Lots of stairs to even get to the elevators. Concierge had some good suggestions for day trips. City highlights tour was great value. Trip to Uruguay was expensive, make sure you book the one hour ferry otherwise 3 hours. The transport and restaurant they arranged worked well for the most part, did need to follow up with them to confirm some items they missed. The breakfast buffet was delicious with great pastries.

Room Tip: Seemed they put everyone on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Location is good, in the middle of everything right on Florida street that is pedestrian. Room was not so good, on the first floor overlooking noisy street with traffic all night. Couldn't sleep. For some reason got handicap room, closet was very tiny since space was consumed by oversided bathroom. Fortunately it was just one night stay. Was charged twice for the same stay, still resolving the issue.

Room Tip: Definitely NOT on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

It's my second time at this Hotel and I've chosen it again because of the location very near to Florida street (main shopping area), near my Affiliate and this time's Congress center.
Even though it's part of the Marriott brand, it is actually the Hotel Plaza for anyone there. It is a fine and old Hotel.
One thing that should be improved happens during arrival and departure: the lobby is one level below the elevators, which don't arrive at that level and you need to carry your luggage up some stairs.
At my departure I was charged for the Internet even though I have the gold status in Marriott and they shouldn't. When I complaint they said it was not my status. I guess they are not connected to the Marriott database, otherwise I don't understand this confusion.
I never got a view to the Park at the front, I guess it would be better then the inner view I always get.
Except that depending on where you need to go its an option. But if you look for more comfort, there is a better option across the channel close to Puerto Madero.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very stately but needs serious renovations in the rooms and hallways. Very gracious personel. Good location but Florida street has become very unsafe since my last visit in 2007.


Watch your check out bill. They had charged me two charges for the in room mini bar which I did not use. the breakfast buffet was ordinary but very expensive at $30. Also had laundry sent out; one shirt one pants and that charge was about $15 each USD.

I will consider elsewhere if I ever come back to Buenos Aires which is doubtful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We frequently stay at Marriotts. This one was located in a great section of the city for sight-seeing. The hotel was in excellent condition and had excellent amenities. If you can get a room at the front of the hotel, you'll have a nice view of the neighboring park. Within walking distance of a main pedestrian shopping street.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I had some misgivings about booking the hotel based on the mixed reviews I had read in Tripadvisor.

After due consideration I went ahead knowing just how well located this hotel was in this city.

I had a better than expected stay. This is a grand old style hotel - it, like Buenos Aires has an element of faded glory, but it worked for me. The "faded glory" decor and ambience added, rather than distracted from the overall experience.

The room was large and spacious and for me quiet. The only irritation being that the hotel charges a excessive amount (US$18 per day) for a very slow and sub standard wireless internet connection. The provider did manage to eventually find a solution to the ultra slow wireless connection - a cable was duly delivered to the room that lifted download speeds by a factor of 10 times. I must admit that in this era hotels that charge for internet access are usually ones that I try to avoid on principle.

The restaurant offered excellent service and a more than ample buffet breakfast. It's location at the end of Florida provides an excellent base for restaurants, shopping and sightseeing.

Putting aside the internet issue I couldn't find fault with the hotel. It provided fair value for money and delivered on all the key requirements.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Florida 1005, Buenos Aires C1005AAU , Argentina (Formerly Marriott Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires)
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#100 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#122 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.