We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classes with Lucia & Gerry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry

Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry
Panuero 1463, Buenos Aires 1872, Argentina
54 11 3968-6627
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 242 activities in Buenos Aires
Type: Classes/Workshops
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: You've seen the movie and been to the show and you can't wait to try that most sensual and passionate of dances Tango. Lucia and Gerry are Tango dance professionals in Buenos Aires, teaching since 2005. They use a modern pedagogue which invites the student to realize that a relaxed natural movement is key, to dancing, Tango. It is their experience that this incredible and sensual dance can be learned by anybody. You bring the desire and they will give you the means. English and Spanish spoken. Click on the email above to connect directly with them and organize your Tango experience.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Classes with Lucia & Gerry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Lucia & Gerry have an amazing deep knowledge of tango as it's danced in Buenos Aires. They cut through all the urban myths about the dance, coming to the heart of a movement. If I am not leading a movement correctly, they effortlessly locate the exact place where I'm going wrong & correct it. Most times it is something a simple as I'm letting my weight drift form the ball of my foot to the heel or I'm starting to turn the follow a fraction too late.

If you want to dance with the locals at la Nacional or Cachirulo, you can find no better teachers!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia-y-Gerry, Owner at Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for your review. Rusty has visited us a couple of years running and is well regarded in the milongas of Buenos Aires. Your hard work has payed off. Classes plus lots of practice is the way forward. Best of luck and we look forward to your return Gerry and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
westbank
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“knowledgable and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We did group,semi-private,and the tuesday milonga. We left with increased knowledge that has improved our dancing already. We attended several different milongas and Gerry and Lucia's was the best, they are warm in their approach. Thankyou for your hospitality and for sharing your love of Tango.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia-y-Gerry, Owner at Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thanks for you review. You guys did the whole shebang and we are glad to know it is working for you. Thanks also for mentioning about our Milonga (Flor de Milonga!! also in Tripadvisor) with all the classes a great place to put your learning on the dance floor. Thank you very much Gerry and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“charming & professional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Well, we tried both - the tuesday milonga and a private class with lucía and gerry. we definately will go back :-) the milonga is charming, nice ambience, perfect music-mix and hosted with sensitivity.
the private class was full of helpful advice to improve our dance. the two experts could spot immediately our 'weak parts' and had professional advice how to reduce effort and enjoy even more our tango-dancing.
we had met other teachers before and felt really comfortable with lucía and gerry. best choice!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia-y-Gerry, Owner at Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We love to hear our guests say they will return, and we are glad to see that many do. Both of you already danced well and were still keen to find out new possibilities. We are happy you found our advice valuable. Thanks very much once again. Gerry and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forth, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Milogna & Lessom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We went to their Tuesday night Milogna and it was great. We have been to several others around town, and this was the first one to make us feel welcome. The dancing was not too crowded which made it easy to relax and dance out limited repertoire. We also had a private lesson which was great. They helped us understand what simple things we were doing wrong that prevented us from connecting, and some simple things we can work on to improve. It was great not to just taught steps, but how to step together.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia-y-Gerry, Owner at Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thanks for your comments. The personal touch at the Milonga and then again during the class is key to being able to relax and get the most out of a class. Have fun making the most of what you learned. Muchas Gracias Gerry and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great people, great tango!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

There was some misunderstanding with the new schedule for lessons, so we were the only couple there for the class. Lucia and Gerry were amazing and gave us a "semi" private lesson, completely adjusting to what we knew and teaching us a bunch of new things. We loved the local feeling with the added advantage that they can teach you in either Spanish or English. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia-y-Gerry, Manager at Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thanks guys for your comment. Yes we were opening Flor de Milonga 2 hours earlier to it's new start time 7pm. You arrived for a class so there was only one thing to do. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves. You both picked up loads. Happy tangoing. Thanks again Gerry and Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tango Classes with Lucia & Gerry to your Saves list