We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware of taxi scam with the doorman support!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Florida 1005, Buenos Aires C1005AAU, Argentina (Formerly Marriott Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Be aware of taxi scam with the doorman support!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Atm I'm writing from the hotel's executive center, just because I really wanted to share my indignation about this cheap scam. If you ask the doorman for a cab, it will come, and it will charge in fixed prices, not using the taximeter. For a normal near ride, with taximeter on, they total would be around 15 pesos. Using their fixed hotel prices, it would go from 25 to 30 pesos. When we went complain to the doorman, he simply smiled, and showed us a table showing the value would be 25. However, I saw that 25 was the price to VANS - and we got a very lame sedan - and the correct value would be 20. We clearly noticed that the taxis had the hotel support, which made me really sad. To see a great brand like Marriott, and a nice place like Plaza Hotel involved in such thing is really sad. It is really not about the value itself - 10 pesos is not much - but about the disonesty going on here. Those people have no values. How can they make the most of my stay?

Room Tip: Definetly pic a room with executive floor acess granted. For only 20USD a day you have free interene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    326
    187
    85
    40
See reviews for
143
331
55
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

The Marriott Plaza Hotel embodies the feel of Old Argentina when it was in it's heyday. It stands out as a piece of history in the European style south American city where most hotels are tiny and are housed in newer buildings. The service in wonderful , though laid-back as in most of south America. The concierge staff is extremely knowledgeable and will stop at nothing to assist guests with recommendations and requests. The surrounding neighborhood is centrally located and perfect for strolling the walking streets and shopping areas that surround.
Divers pick guests up t in the beautiful lobby for the various tango shows each evening making it convenient to get to and from the venues with ease. Guest rooms are beautifully appointed slough in slight need of minor updating due to the age of the building but certainly not impeding a luxurious and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a Room not facing the noisy street and you will sleep better .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Marriott December 16-19th. This was my second time at the hotel. It is very nice. The staff is nice and facility is clean. If you can get access to the executive floor, I strongly recommend this as it is wonderful. You get a very good breakfast and very good appetizers in the evening. I would stay here again. The location on Florida avenue is amazing for people who like to shop.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Was that Eva Peron we saw walking through the lobby? When arriving at this grand hotel one is taken back into the early 1900’s when the hotel was first opened. Tastefully furnished and with all the modern facilities, it has still not lost it’s charm. Somehow, when one stays in such an old hotel, one is more forgiving when your view from the hotel room is a ugly concrete courtyard. It is conveniently located on Florida Street, the main shopping street and is reasonably close to the Jorge Newbury Airport. We were only there one night but it was a very pleasant experience, but falls a bit short of Marriott standards.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 3 weeks in the 8th floor which is the upgraded rooms. Here are a few observations:
The good: Location is awesome, you are in walking distance to most of the attractions. The hotel staff was very nice and attentive. They also let me store my bags for 3 days while I was in Iguazu. The gym and the pool are are nice.
The bad: My boss was also in the 8th floor and there was a bat in his room for several nights. One night the bat landed in the bed and he was able to take it out. Also, one night, because the main restaurant is closed, I got me an empanada from the bar and got terribly sick from it for the next days and even got fever. I let the hotel staff knew about it and they let me see their doctor and send me some free food.
The ugly: Hotel staff is nice and will help you and call taxis for you... but they have some deal with the taxi drivers and the taxi rates will be way more expensive than if you take the taxi on the street.

Room Tip: Try to get in the upper floors as lower floors are very noisy from street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

My husband is a Platinum member with Marriott, so we have stayed at numerous Marriott properties around the world. We selected this property to take advantage of award travel.

Quite frankly, if someone from the Marriott family visited this property, I believe they would be embarrassed to have their name on the building. The public areas are VERY worn and tired. A coat of paint would go a long way to help improve the overall appearance. The amenities in our room were fine, but there were gouges of wood out of the door frames in both the bathroom and exterior door with general dirt and dings on all doors and walls. In our 8 day stay, soaps not provided, towels not provided, and I could go on.

The check in and check out process were both very efficient with the front desk staff being very warm and gracious. The concierge there was worthless. When we stopped to ask about a day trip to Uruguay, his "assistance" was to suggest we look on the Internet.

The location is excellent and very easy to get to most of the main sites.

Even if there was an opportunity to stay for free at this location, we would pass and gladly pay to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed at this hotel to be within walking distance of sites. In general it was good for this purpose. I stayed two different visits as midway I went to Iguazu Falls. Both times the view of the room was horrible. Bathrooms could use some repair. They close the general restaurant at night so if you are tired and don't want to go out you are stuck with pub food or outrageous prices at the grill, the staff had a horrible attitude that made dinner awkward. we had access to the executive lounge and breakfast was really lacking. Probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Florida 1005, Buenos Aires C1005AAU, Argentina (Formerly Marriott Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires)
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#90 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#100 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#110 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of Argentina's most distinguished hotel, the Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires. Conveniently located in the heart of Buenos Aires just steps from Calle Florida shopping area and overlooking the Plaza San Martin, this Buenos Aires hotel offers exclusive guest rooms amenities with the best high speed Internet access and Wi-Fi. Guests can enjoy the culture of the Retiro District's businesses, shops and restaurants as well as experience the tango dance in Buenos Aires. With nine ballrooms, our elegant hotel provides the perfect venue for any type of Argentina group meetings and memorable events. The Plaza Hotel houses the five-star Plaza Grill, known as one of the best Buenos Aires restaurants. Guests can also unwind at the Plaza Bar, chosen by FORBES as one of the top hotel bars in the world. Whether staying at the for business or pleasure, you are in the perfect place for a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.