We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mio Buenos Aires

Save Saved
You added Mio Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mio Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Quintana 465, Buenos Aires C1129ABA, Argentina (Recoleta)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 439 hotels in Buenos Aires
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at the Mio Buenos Aires. We had a wonderful
experience especially since we had just left a horrible experience at the Hilton Buenos Aires.
The service was impressive. If a request or need was made it was dealt with immediately.
The bed was very comfortable and I wish I had it at my house. The room was "different"
but in a good way. There was a beautiful hand carved bathtub in the center of the "bath room area". Look online for pictures.
The one draw back was that the bathroom was in the bedroom area. There wasn't much privacy which was okay for us but wouldn't be if traveling with a friend.
I would recommend this hotel. It was in Recoleta and we felt safe when we walked down the streets unlike our experience in Puerto Madero.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    47
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
20
133
1
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greystones, Ireland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Mio after having spent a few days in the Palermo district (at the Fierro Hotel). We got a very good deal on the room, otherwise the hotel would be rated down. Staff were mainly excellent. The hotel is modern and beautifully designed with lots of wooden features. The room was very large and really is amazing and initially took our breath away. There were a few problems, however, which was a pity. To list a few, the spa's steam room wasn't on when I went up; The unlimited free champagne dispenser in our room was not replaced eventhough it was empty and despite two calls to reception. While the bathroom is lovely, it isn't very practical. Also, the room wasn't cleaned properly, which really is not right. It seemed to me that there were perhaps some issues with the hotel. The restaurant has also closed although there is a fresh breakfast. Nespresso capsules were available in the room but were priced prohibitively. To end on a positive note, the hotel has an amazing location in Recoleta. On the whole, the staff were very friendly and professional. If you have the choice of Palermo or Recoleta, I'd go for Palermo, which is a big younger and has more of a night scene.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Very nice small design hotel. Nice spa although small. Great location. Friendly, helpful staff. Big rooms. Ours (1001) had a big bathtub carved out of wood. Good Wifi signal (free). Very good mattress and pillow. Major shopping area only minutes away. Good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

excellent location in Recoleta, close to everything. Hotel is very new and will suit those who like modern design/decoration. Price is a tad steep. Breakfast, pool, pillow and mattress comfort, all in accordance with with age and price. I would have preferred that the double bed had not been a combination of two singles. Service is very good. I would also like to see a better gym or at least information on a nearby gym.

Room Tip: ask for the jacuzzi, not all rooms have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent 8 wonderful days at Mio Buenos Aires. As much as we loved the location, service and style at this great boutique hotel, it does not rate as a 5 star hotel for a number of reasons. We had a beautiful junior suite, room 202. We loved the ambiance and comfort. The king sized bed was wonderfully comfortable, and the terrace and ipod/CD equipment were great perks. However the water situation required running both the bath and shower for 5 minutes in order to have a hot shower. Light fixtures were falling off the wall and when one of the elevators broke down it was still broken by the time we checked out....2 days later. Still, the warmth and helpfulness of the staff was top quality. The breakfast was a full spread...eggs as you like, smoked salmon, cheeses, prosciutto, pastries and all sorts of breads and fresh fruit, fresh squeezed juice, and endless cups of delicious coffee. The internet access worked well. I can't comment on the spa as we didn't avail ourselves of that service.
The hotel is a two minute walk to Cemeterio de la Recoleta / Plaza Francia and the Basilica Nuestra Senora del Pilar. Hotel staff introduced us to great restaurants in the area.....Fervor on Calle Posadas, and their sister restaurant for Spanish food El Burladero. We tried the authentic local food at El Sanjanito right next to Fervor. The locra and empanadas were great there. At the suggestion of the hotel staff we trekked to Miramar in the barrio of Congreso for a fabulous spanish meal of oxtail. The food and ambiance are wonderful there....old world and charming. Near the magnificent Teatro Colon (you should definitely take the tour!), we had fabulous pizza at the famed El Cuartito. Every evening we returned to complimentary dark chocolate and bottled water. Overall I'd rate Mio Buenos Airea a top notch 4 star establishment.....which could be in the 5 star category with a little tweaking here and there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

It´s all about design. The rooms are beautifully decorated. We got one with an amazing bathtub, which I particularly recommend. Breakfast is good and abundant.

A few points to bear in mind: the hotel has no restaurant (one of the best in the city used to be there) and, like in other design hotels, there's not much service.

Highly recommendable for a top design stay in BA.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were recommended to try Mio Hotel from a friend in Australia, we are certainly not disappointed!
There was a slight hiccup with our Junior Suite being on a lower floor, as I had requested a high floor - within 15 minutes Franco had performed a miracle and we were elevated to the top floor with wonderful views over Recoleta.
We had a 2 story loft and couldn´t be happier, actually our only regret is that we only have 5 nights.
The location is fantastic and Franco, Martin and staff couldn´t be more helpful - this is definitely the hotel to stay in if you are looking for quality, quiteness with excellent service.
I note previous comments about the rate, however, it is comparable to world 5 star ratings and worth the cost.

Room Tip: The suites either face Quintana directly or the back rooms, either is fine as the windows are double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mio Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mio Buenos Aires

Address: Avenida Quintana 465, Buenos Aires C1129ABA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#30 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#31 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#37 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#88 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mio Buenos Aires 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mio Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mio Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mio Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.