We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Art Fans: Puerto Madero” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coleccion de Arte Amalia Lacroze de Fortabat

Coleccion de Arte Amalia Lacroze de Fortabat
Olga Cossettini 141 | Puerto Madero Este, Buenos Aires, Argentina
54 (11) 4310-6600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 234 Attractions in Buenos Aires
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fine Art Fans: Puerto Madero”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Another of many, fine, fine, private, BA family art collections, this spectacular location on the docks of Puerto Madero, houses four spacious floors of everything from modern to Egyptian pieces, while allowing you to enjoy the locale of this very modern BA barrio, fabulous for strolling along the quays; near to the downtown, historical areas, the river and San Telmo; while soaking in fabulous, one of a kind visual art, for an afternoon/evening. Worth the slightly high entrance fee.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    128
    23
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Give it a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Walking around puerto madero, I saw this gorgeous building and noticed it was the Amalia Lacroze museum. Not free, but not expensive either, I decided to get in and take a look. You will find pieces from world known artists, along with local ones, not less talented let me tell you
The building itself is really nice, and you also get incredible views from there as well
If you happen to be in the area, spend a couple of hours enjoying the fine arts in Buenos Aires

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ok collection but rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

The collection was ok, slightly above average. The staff at the tills didn't speak English and appeared disinterested when we tried to enquire of the entry cost. The man working at the cloak first pointed me in another direction when I tried to put my coat in, when I came back and pointed at the cloak sign and showed him the jacket he said it was 'frito' or cold in the gallery. I went to the gallery to check and it was anything but cold. I went back to give him the jacket and he reluctantly took it to put into the cloak area. As we are not allowed to take photos, my husband was using the text editor on his phone to take notes on the name and artist of some pieces. A staff told him to put the phone away and did not leave him until the phone was out of his hands. This made no sense as the pieces had QR codes on the title plates which require a phone to read. It was clear that my husband was not taking photos, the staff just wanted to exercise some control, though it only made them look ignorant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not a very interesting collection”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Maybe I am prejudiced being from New York City but I think this is a very poor collection. The contemporary work was just painfully bad. Skip it and go to Recoleta, MALBA, or any number of the other really interesting smaller museums like Xul Soler.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Definitely not top level”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I'm definitely not a lover of the South American modern aesthetics and this museum/gallery proved that once again! The architecture is impressive and the exhibition spaces are HUGE. There were more armed (!!) guards than visitors, but I'm not complaining. With the exception of a Breughel, a Turner and a Warhol, I thought the collection was pretty mediocre. Don't quite get all the 'excellents'?!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coleccion de Arte Amalia Lacroze de Fortabat also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Coleccion de Arte Amalia Lacroze de Fortabat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coleccion de Arte Amalia Lacroze de Fortabat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.