We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and charming decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de 1820

La Posada de 1820
Tucuman 501 | Esquina San Martin, Buenos Aires, Argentina
11 4314-4557
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #341 of 2,523 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tasty and charming decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had time only for a quick dinner limited to the sopa del dia and the salad bar. Both were delicious. Lovely restaurant. I wish I could have tried their parilla or Italian dishes. Next time I'm in BA. If you are near the shopping area on Calle Florida, this is extremely close, just a block away. The waiter was not especially welcoming but I was in a rush so that may have understandably bothered him.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    134
    38
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Please share!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

The portions of meat here are good enough to share, if you are not starving...We had the entranas that is what we call skirt or churrasco. We had the salad bar and the service is great.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I have dined there many times and recommended it to my friends. Last night, I was sorry I led my group there. The waitor was arrogant to the point he told some of us what we were having for dinner. He left before we could complete our order. We had to summon him back to correct the situation. When he presented the check, we gave him a 20% coupon printed from their website. I have used these coupons without incident for some time. He first lied that the coupon was only valid during lunch. We pressed the issue and he became quite rude. He eventually took 10% off of the bill and lost a regular customer. Idiot.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A good all rounder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Good for steaks and fish, excellent chorizo. It gets busy at lunchtimes with middle management and mainly Brazilian tourists.
Have visited a couple of times and found it is consistent. Restaurant is quite large and can accommodate larger parties.
Children welcome, which can be a nuisance if you need to talk business.
Proximity to the Claridge helps attract more well heeled visitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good value italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This place was right near our hotel, The Claridge, at the corner of San Marten and Tucuman. We were looking for a small, not too expensive Italian place, with more than pizza. We each had a trip to the salad bar, which had good variety of fresh items and my glass of house red wine was delicious. Our two homemade pasta entrees were fresh and tasty. The portions are good size - you can actually share an entree with salad bar for two. The entire bill came to $45 US plus tip. The service was friendly, "just right" attention and the place warm and cozy. We would definately return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Posada de 1820 also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Tigre, Province of Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to La Posada de 1820? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de 1820, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.