We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algodon Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Algodon Mansion to your Saves list
Algodon Mansion
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Montevideo 1647 | (between Guido and Quintana), Buenos Aires C1021AAA, Argentina (Retiro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellence at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel provides the most luxurious experience. It is located in a very nice, rich and quiet neighborhood of Buenos Aires, close to many attractions and great restaurants and shops - all within walking distance.
This place provides very comfortable, spa-like setting (small pool available up on the roof with lounging area), the rooms are very spacious; ours, (I believe Suite 2), had an outdoor sitting area, super comfortable beds and a large bathroom with a whirpool bathtub and a rainforest-like, huge shower. We were given three different types of pillows to use. I never slept better.
The hotel employees are very helpful and friendly, they were able to provide all kind of useful information, make reservations at hip restaurants and search for specialty shops for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    23
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
107
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I'm always a little dubious of numerous rave ratings for a property, but in this case, Algodon Mansion deserves its accolades. The location of the hotel is perfect - in Recoleta central. But, for me, the staff was "head and shoulders" above most with whom I've dealt. The front desk, concierge and butler team included Martin, Soledad, Leonardo and Jimena during our stay. As this was our first visit to BA, I relied upon them a lot and they delivered each time.

Room Tip: The hotel markets itself as "all suites", but I think that might be overstating a little b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is one of the best and most beautiful boutique hotels I have ever stayed in.

Elegant marble bathrooms, high ceilings, large rooms, beautiful furniture, chandeliers, high thread count linen and great wine from the Algodon winery in Mendoza. We loved it so much we decided to stay here on 3 separate occasions during our 2 week trip around Argentina. We stayed in the Ambassador suite and the royal suite. Both gorgeous rooms but the Royal suite is something very special. It is enormous and the size of a large apartment in London or Paris.

Rooftop pool and bar looked great but too cold in winter for us to use. Great spa too. Complimentary gym passes to a great gym about 2 mins walk away. Wonderful part of Recoleta and walking distance to lots of great shops, the cemetery etc.

The service at Algodon is second to none! Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were extremely friendly, knowledgable and always happy to help. Many of the staff are fluent in English. Special mention to Leonardo and Soledad and Himenia (apologies if my spelling is incorrect). We will stay no where else in BA. Great butler service. Always quick and efficient. Great recommendations for restaurants.

Lovely breakfast with fruit, yoghurt, granola, pastries etc. can be served in your room or in the restaurant. You can also order cooked eggs.

Thank you for helping make our wedding anniversary so special. We very much look forward to our next stay at Algodon Mansion.

Room Tip: Ambassador suite or go for it and choose the Royal Suite! Both were stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in late April. Algodon is a lovely boutique hotel in the upscale Recoleta district, close to shopping, great restaurants and within walking distance of the famous Recoleta Cemetery.It is located on a side street, and although somewhat noisy early in the morning, is actually reasonably quiet after the rush hour.
We were given the largest suite, absolutely outstanding, with its own wine bar, separate dining area, and livig room with an amazing fireplace.The reception staff were friendly and attentive, particularly Martin and Soledad who graciously took care of every request.
On a negative note, breakfast was a little disappointing( it was included in the room rate). No full American breakfast here, nor a buffet style breakfast. Even the continental breakfast with fruits, yogurt and toast/pastry grew tiresome by the fourth morning!!
Also, we found the housekeeping service incredibly disappointing. On two occasions we had to call to have the room cleaned ( this was at 4 in the afternoon!). Amenities were not replaced/ restocked to the point where I had to use a plastic bag because the shower cap I'd used the day before had been taken and not replaced.
The rooftop pool was tiny, as was the adjacent seating area.
Despite these minor inconveniences, the hotel and staff were amazing and I will definitely stay at Algodon on our next visit to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Beautiful boutique hotel, lovely neighborhood. For reasons unknown (a favor to our booking agent, Limitless Argentina?), we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite for our one-night stay, which was fabulous...if only we had 20 friends to entertain that night. Loved the TV embedded in the mirror in the bathroom. All facilities were excellent. Staff was very helpful, but response was slow because there are only a few people on staff...even checking in, we had to wait 15 minutes...then even longer for luggage. The included breakfast was excellent, but, again, service was very slow. A wonderful place to stay if you aren't in a hurry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I spent about 3 days at this fine hotel. Our room was magnificent, the staff very helpful & attentive when needed. I would highly recommend this Hotel when visiting BA. The rooms are beautifully fitted out with large bathroom and generous sized bedroom. It is not a large hotel so book early for busy seasons.

Room Tip: The street view room we had wasn't noisy that we noticed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We loved the Algodon.A fantastic location for exploring Buenos Aires.We liked the fact that it is in an area that is safe to walk around at night.Great big luxurious rooms with everything you could possibly want.The staff are very friendly, warm and helpful.Our only complaint is the spa.This is not run by the Algodon Mansion so it is not a reflection on them.However it is housed in their hotel and they offer a complimentary spa as part of some packages.So i think they need to make sure it reflects the feel of the hotel.Our experience with the spa was not good but I am pleased to say the hotel were very helpful in sorting out our issues.So.....stay at the fabulous Algodon Mansion but avoid the spa.

Room Tip: Avoid the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#1 of 445 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
#10 of 445 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#22 of 445 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#7 of 445 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#6 of 445 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algodon Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algodon Mansion

Address: Montevideo 1647 | (between Guido and Quintana), Buenos Aires C1021AAA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#13 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#28 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#41 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#43 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Algodon Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Algodon Mansion is an all-suite, luxury boutique hotel located in the Recoleta neighborhood of Buenos Aires, Argentina. This landmark 1912 building is fashioned in French Classical design and has been impeccably restored, yet re-imagined with inspired contemporary elegance and sophistication. Our suites are exceptionally spacious and offer superior comforts in amenities, including impeccable service, design and luxurious finishings. Suites overlook a shaded residential street, as well as an exquisite interior lightwell that features a cascading waterfall descending to the lobby. Our celebrated restaurant and wine bar offer delectable ambiance and cuisine, and on our rooftop, teak decks and loungers surround a swimmer's pool for summertime tanning with a petite bar for afternoon soirées. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Splendia, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Algodon Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algodon Mansion Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algodon Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.