We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid laid back cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helena Bar Resto

Helena Bar Resto
Nicaragua 4816 | Palermo, Buenos Aires, Argentina
(11) 4833-0256
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,074 of 2,327 restaurants in Buenos Aires
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Valparaiso, Chile
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Solid laid back cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

When I lived in Buenos Aires in 2010 I loved coming to this cafe to work for a few hours and drink a cup of coffee. On my most recent trip to BA 2 weeks ago Helena did not disappoint - the brie, jamon serrano sandwich is still a delight and the coffee is great. I love the large windows and homey atmosphere. I will always return to this charming cafe when I'm in BA.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    4
    7
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Laid back cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

It took some time to get to like Helena. The coffee and food is okay, but so is a lot of coffee and food in Argentina. Service is average for Argentina.

But unlike most of Argentina, they're open almost every day, even some holidays. You can sit and work on your laptop on their free wifi. The interior is comfortable and unpretentious. And after a few weeks, it quietly won me over.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unfriendly, food not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The owner is so unfriendly!!! This is the last time i went there as I always feel unwelcome. The food is NOT good and overpriced. Service is terrible. Not happy with the place. So many better ones.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty diverse food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Upscale, but not overpriced lunch place, great staff and diverse, tasty options. A cool place to sit and read/do work as well.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small, friendly and authentic.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011 via mobile

Situated in a beautifull neighbourhood with nice shops and restaurants we encountered this little place. It has a real nice cosy authentic athmosphere, the servants were very friendly and the food was great. We had a healthy rich sandwich and a homemade pizza with sundried tomatoes and rucula. Highly recommended !

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helena Bar Resto also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Helena Bar Resto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helena Bar Resto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.