We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't believe it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pop Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pop Hotel to your Saves list
Pop Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan R. de Velasco 793 | Villa Crespo Outlet Zone, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We couldn't believe it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

After arriving to a really bad place that we booked through Airbnb (reeked of smoke and the bathroom didn't work), we scrambled to try to find a place in our price range. After finding the great reviews here on Trip Advisor, we felt comfortable that we were making a great choice, so we called and asked for availability, confirmed a price and the gentleman on the other side seemed to be busy while we were trying to make our decision and said to call or come by later as there was lots of availability. So this evening when we showed up, a different gentleman at the front desk gave us potentially the worst service we've ever received. He told us that we had called earlier, but hadn't called back, so he refused to help and said there was no one in the hotel that could put an extra bed in the room (even though they had confirmed they could do just that earlier in the day). When I pushed, he called someone and just kept saying he couldn't provide an extra bed even though it was available because everyone had gone for the day and it was our fault. Then he began to berate me and insult my Spanish speaking saying that I had used a word that had offended his colleague. Then I suggested we were so desperate that I'd just sleep on the floor, to which he replied, "Then I'm going to have to charge you an additional fee" ... for me sleeping on the floor? Instead of getting a bed? I don't get it. The truth is that the hotel seems quite nice. It's a shame that they've gone out of their way to ruin our first day in Buenos Aires and make us feel terrible. I am really, truly in disbelief about what has just transpired.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bárbara B, Gerente at Pop Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear MCSTOL,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. We always appreciate comments that help us provide better service every day.
Unfortunately, this time we do not agree with your comments.
We received your phone call in the morning, when we told you our availability and when you mentioned that there were 3 persons in your party, we explained that our rooms were for single or double occupancy, that an extra charge would apply. You said you would call back, but never did.
Late in the evening, you showed up at the hotel without a reservation. We did offer you rooms, but no extra bed was available at that time. We offered the possibility of booking two rooms for that night, and making the arrangements the next day for an extra bed in your room. You said that the third person was going to sleep in the floor, we said it was not possible.
We did give you options to accommodate you and your party, we are sorry that they were not the ones that you wanted.
Regarding the insulting manners that you mention of our receptionist, we totally deny it. Not only we are known for our great and friendly staff, but a great standard of service is the number one rule in all our hotels. And we stick to that rule no matter what.
Once again I am sorry you did not find in Pop Hotel the type of accommodation that you were looking for. But our staff did offer you different options and by no means they were disrespectful to you, even when you threatened that if you were not getting what you wanted you would write an awful review in TripAdvisor.
Best regards,

Bárbara Böttcher
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    148
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
50
175
42
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel met all of our needs. It had a kettle, fridge, hairdryer, tv, room wifi & computer access. The room was spotless, the bed was huge & comfortable. The room overall was spacious & well decorated. The area is brimming with bars, cafes & restaurants & feels very safe. We felt that Pop hotel was value for money. We found the staff suitably helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our four night stay at Pop Hotel in Villa Crespo. Absolutely loved the neighborhood-- it's just off the subway line and within walking distance to trendier neighborhoods, but the immediate area is full of leafy streets with little cafes, restaurants, bakeries, gelaterias, etc. Really fun base to explore from.

The hotel has a youth hostel feel to it, but the rooms are nice: ultra clean, ultra modern. The furniture and furnishings seem like it came from Ikea, but then we paid less for our room here than for two twin beds in a hostel, so I can't complain too much. Really, an incredible value for what it is, and for the neighborhood. Highly recommend the breakfast place across the street.

The staff in the lobby aren't terribly friendly, and that's my only real complaint. They weren't terribly helpful on recommendations for sights, entertainment, or restaurant recommendations, and barely said hello when we were coming and going. Still, this wouldn't stop me from staying here again though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Visited Pop Hotel for our honeymoon. It was the first hotel we stayed at and turned out to be a much nicer accommodation than a more luxurious hotel we stayed at later in the trip. Villa Crespo is a beautiful neighborhood that is off the well-beaten tourist path. It's an authentic, working class Buenos Aires community that's lively during the day and quiet at night. Many, many great establishments where you'll hear only Spanish and won't see or hear any North Americans or Europeans.

The room is wonderful and very comfortable. Extremely clean rooms. Impeccable room service. Unfortunately, the front desk staff was hit or miss. The front lobby has a youth hostel feel, and the staff are mostly younger neighborhood residents. The reason I'm only giving Pop Hotel three stars is because the Internet was out for three of the four days we were there. We were planning on using the Net to plan our activities, but the staff and hotel seemed genuinely uncaring about the situation and were not helpful, nor did they seem in any hurry to fix the problem. If not for this occurrence, this would have been a five-star stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The welcome was warm and the service was excellent. The rooms are clean, nicely designed and quiet – at least mine was. The cafe/coffee shop next door was an unexpected find and the nearby bar, 878, is worth visiting

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Welcomed by friendly service,and checked in fast.front desk helped me with questions like best place to eat close,can I drink tap water and I got map over baires,excellent service.Room had good space,comfortable bed,tea water heater,aircondition,refrigerator and more.Internet connection was faster close to the exit door to the room,the further inside room the slower,in the bed it was too slow.room windows let in some sounds from outside.Hotel was close to el subte(subway) a easy way to travel in baires.next to hotel was supermarket with all you can need,5 minutes walk a good place to eat,10 minutes to subte.Best:service was great Worst:no toilet brush

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Before my friends and I arrived in Buenos Aires, I've sent the hotel staffs a few emails about booking us a package to the Iguazu Falls. They've been super helpful with professional advises. I loved them even more when we actually arrived. They also arranged a tango night for us. They suggested the best restaurants in the neigbourhood. The rooms are very modern and unique. The neighbourhood is safe and trendy. I will definitely stay there again when I go back to Buenos Aires!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pop Hotel

Address: Juan R. de Velasco 793 | Villa Crespo Outlet Zone, Buenos Aires 1414, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pop Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
POP Hotel, the first Budget Boutique Hotel in Buenos Aires. POP Budget Boutique Hotel is a hotel where you can make new friends. It is located in Villa Crespo, the new outlet zone, near the main access to commercial and touristy points. Whether for business or for pleasure, POP satisfies your needs, and gives you the best rates for your stay in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.