We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mainly style of substance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer Buenos Aires

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pulitzer Buenos Aires to your Saves list
Hotel Pulitzer Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Maipu, 907 | (Esquina Paraguay), Buenos Aires C1006ACM, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mainly style of substance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Hotel Pulitzer in Barcelona was fantastic so we booked a suite in Buenos Aires. We were disappointed.


We stayed here for three main reasons - the roof top bar, pool and location.

We were unable to use the roof top bar the majority of the time due to its popularity from non hotel residents. Which was a shame as we were able to hear the music that was been played in our hotel suite.

The pool was extremely cold and had I needed to clear it off dead leaves before use. It was also overlooked by local apartments.

Location was central and DaDa around the corner was a delicious bistro to spend an evening in.

A beautiful four poster bed dominated the suite framed by large windows offering the perfect vantage point to watch the lighting storm. This sat awkwardly against the mis matched tables and chairs which were style over substance. The tables were impossible to eat from providing no function. The bathroom was large and stylish though it did not have dressing gowns like in Barcelona and was decorated with several cobwebs.


Our suite being on the highest floor was too hot. We were informed by reception that it was controlled centrally. However we independently discovered putting the heating on ,actually, decreased the temperature by 3C.

The homemade lemonade was absolutely superb but not enough to make me want to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    186
    50
    12
    5
See reviews for
42
179
32
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for a week during a vacation in Buenos Aires. The decor is fantastic, the rooms are tidy, and the front desk staff is exceptional. They were very accommodating, especially considering my limited knowledge of Spanish. They helped book us tours, shows, and other fun activities. A receptionist named Ezequiel went above and beyond for us after a medical emergency. He found us a hospital and typed up a note for us in Spanish so we could explain our situation to the doctors. The gratis breakfast could use a few more selections but for a complimentary breakfast, I can't complain too much. The gym is somewhat limited - no weight racks, just a few treadmills. Nearby are some great restaurants (try Tancat!), lots of shops, and a really beautiful park. I can't say enough about the extremely helpful service we received. It was a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on either side of our 2-week trip to the south of Argentina / Chile. Great experience! Definitely will stay here again when next in Buenos Aires.

Positives:
* Great looking, clean, spacious room with tv, air con, mini-bar
* American style buffet breakfast (cereals, eggs, pastries, etc)
* Rooftop bar
* Pool (essential when visiting BA in the middle of summer)
* Location -- easy walking from main BA sights (but remember, things are further than they seem on a map!)
* Very friendly service
* Overall decor of hotel including library

Negatives:
* None

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I typically travel to Buenos Aires each January as a respite from Chicago's winters and stay at various hotels. No longer: I've found the one I'll be returning to. Full disclosure: I work at a four-star hotel which is part of a one of the world's largest chains. I prefer, however, to stay smaller hotels away from the international chains. My thoughts on the Pulitzer:

LOCATION: Nicely placed near the Florida Street shopping street as well as Plz. St. Martin but on a quiet side street.

STAFF: I have yet to meet a GENUINELY friendly and helpful staff member. Since it seems that this hotel is utilized by cruise boat companies for both before- and after- cruise extensions, it seems to me that staff has their hands full dealing with infrequent travelers who are the source of unimagined nit-picking. Sad to say, from my time sitting in the lobby and just observing interactions, some of the most demanding -- even rude -- guests sound to be American. Way to go! I'm stunned -- but shouldn't be, I guess -- that a traveler's review of based on frayed towels. When there are issues, give management a chance to address them.

FACILITIES: My standard room was much larger than anticipated and included a spotless and modern bath -- always the key determinant of a hotel room. The mattress was very comfortable, the needed a shampoo but appeared to be relatively new, the Wi-Fi in the guestroom was far larger than many I've encountered and very reliable, and there was an in-room safe tucked away into generous closet space. The gratis breakfast was more than I needed (Folks, you want bacon/eggs/pancakes -- stay home and go to Cracker Barrel) and pleasantly served. Security was never a concern as there is a security agent at the front door 24/7. There is an adequate workout room, an outdoor pool (a rarity in BA at this price point), and a very nice skybar at the top of the building.

Suggestions: A couple more English-language TV stations (at least CNN) would be welcomed, but maybe not -- who wants to sit around watching TV in Buenos Aires? You've heard from me. I'm here at the property two more days and will be back here next January.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Beautiful Hotel, two double beds, safe, rocking chair, Bath, Shower, Bidet, freebies, very good Breakfast.
Carrefour supermarket, Little Italian Cafe and ATM opposite the Hotel, and Florida Street ( shopping pedestrian street ) is 5 minutes walk.

Air Conditioning wouldn't set lower than 23 degrees, that is TOO WARM to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Nice middle range hotel. When I checked into the room which was clean and ready for me, jet here was a nearly full packet of cigarettes in the bin with cannabis rizzla'd onto the outside of each one. There was also a broken one in the bin which had not been lit.
I'd be interested to know if anyone else has had a similar experience.

Room Tip: Check the bins first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager hotel P, Director General at Hotel Pulitzer Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Sir or Madame,

First of all i would like to thank you for your review as it let us know our weaknesses.

During your stay we had many energy cut problems from the electrical Argentinian company that caused us some troubles at the hotel.

However we regret that your stay has not been as satisfying as we would like to.

If you decide to repeat your experience do not hesitate in writing me. jorgeroig@grhoteles.com

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This review is not sour grapes... I can't believe the positive feed back on this site.
We finished our 11 day trip with 4-5Star hotels with this one. Recommended by the reviews.
Main issues: Rooms could not be cooled less than 72 degs. Controlled by managment.
Towels were torn and stained. Rooms were not dusted or vacummed well. Hall ways the same - dark and dingy.
Service was the exception! Everyone at the front desk and doors were lovely and extremely helpful! Not their fault the management/owners don't care of their hotel.
I would rate this as a 2star - an upscale hostile.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Buenos Aires

Address: C/ Maipu, 907 | (Esquina Paraguay), Buenos Aires C1006ACM, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pulitzer Buenos Aires 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pulitzer Buenos Aires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.