We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Unique Art Madero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Unique Art Madero to your Saves list
Unique Art Madero
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chile 80 | Puerto Madero - San Telmo, Buenos Aires 1205, Argentina (Formerly Unique Madero Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #286 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“OK hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Loved the location of this hotel, close to San Telmo. Calle Chile has a lot of bars and restaurants, so very convenient. Rooms were small, ours also has several large columns in it, taking up quite a lot of space. Bed was reasonably comfortable, a little on the hard side. No sound proofing in this hotel, very noisy, especially vacuuming the hallways early in the morning! Claims to have indoor pool and washer/dryers - not true, as i was informed rudely by the staff. Breakfast was nice in a room with beautiful views, however so uncomfortable as the tables as very low. Stay here if you get the room cheap, but otherwise look around for something better!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    148
    142
    69
    56
See reviews for
87
189
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is a reasonably located hotel between San Telmo and Puerto Madero where many good restaurants can be found. The location is therefore reasonable although there are very noisy avenues close to the hotel. However, in few countries would this hotel be considered to be a 4-star establishment. The door to our room had minimal insulation capacity, hence one would wake up along with the earliest risers on the floor. The breakfast room looked good and had a great view but a very strange furniture for the purpose it must be said. Also the breakfast itself was very mediocre. Usually at least one member of staff in the lobby spoke English, but waiting for that member to become available to feel like a waste of time. The hotel does not have a luggage store-room but pile the suitcase next to the lobby on the day of departure. There is neither a bar nor a small restaurant in the hotel. And the pictures of a pool and a gym did make those amenities look quite different from the reality. It must be said though to be fair that the hotel was rather cheap. Would we stay there again - no!

Room Tip: The higher up the better do to road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Service was awful, the shower was not working very well, beds are like a box with a mattress, I never sleep well during my stay.

Breakfast was in beautiful place with a great view, however they have tables for kids, not comfortable at all.

The staff was not helpful, every time I was asking fro something they just explained the reasons of the problem instead of provide a solution

Room Tip: Do not come to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

There's still a lot of work to be done if that hotel is to become a special place instead of just one of. And staff's attitude really needs to be done smthng about. The rooms are quite spacious but on closer inspection the furniture is cheap and very standard. Good value for such lovely location for sure, we loved the neighbourhood. Doesn't really offer any extra fascilities, the indoor pools is constantly out of use and the so called gym is merely a tiny room with a treadmill and couple of weights. Wi-fi way too expensive.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

The actual décor of the hotel was lovely – however, it soon became apparent that it was “all style, and not much substance”, which you certainly don’t expect in a hotel which classes itself as 4 Star.

Firstly, our balcony door would not lock the entire time of our stay, which was a security risk. Secondly, the TV signal was appalling, with most channels having a very fuzzy reception – it became apparent this was a hotel wide problem as our friend in another room had the same issue, and the staff themselves recognised it was a wider issue.

Thirdly, the hotel markets itself as having a pool – the pool was indefinitely closed (this was one of the reasons we chose this hotel).

In the bathroom there was no plug in the bath (what’s the point of having a bath if there’s no plug!), and the shower repeatedly flooded due to the impractical shower curtain (not a good design for a hotel). One of the towel hooks repeatedly fell off the wall.

Finally and the most disappointing of all, was the breakfast. All we were given was toast, croissants, and cheap Orange Juice. The coffee and tea was served out of plastic cups, and you had to eat on ridiculous Japanese Style low tables – fine if you are a child or teenager, but not if you are an adult - many older people were struggling.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night in January 2011. I booked it on a whim since there was a good price online, and was a good value. I was a bit worried because of the reviews on trip advisor, and maybe my expectations were a bit low, but I was pleasantly surprised. Of course, this hotel doesn't stand up to North American 4-star standards, but the bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and nice and simple (all white) and the service was very pleasant and attentive. Breakfast wasn't great, as in a lot of spots in Argentina (bread and coffee), but that's common. My only complaint is that the shower was kind of crazy and sprayed water everywere, and the caulking around the tub needed to be redone or thoroughly cleaned. For the price we payed ($80), I would highly recommend, but if at regular hotel prices, there may be better options.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Our original reservation was at Park Plaza Unique in Recoleta. When arrived, they told us that we would be moved to this "sister" hotel in the Puerto Madero. Since this was the day before New Year's Eve, we were left with no choice.

Upon arrival at the hotel, the lobby was in chaos as they are trying (it seems like) to book other people who have been brought over from other Unique properties.

They also "upgraded" us to a suite, which is on the 2nd floor. I don't know about you, but putting a couch in the room does not make it a "suite." However, it later became apparent that being on the 2nd floor was a godsend, as the hotel suffered several blackouts throughout our entire stay. I can just imagine staying on the 10th floor and having to walk down 11 flights of stairs just to get away from the dark, hot, room.

Except for one, the staff was also not very helpful. You ask them to make restaurant reservations only to show up at the said restaurant without a reservation because they never called.

I would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Unique Art Madero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Art Madero

Address: Chile 80 | Puerto Madero - San Telmo, Buenos Aires 1205, Argentina (Formerly Unique Madero Hotel)
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Unique Art Madero 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Unique Art Madero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unique Art Madero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.