We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not that impressive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museo River Plate

Museo River Plate
Av. Figueroa Alcorta 7597, Buenos Aires, Argentina
4789-1156
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 234 Attractions in Buenos Aires
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“not that impressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I thought that one of the biggest clubs in the world would have an extraordinaire museum, well, its mostly a historic museum on how River Plate was founded and some of the historic players... no interactive material nor art around it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    52
    18
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago del Estero, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

River Plate is a one of most important institutions of the world. This museum is a real history summary of the glorious club. Too much advisable!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The best stadium tour and museum experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I visited the museum with some friends and was blown away by the museum and the stadium tour. The museum is in the grounds of the stadium and its a short walk to start the tour where you can see the changing rooms, tunnels, get to go the side of the pitch.
The museum is big with loads of interactive areas, sound and video and you get a real flavour for the club and the supporters. Easily the best tour and museum I have been and well worth the short trip to Nunez which is a very safe residential area in Buenos Aires. I did the Boca tour and this was mile better and a much safer area to be in.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“for Football/soccer lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

It is not the easiest place to go when you are in Buenos Aires, but taxis are cheap and if you really like football you should really give it a try. The museum is really nice, old jerseys, pictures of old Argentine players,tropheys and all about the club. There is a great place like a time tunnel where you can see the history of the club and the country throughout the decades.
And of course visiting the stadium where Argentina team plays is very good.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice experience...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I have visited ‘Estadio Monumental de Nunez” in December 2011. It is not very near the center of town (if you are a good walker, you can try walk there, we took a taxi), is located in the district of Belgrano. From the center of town, we took a taxi that costed around 10 US$. When you arrive there, you can visit only the Museum of the Stadium (45 pesos, about 10 US$) or pay 55 pesos and have access to Museum AND the guided tour to Stadium, which were our choice. If you are a fan of football, this stadium is a must, it was were took place the final match of 1978 Football World Cup. The Museum is nice and modern, telling the story of River Plate, his idols, photographs, uniforms, trophys and so on… The guided tour (round 45 minutes, beginning at full hours) is OK you have access to special places of the stadium, the guide tell you numbers and the history of stadium, and at the end you can go inside the field (but not walk or run on it), and take photos of the stadium. The guided tour is informative, but could be better, with some interesting facts and histories that happened there. Overall, a good experience. In your way out, you can go to a sports shop (not particularly good, the same sports shop you have in all town). Tip: it can be a little hard to get a taxi in front of stadium: you can wait there for several minutes or, what we did, walk some 6 blocks in a pleasant neighborhood until ‘Avenida del Libertador’, which is full of taxis (tip: several of them do not accept other currencies than ‘pesos argentinos’, so we had try 5 taxis until one accepted US$ as payment).

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo River Plate also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Museo River Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo River Plate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.