We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous boutique hotel in Palermo Soho” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aspen Square to your Saves list
Aspen Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Thames 2313, Buenos Aires C1425FIG, Argentina (Palermo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous boutique hotel in Palermo Soho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My two friends and I spent four nights at Aspen Square in February 2014 for our annual girls/wine trip and we loved this hotel. The location is great, only 2.5 blocks from the metro and many awesome restaurants and bars in walking distance. The hotel staff were very responsive and incredibly helpful with everything from dinner reservations, taxis, directions to extra towels. We were very impressed and would stay here again. Great value and an awesome location - what more could you want! We also enjoyed the pool, gym, free wifi and complimentary breakfasts.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen H, Guest Service Agent at Aspen Square, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Mrs. Jessica,

Thank you very much for sharing your nice comments with all of us!
It is been a pleasure welcome you and your friends in our hotel.
We are glad to know that you enjoy all our services and facilities, as wel as the warm attention of our staff.
We look forward to welcome you again in your next annual girls wine trip in Argentina!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    159
    28
    10
    7
See reviews for
58
164
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stalybridge
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed five nights at The Aspen Square. We chose it because of the location and the Tripadvisor reviews.

The good things:

The hotel’s in a great location, close to good restaurants and bars and handy for the Subte (underground) just a few blocks away. This makes it convenient for all the normal touristy areas.
Breakfast was good, with a variety of dishes, decent coffee too. The breakfast area can get a bit cramped at times.

We had a King Suite which was a good size. The bed was, if anything, too big.

Contrary to some reviewers, we found the staff very helpful and approachable. We hadn’t arranged a late checkout and the hotel was full on the day we left. However, we were able to check out a couple of hours late and still had access to all the facilities.

Not so good:

We didn’t check in until 10:30pm. When we arrived in our room we checked out the usual suspects. One bedside light wasn’t working. I checked to see if the bulb was loose and the whole fitting came out of the lamp, revealing a bare, live wire! I went to reception and one of the staff came to investigate. He fixed the loose wire and the lamp worked but the fitting was still loose in the base of the lamp. It was late so I fixed that in the morning.

The hairdryer didn’t work. The element glowed red hot and started to smell. We asked for this to be fixed while we had breakfast in the morning and a replacement was fitted promptly as requested. It lasted about thirty seconds. In all they tried four hairdryers before finding one that worked.

The bedside clock/radio was flashing when we first arrived. I sorted this but when we left the room and pulled the keycard out of the slot, it switched off. Pushed the keycard into the slot, the clock started flashing again. All the sockets seem to be switched like this. A bedside clock which switches off every time you leave the room is a waste of time! There’s a power socket under the desk/table but our power cable wouldn’t then reach the desk top. Why not a double socket where the TV’s plugged in?

Towards the end of our stay we often returned to find an unpleasant smell from the drains in the bathroom.

The fridge isn’t big enough for a bottle of wine.

No English language TV stations.

The room was noisy. OK, Buenos Aires is a noisy city but one would have expected that a new(ish) hotel would have been built with double glazing to mitigate the problem.

These problems and niggles really could and should be sorted, they’re spoiling an otherwise good hotel. I notice the management rarely respond to critical reviews – let’s wait and see what happens to this one.

Room Tip: It would be difficult to find a quiet room. Buenos Aires is a noisy city and all rooms face busy str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen H, Guest Service Agent at Aspen Square, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Aspen Square Hotel during your recent visit to Buenos Aires and for having shared your point of view regarding various experiences during your stay at the hotel. In particular, we value the time and objectivity with which you completed our Guest Satisfaction Questionnaire upon check-out in addition to your comments on Trip Advisor. While you rated our staff as being “excellent, helpful, and courteous” in the GSQ, you also were very helpful in describing various nonconformities relating to the alarm clock, hair dryer and night light electrical cord in particular. Not only have these issues been repaired or replaced for your individual suite, but our corporate Director of Quality Assurance jointly with our Hotel Manager have coordinated a complete inspection of all the rooms in the hotel to check for similar issues and apply preventive maintenance where applicable.
The safety and well being of our guests and staff is a priority for Aspen Hotels, and accordingly we would like to emphasize that the hotel surpasses the standards of local fire and safety codes, complying not only with sprinklers and intelligent smoke detectors and alarms, but also with the installation of a fully Automatic Defibrillator and privately contracted 24 hour Emergency Medical Assistance.
Again we thank you for your positive comments and constructive recommendations on how we can better our services to provide a greater experience for all guests with the goal of achieving 100% Guest Satisfaction. In our philosophy of continuous improvements and quality management, our corporate Director of Quality Assurance will be personally following up with you in regards to other actions being analyzed as a result of the hotel review.

Graciously at your service,

CC Paula Arakaki, Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here twice recently. It is very convenient to the subway, and within walking distance to the Palermo shopping area. The breakfast was very nice with a lot of different suggestions--everything seemed to be fresh.

The front desk was very helpful arranging activities and answering questions. Everybody was very friendly and accommodating.

There is some street noise, but nothing out of the ordinary from being in a city. Some construction noise from next door may annoy some for the next few months. I don't sleep late, so it wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: If you want to splurge, the rooms with a terrace and jacuzzi are a nice place to relax after a long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen H, Guest Service Agent at Aspen Square, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Mr . Howard,

Thank you very much for choosing Aspen Square!
We would like to thank you for having shared your opinion with us.
We are glad to know your experience at our hotel has meet your expectations, and that you enjoy our location and services.
we look forward to welcoming you in a near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Second time at the Aspen Square Hotel. My husband and I had a very pleasant stay there. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient, close to good restaurants and easy access to public transport. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Excellent breakfast. Beautiful rooftop solarium and pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen H, Guest Service Agent at Aspen Square, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Mrs. Daphene,

Aspen Hotels would like to thank you for your very nice comments!
We are very gratefull to know that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed our services and location.
Our main goal is to make guests feel as if they were at home.
We look forward to welcoming you in a near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed 5 nights in this hotel during last week . When we arrived the bed sheet was dirty but I asked and they changed it immediately .the room was big and clean .
front desk gave us any information we asked while they were smiling all the time ( specially the guy named Julian )
the metro and bus station is only two blocks away , and at weekend you can walk 10 blocks to the neighbourhood called Serano where a lot of restaurant and bar is .
The breakfast is normal and the water of swimming pool wasn't clean . But if I want to visit BA again for sure I will choose this hotel .

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen H, Guest Service Agent at Aspen Square, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much sharing with us, your experience at Aspen Square.
It’s our main objective to exceed our Guests’ expectations, and your review is the best evaluation.
Regarding the swimming pool and the inconvenient you have with the bed sheets, we appreciate very much your comments and we would like you to know that the Operations Manager is already we are working on the issues with de Housekeeping department.
We look forward to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great location for walking around...great service...great room....great breakfast....and most importantly, free apples at the reception desk ALL THE TIME!!! :)

I am very happy with the price of the room...very affordable~

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen H, Guest Service Agent at Aspen Square, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments!
We are glad to know you have enjoyed your stay in Aspen Square.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Buenos Aires!
Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We got here through a great deal in Expedia and we loved our stay here. The rooms are very big, clean, nice and well accessorized. Although previous reviews we found the staff to be really nice, smiling and helpful.
The pool is small but still fun for a nice relaxation next to it.
Breakfast was the best we got in Argentina and location in trendy Palermo Soho is exactly what you need!
We came back to this hotel after going to the Iguazu for 3 nights( while leaving our baggage here free of charge) and received a bottle of champagne to the room after they heard its our honey moon.
Highly recommended!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen H, Guest Service Agent at Aspen Square, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Aspen Square for your stay in Buenos Aires!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our service.
It is always very important to know our guest’s opinion as it helps us improving everyday our quality of service.
We look forward to welcoming you another time in a near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspen Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Square

Address: Thames 2313, Buenos Aires C1425FIG, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#62 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#64 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired on a modern minimalist architecture, and located in the heart of the exquisite Palermo Soho district, where art, fashion, and cuisine fuse in original avant-garde options; the new choice of Aspen Hotels surprises its guests with 83 spacious rooms and suites, and a 100% guaranteed satisfactory experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aspen Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Square Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.