We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelin Left One Out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hernan Gipponi Restaurante

Hernan Gipponi Restaurante
Soler, 5862 | Hotel Fierro, Buenos Aires C1425BYK, Argentina (Palermo)
+5411 3220 6820
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 2,321 restaurants in Buenos Aires
Cuisines: Argentinean, Mediterranean, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Palermo
Miami, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Michelin Left One Out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed in the Fierro Hotel for a week and had breakfast at the Hernan Gipponi Restaurant each morning. I had heard reviews of the dinner menu and the brunch – but simply thought it was hotel food. One evening I had plans to walk into Palermo Soho for dinner and to my dismay it was raining – so we changed plans and had dinner in at Hernan Gipponi…what a blessing in disguise!!! The evening ambiance was awesome – and with the window cut into the kitchen – you feel like you’re right there with the chef’s as they are whizzing away preparing your meal. I had the 7 course tasting meal and would return daily for it! The food was well prepared, unpretentious, and extremely tasty. The service was immaculate – and since I was a guest in the hotel the whole staff seemed to cater to my every need. The wine pairings were great (secret tip: the sommelier actually is one of the best in the whole country!). There is a brunch that is held on the weekends – that I wasn’t able to attend that locals portenos say is one of the BEST in town! This restaurant definitely has my vote for a Michelin Star!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    244
    53
    23
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“THE BEST MEAL EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was staying at the Fierro Hotel for 8 nights so I got to experience this restaurant quite a lot. The breakfast was phenomenal. I also decided to do the 9 course tasting menu one night and I'm certainly glad I did. This was by far the best food I tasted in Buenos Aires.The 9 course tasting menu was exquisite and very cheap by New York City (USD) standards. The service was impeccable- I wish I could remember all the lovely waiters and waitresses by name. You are wonderful! Thank you! I specifically loved the yogurt with granola (I'm sure both items were homemade)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nine course diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

In a quiet setting and a friendly service, Hernan Gipponi offers a set course diner. An overall pleasant experience, with a few good surprises along the nine course diner. The desserts are creative and refreshing. Good wine selection, sadly presented on an I Pad, which I thought a little bit tacky. Fair pricing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was delightfully surprised when I grabbed a bite while staying at the hotel. Excellent freshly prepared food in a pleasant environment. Attentive waitstaff.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best meal in S. America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Innovative food and excellent service. I had the 7 course tasting menu and my wife had the 5 course. Delicious!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hernan Gipponi Restaurante also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Hernan Gipponi Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hernan Gipponi Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.