We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yauss, creative and delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yauss Club

Yauss Club
Estados Unidos 509 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires 1101, Argentina (San Telmo)
+54 11 4307-2177
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Bar, Coffee Shop, Vegetarian, Delicatessen, Pub, Tapas, Brasserie, Argentinean, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: San Telmo
Description: We inform all the visitors that "Javo" (owner and current manager of San Telmo WaflesSUR ®) is developing a new concept to open in the same place, transforming the space into another option with different brand based on the interaction between art and cuisine home and attendees with strong emphasis on the visual and the kitchen "live" and surprises for lovers of cool drinks. Vegetarians, coeliacs and diabetics can also enjoy the menu. you just need to call to find out first hand news coming February. During January closed and re opened with new brand will be by the same team which won the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence in 2013 but renovated in this spaceA family business dedicated over the last 10 years to the elaboration of handmade waffles in Patagonia; "Wafles Sur" is now an obligatory stop in San Telmo before or after a walk along Defensa street, a visit to the indoor market, or looking around the local antiques stores. At Wafles Sur you'll be taken in by the happiness, color and energy of the place, but most importantly of all, the exquisite aroma of the fresh, hot waffles - crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside. You can accompany them with savory products, or have them sweet with fine fruit jams, cream, nuts, and chocolate flakes - the "cherry on top of the cake". Natural fruit juices, special coffees, smoothies and micro-brewed beer round off the proposition of this innovative waffle house that surprises those who pass through its doors and in just a few minutes carry on their way smiling, waffle in hand, to their next destination.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yauss, creative and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Javier was wonderful the other day, creating a tea for us that we'd had on Viedma Glacier. The waffles were delicious, and we'll stop off to see what photography events are planned soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    30
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“It is now Yauss- A fantastic find! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

This is now Yauss, after the remodel they renamed the restaurant Yauss, it is still owned by the same owner!!!

We just happened to walk by this place in search of an after dinner cocktail. While reviewing the menu outside the owner greeted us and then some of the customers even greeted us, we figured it had to be an awesome place. It was BETTER! We stayed for a few drinks and the guys had beer, a porter from south Argentina. They loved it! Its the best beer they have had since they arrived here two months ago!

When we left the owner told us to come back for breakfast and he will make us something amazing. We did and he definately delivered!!! I had the tapas, gaupacho was amazing, served in a champaign glass with a spring of cliantro. Hummus was great however they should serve it with toasted bread, not soft bread. Everyone else had eggs, bacon and potatoes. I had breakfast envy! It looked sooooo SO good! Unfortunately for me it was really good so I did not get to try any of my husbands. We will be back! Javier is awesome!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Under reconstruction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Really nice owner. With danish heritage. He invited us to come to the reopening.
They're rebuilding opening up February 1st 2014. Or pre opening after mid January

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great place to take visits from abroad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

located at a few steps from the classical sunday San Telmo's fairy, this place is excellent to surprise friends from abroad. Best feature is the variety of waffles: you can ask for combinations with blue cheese, rucula, etc. And you can also taste the sweet waffles with jams from the South of our land. Last but not least, they offer a great variety of exclussive beer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javom004, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yauss Club, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We inform all the visitors that "Javo" (owner and current manager of San Telmo WaflesSUR ®) is developing a new concept to open in the same place, transforming the space into another option with different brand based on the interaction between art and cuisine home and attendees with strong emphasis on visual stuff, "live cooking" and surprises for cool drinks lovers. Vegetarians, celiacs and diabetics will able to enjoy the menu. You just need to contact Javo to find out "first hand news" anticipating the great opening in February. During January the place wil be closed and re opened with a new brand and with the usual human team which won the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence in 2013 but renovated in this space.
The new brand still being a big secret, but is going to be ready during the next weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sur une plage d'amérique latine..
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

When i wake up in the morning I only think of going to waflesur to take my breakfast and be welcomed by a bright smile !

The wafles are very good (i'm a big fan of wafles and have tried hundreds so I won't say great but hey, it's the best option i found in buenos aires) the place is small and cosy, you feel like you were in your living room, the staff is warm and welcoming !

Living in san telmo this is my actual morning spot before going to work - wifi works great! which is not the case of all cafés in BA, and I can only advise you come by and try it by yourself :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javom004, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Yauss Club, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We inform all the visitors that "Javo" (owner and current manager of San Telmo WaflesSUR ®) is developing a new concept to open in the same place, transforming the space into another option with different brand based on the interaction between art and cuisine home and attendees with strong emphasis on visual stuff, "live cooking" and surprises for cool drinks lovers. Vegetarians, celiacs and diabetics will able to enjoy the menu. You just need to contact Javo to find out "first hand news" anticipating the great opening in February. During January the place wil be closed and re opened with a new brand and with the usual human team which won the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence in 2013 but renovated in this space.
The new brand still being a big secret, but is going to be ready during the next weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yauss Club also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Yauss Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yauss Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.