We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute must!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buenos Aires Local Tours

Buenos Aires Local Tours
Charcas 5094, Buenos Aires 1425, Argentina
+54 11 5254-1354
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 343 Activities in Buenos Aires
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A "Pay What You Want" tour, Buenos Aires Local Tours, is a great introduction to the past and present of Buenos Aires. You'll travel by public bus, subway and foot to see the Buenos Aires most tourists miss. Visiting Abasto, Congreso and Plaza de Mayo and it's the perfect way to get to know the city as a local does. Run by English & American expats, there are regular group "Pay What You Want" tours, and a private custom tour service is also available if you would like to visit other areas such as Recoleta (& the cemetery), La Boca or San Telmo.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An absolute must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My friends and I took Jonathan's walking tour shortly after arriving in Buenos Aires. What a wonderful surprise! Knowledgeable, witty and organized, Jonathan is a fabulous storyteller, mixing facts, anecdotes, and urban legends. We all highly recommend Jonathan.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    21
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Started my BA visit off right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I can't say enough about BA Local Tours -- I arrived alone before my friends, speaking no spanish, and wondering how to occupy my first day - the answer? Jonathan and his tour. I hired him for a couple of hours for a private tour of Recoleta Cemetery, then joined him on his free tour. It was the perfect way to get oriented in a new city. Best of all - he takes public tranist, and explained the crazy BA bus system! We hired him again the following day to take us to La Boca and San Telmo. He was a great resource even after the tour, email us restaurant suggestions. Our only regret was we werent able to join him for Pub Quiz. Next time!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of best travelling experiences... Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were lucky enough to go on the free daily tour and also booked with Jonathan to go to Boca aftrwards. I cannot rate this experience highly enough. My only problem was that we did not do this sooner into our stay!
He was a wealth of knowledge but not one second was boring, stuffy or dull - the whole tour showed not only how much Jonathan obviously loves this incredible city - despite it's sometimes-madness! - but also how interesting and quirky Buenos Aires itself is.
We had a great time riding on the buses with the locals, learning the minutiae of what makes the city so unique, and talking about Porteno life, politics and culture. Definitely the best way to experience a city is to hang out with a local, albeit an adopted one, so your sightseeing isn't aimless. There is too much to do and learn in Buenos Aires to go into it with no clue, and the Congreso means so much more when you also get to hear the story of the over the top windmill cafe next to it. He was also extremely patient with my irritating shutterbug habit.
If you do only one thing in Buenos Aires on your visit here, make sure this is it. Thanks again so much Jonathan!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great intro to BA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Jonathan's tour was great - it was really good to incorporate public transport as we got to see some diverse areas of Buenos Aires. Deciphering the bus schedules was worth it alone :) he is clearly quite interested and passionate about various aspects and the tour kept moving at a good pace. We have done another free walking tour in BA but the group size was huge and we spent a lot of time at each stop, meaning we didn't cover much ground. We preferred this tour over the other one.

The sun/heat gets strong during the day so bring some water, hat, sunscreen and sunglasses.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This tour is very carefully designed and Jonathan's story telling skills are amazing. We chose to do it on our first day in BA and it was the best time we had there. Recommend this tour without any reservation. Thanks Jonathan!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buenos Aires Local Tours also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Buenos Aires Local Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buenos Aires Local Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.