We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, GREAT hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Hotel El Vitraux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Petit Hotel El Vitraux to your Saves list
Petit Hotel El Vitraux
Estados Unidos 1383 | Capital Federal, Buenos Aires 1101, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% Discount!
Ranked #5 of 249 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
“Nice rooms, GREAT hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is near subway and buses so it is very simple to move.
The decoration is very very nice (it seems palace design for me!) and everything is clean.
But above all, it was the warmest welcome we had during our trip (I could say the warmest I never had in a B&B!) . The hosts, Elena and Mike, are very nice, helpful and waited on us hand and foot.

I can't recommend it more and I can't imagine that someone doesn't enjoy a stay in this B&B!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
96
23
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed for 5 night in the Petit Hotel and it was wonderful. Mike and Elena were the most amazing hosts and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. They were happy to help us with whatever we needed, and gave great advice for making the most of our stay in Buenos Aires, including organising a tango show and class for us. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated- we stayed in the green room, which had a nice sofa for relaxing and a view over the patio. Breakfast was delicious- including fresh rolls each day and plenty of dulce de leche- and they wee happy to serve it early on days where we had to leave for trips.
All in all, we cant recommend this B&B enough. It was the perfect start to our trip around South America., and we hope we'll have the chance to return in the future!
Alice and Tim

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This petit hotel was absolutely the perfect place for us to stay for our seven days in Buenos Aires.
A three room hotel, beautifully decorated palace like rooms & common area with lots of advice and fun chats with the Argentine/Dutch owners Elena & Mike.
Mike and Elena helped us and advised us time and time again, they ensured that we were able to make the absolute most of our stay and entertained us with plenty of genuine fun in their common kitchen.
We looked forward to the delicious Argentine breakfast each morning, all guests at a common table having plenty to chat to Mike & Elena about, plenty of laughter and fun but also great advice and insight into the Argentine ways.
I cannot imagine having stayed anywhere else.

Some of the reviews mention the noise in the front rooms, we stayed in a front room. Traffic is loud in the morning, but usually very quiet during the night. I don't recall being bothered by the noise at all, but it was noticeable.

Thank you again Mike and Elena for such a special time in Buenos Aires - we will not forget your generosity and hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend it more. Quaint and cosy little hotel. 3 quirky bedrooms to choose from... All cute and comfortable in their own way with a shared full bathroom and a half bath. Nice little patio outside, heaters work great, wifi available. Most supportive, endearing, warmest owners that I have met during my entire trip! Mike and Elena have a gem of place and treat every guest with kindness and honest best interest. If you're looking for quiet cozy helpful company, right near the center of the city... This is your place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

After reading some great reviews about this B&B on trip advisor, we were left disappointed from our experience there. We are a young couple and thought this place seemed ideal given the reviews about the warm welcome and comfort. I can see why some people like it...
Elena is a natural hostess and was always warm and friendly and would go out of her way to help in anyway she could, she is very caring and hospitable. However we found Mike a lot less friendly and helpful. Our first night in the blue room, we found very noisy being at the front of the house. You can clearly hear every car and person that passes, We appreciate it's in a city, but there are ways to reduce the noise like soundproof double glazing, which this doesn't have and its a shame because the room was very comfy and nicely decorated. We then arranged to move in to the green room after discussing the level of noise with Mike and Elena. This room is larger, and although it doesn't have the same level of noise, there is a problem with rising damp all up the wall and on to the ceiling which left the room smelling very musty.
Mike approached us to discuss what we thought was paying the difference for upgrading to the bigger room, instead he informed us that another couple were coming back to stay who had stayed before and if they wanted the Green room, we would have to give it up to them and move back in the blue room, We were shocked as we were paying customers and it sounded as though the choice for the room was up to another customer (who Mike knew previously). We said we would not go back to the Blue room as we did not find it value for money with the level of noise. Mike seemed unbothered by this and basically said that was up to us and left.
Aside from this the actual property is lovely though it does need practical work, aside from decoration, some damp proofing and sound proofing.
The breakfast served is great and varied. Though if you do want privacy you wont find It as The hosts are constantly there, so its like staying with a family - really depends what you want from your stay.
There are lots of nearby restaurants and the Sunday markets aren't far to walk to. At night I did feel some unsafe characters about walking back from the restaurants. A homeless drunk was just across the street from the hotel yelling into the night and urinating on the corner, this could be intimidating if you're travelling alone. All in all, I stayed in better places whilst in travelling South America but stayed in worst too. It was mainly our encounter with Mike that left us disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitHotelElVitraux, Owner at Petit Hotel El Vitraux, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi! Thank you for leaving your review. Unfortunately all positive things have their negative sides as well. All the positive reviews we received so far, create high expectations, which can cause disappointment. We're really sorry we couldn't live up to your expectations, but we want to make one aspect clear to avoid misunderstanding. After the first night we gave you the possibility to change rooms. The other room was only available for the next 2 nights, while your reservation was for another 4 nights. Because of this reason, we sent an e-mail to the persons that booked the other room, to ask them if they were ok, if we would change their reservation (which they made the month before, when they already stayed with us the first time). They already stayed in the blue room and didn't experience any issues, so we were pretty sure it wasn't a problem for them, but since they are also "paying customers" and made the reservation one month ago, we had at least to check with them. We don't understand why you can't see this is fair. We can't imagine how your review would have been, if we would have changed your 1-month-old-reservation without consulting you first. Finally they were very happy to stay in the blue room, but the damage was already done and you left not only El Vitraux, but also Buenos Aires 2 days before planned. We're still not sure, if this all was an excuse to swap the busy Buenos Aires for the much quieter San Antonia de Areco...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Among all the Bed and Breakfast experience, I have to say that my stay in Petit Hotel El Vitraux has been one of the best. Both Elena and Mike make me feel very welcome during the stay. We had also a very good time dining out together at a nearby restaurant (named El Casal) that serves Catalan cuisine. The Tortilla (similar to a Frittata) and the Paella were very delicious. Elena and Mike also took the time to explain to me how to get to the important touristic spots. They also helped me book my boat trip to Colonia in Uruguay. All in all, I would highly recommend visitors to stay at this little gem in Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: Book in advance as this is a very popular accommodation choice in Buenos Aires.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I visited Buenos Aires in June 2013 and stayed at the Petit Hotel El Vitraux after reading numerous good reviews on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. By the time we got there it was the end of our trip, we were already traveling for quite a while, and we were very tired. But Elena and Mike made us feel so at home that I wished we could stay longer than 2 nights. They have two adorable cats which they keep out of the way if you are not a cat person, but since I am, Elena let me cuddle them as much as possible!
It is a very cosy place and the breakfast each morning was delicious. Elena and Mike are both brilliant people and VERY helpful with everything and they helped us pick out a tango show to attend. Elena gave us a map and spent a lot of time helping us find good places to go.
The location is great ... in the San Telmo neighborhood and you can pretty much walk to La Boca (although I would recommend taking a bus). From San Telmo you can also take a metro to Palermo and some of the other neighborhoods.
It is very good value for money to stay here and they even give you a key to the house if you want to come in late after a dinner or tango show.
We loved staying here and would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Buenos Aires!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Hotel El Vitraux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Hotel El Vitraux

Address: Estados Unidos 1383 | Capital Federal, Buenos Aires 1101, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Petit Hotel is located in the first neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, Monserrat. Next to San Telmo, La Boca, Puerto Madero and right in the city center, you are close to all the interesting places to visit. Completely restored 19th century house, with original façade, high ceilings, all original details including 'El Vitraux'. El Vitraux is owned and operated by it's owners, providing a beautiful and comfortable environment for an unforgettable stay.With it's peaceful patio and amazing green terrace, you can escape from the busy downtown when you want. If you are lucky the colibri's will join you, while enjoying a drink in the patio or on the terrace. A terrace with a Jacaranda, palmtree, roses, lemons, strawberries and the smell of lavendel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Petit Hotel El Vitraux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Hotel El Vitraux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.