We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you know anything about middle eastern food don't waste your time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Habibi

Habibi
Humberto Primo 517, Buenos Aires, Argentina (San Telmo)
4300-7172
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,490 of 2,557 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Armenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: San Telmo
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you know anything about middle eastern food don't waste your time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

While the place itself was kind of cute with kitchy decor and water pipes which can be smoked outside, the food was not at all authentic middle eastern and sadly extremely bland. Fatouche salad didn't remotely resemble the real deal but was instead a poor imitation of a greek salad. The raw Kibbe had no flavour at all and the batlawa/baclava while ok, was made with sugar instead of honey. If you crave good middle eastern you are much better off to go to Las Canitas to Al Zein.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    11
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I'm used to go to arabic restaurants and this is far from being good. Either we were very unlucky that day or others have a random taste. It's pricy in comparison with gastronomic prices around the city. For salad, they served us half onion in slices with slices of tomato and 5 olives (45pesos). We starting laughing. But then we got stuffed aubergine and it tasted sooo bad, horrible, even the smell, something was wrong in there for sure... like rotten meat, we could keep on eating. We complain but they made as if everything was fine and start ingorning us (I'm Spanish, so no language misunderstanding ) and they charged the same price.
Apart from that the rest was quite regular.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“Our best dinner in San Telmo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent five days in San Telmo, a charming neighborhood. On our last night we ate at Habibi, which was close to our apartment. The ambience was excellent, our waiter spoke excellent English, our entrees--stuffed eggplant in a lovely broth and falafel on a bed of marinated cabbage-- were well-flavored and delicious. It was our best dinner in San Telmo.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, fair prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice restaurant on a good location in San Telmo. Very friendly people. Also, they speak good English which is nice with a Spanish menu of Arab dishes :-).

Food was really good, I had a Greek salad and a musaka, both tasted perfect.

It's a shame they are not open for lunch during the week, otherwise we would definitely go there again tomorrow! Good thing is they are open from 8pm, so you don't have to wait 'till Argentinian dinner time...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place isn't all that much to look at, but the food is really good and it's close to the Plaza Dorrego without being right in the middle of it. The kebabs and stuffed grape leaves were both excellent, particularly the beef on the kebabs which was generously portioned, very tender, well-flavored and done perfectly. The service was attentive but not pushy, and the owner came by every table to check on things. Prices were quite reasonable, and the glass of wine my companion had was a very full glass, not the half-full you get for twice the price at some other places.

Can't comment on the hookah service as we didn't try it, but we definitely enjoyed an excellent meal here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habibi also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Habibi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habibi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.