We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a very good visit but not a must see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Xul Solar

Museo Xul Solar
Laprida 1212, Buenos Aires, Argentina (Recoleta)
(54 11) 4824-3302
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 310 Attractions in Buenos Aires
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Reviewed in NY Times article of BA, art of Argentine artist Xul Solar
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“This is a very good visit but not a must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you have the time, an interest in discovering a bit more into a person known as "painter of the unimaginable", this is a good place to visit. A "must see" by no means more of a pleasure should you be of the museum visiting sort.

This interior of the building should be opened up, the gift shop is missing a huge monetary potential and the foundation needs to have more items on display. This man was crazy good and prolific. It's almost shameful they don't detail his life a bit more. The staff should visit the Evita museum to see how it is done - in terms of presenting the personality of a person with a rich background history.

This place is quite, the staff is distant, and the visit is nice enough. It is off the beaten track but worth it if you have the time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
134 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

An intimate gallery with something different to offer its visitors. Not being aware of Xul Solar's work, I was taken aback by its subject matter and detail....so much so, a catalogue has made its way back to Australia.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Don't miss it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

After seeing some of Xul's Art at other Museums, we went to the one dedicated exclusively to him and it is incredible, not only his Pictures, the Building and the Interior of the Museum are also real eye-catchers.Enjoy this Place and the very nice surrounding Area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A mind bender in Buenos Aires!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

It was a short amount of time I got to spend in Buenos Aires, but I made sure to check this off my list. Museo Xul Solar is tucked away on a quiet street, surround by beautiful homes and local stores. Walking to the museum, I thought I was lost, I kept thinking how can a museum by in such a residential area, but alas I found it! It is a very small museum, but loaded with amazing surreal works of art by Solar. If you like the weird side of your mind you will enjoy looking at Xul Solar's work, lots of color, and fasincination with the dark side of the human mind. The building layout is similar to Escher's "Relativity", stairs to nowhere in the building. They have English speaking guides, but only offer the English speaking tours at certain times during the week, best to check ahead. Entrance fee was a fair price, it will not drain then pesos out of your pocket. They will ask to hold your bags at the front desk while viewing the art. Well worth your time!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the greatest painters of the 20th Century”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Xul Solar is a magnificent artist. It’s highly regrettable that his is not internationally well known as he should be. Personally, I believe we can compare him with the greatest figures of the 20th Century, with Picasso, Gris, the Dadaist. His paintings are profound in concept, ample in skill and extremely beautiful.
The Xul Solar Museum is a wonderful place to discover this artist and to grasp a little bit more of the culture of Buenos Aires. The Museum is his personal home, the house he designed and built. You will see stairs climbing to nowhere, internal patios with no access, rooms interconnected in imaginative ways…
When in Buenos Aires, do not miss this Museum. You will discover an artist that will be part of your life.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Xul Solar also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Museo Xul Solar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo Xul Solar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.