We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marcelo Alejandro Mansilla

Marcelo Alejandro Mansilla
Buenos Aires, Argentina
15-5654-9032
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 342 Activities in Buenos Aires
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private Tour Guide in Buenos Aires - Friendly, Easygoing & Professional... If you would like to see the city through the eyes of a local rather than the usual structured tour circuit, then I'm the right person for you!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My buddy and I used Marcelo in June of this year. He was always punctual and was very knowledgable. He is very passionate about his city and it shows. Don't waste your time looking for other guides.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We had a terrific 3 days with Marcelo Manilla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We booked 3 days with Marcelo based on the great reviews we read in Trip Advisor. Traveling abroad, we are always suspect. But Marcelo's reviews were so consistently good that I felt comfortable booking with him. From our first email exchange, working out the details, I knew that we made a good choice. My wife was born in Buenos Aires but this was my first trip. She wanted to be sure that we really experienced all that Buenos Aires had to offer.

We really enjoyed our time with Marcelo. His English is outstanding and he is well educated in the history, politics and economics of not only Argentina, but South America in general and the world. He was able to explain Argentina's history in the context of world events both, politically and economically. He was punctual, pleasant, easy going and very nice to be with.

Marcelo was full of recommendations on what to do in our free time as well as where to be careful, etc. We toured at our pace and really had an excellent time touring with him. We would highly recommend his services.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Marcelo is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We usually explore whatever city we're visiting with just a guidebook and map in hand. For our May 2013 trip to Buenos Aires, however, we thought we'd try something different and decided to hire a private tour guide for a few days. After much research, we chose Marcelo based on his incredible TripAdvisor reviews. We also figured that if we're going to try the private-tour-guide option, we might as well do it big. So several months in advance of our trip, we booked Marcelo for four and a half days out of our nine days in Buenos Aires.

After receiving the first email from Marcelo, we knew we had found a gem. Every communication from him was helpful, cheerful, and professional. Even though our trip was still months in the future, Marcelo enthusiastically and promptly answered every email we sent him containing various questions about travel to Argentina. By the time our trip had arrived, we were already thinking of Marcelo as our new Argentine buddy, based on our many friendly email exchanges.

On our first scheduled day, Marcelo arrived at our rental apartment in Recoleta promptly on time. As we began our first day with him, we soon understood that all of his glowing reviews on TripAdvisor were 100% accurate. Marcelo doesn't just lead you along some route he's predetermined and then regurgitate a bunch of memorized talking points along the way; instead, he helps you figure out where/how you want to explore the city that day and then he joins you in that exploration as an enthusiastic participant, deftly guiding you generally, but otherwise letting you set the pace and tone of the journey. All subsequent days were the same: Marcelo was right on time, in good spirits, and led us on a fantastic tour of the city.

Marcelo's knowledge of Buenos Aires and Argentina is extensive, personal, and intellectual. He doesn't just tell you a bunch of facts and figures about what you're seeing. Instead, he wants you to understand what you're seeing within the cultural, political, and historical context of the city, region, country, and continent. Marcelo tells the story of what you're seeing in a concise, yet deeper and richer way than any guidebook or corporate tour ever could. Marcelo is passionate about his city and country, and it's infectious. Marcelo is also one of those rare people that, five minutes after you've met him for the first time, you feel like you've known him for years and that you're hanging out with your best friend.

To conclude, we can only echo what all of the previous TA reviewers have said about Marcelo: he's knowledgeable, helpful, prompt, professional, interesting, trustworthy, and charming. Marcelo is not just the best personal tour guide in Buenos Aires; he's also an exceptional human being. Our only regrets are: 1.) we didn't hire him for a few more days and, 2.) we couldn't bring him home with us!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“All of Buenos Aires in one day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We selected Marcelo as guide based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. And was not disappointed. He showed up as agreed, and had planned a tour that gave us the highlights of Buenos Aires in 8 hours of walking, including an update on history and culture. He knows and loves his city. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great BA Guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Marcelo was GREAT! Three women from Texas exploring Buenos Aires with Marcelo! He was extremely friendly and knowledgable and was a great guide for us. We especially appreciated his enthusiam for his city and his love of showing it off. He took us to some great expected sites, along with other off the beaten path places that were great! Thanks to our day with Marcelo, our trip to BA was perfect!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcelo Alejandro Mansilla also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Marcelo Alejandro Mansilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marcelo Alejandro Mansilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.