We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Buenos Aires” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algodon Mansion

Save Saved
You added Algodon Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Algodon Mansion
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Montevideo 1647 | (between Guido and Quintana), Buenos Aires C1021AAA, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 439 hotels in Buenos Aires
Surrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Buenos Aires”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is one of the best and most beautiful boutique hotels I have ever stayed in.

Elegant marble bathrooms, high ceilings, large rooms, beautiful furniture, chandeliers, high thread count linen and great wine from the Algodon winery in Mendoza. We loved it so much we decided to stay here on 3 separate occasions during our 2 week trip around Argentina. We stayed in the Ambassador suite and the royal suite. Both gorgeous rooms but the Royal suite is something very special. It is enormous and the size of a large apartment in London or Paris.

Rooftop pool and bar looked great but too cold in winter for us to use. Great spa too. Complimentary gym passes to a great gym about 2 mins walk away. Wonderful part of Recoleta and walking distance to lots of great shops, the cemetery etc.

The service at Algodon is second to none! Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were extremely friendly, knowledgable and always happy to help. Many of the staff are fluent in English. Special mention to Leonardo and Soledad and Himenia (apologies if my spelling is incorrect). We will stay no where else in BA. Great butler service. Always quick and efficient. Great recommendations for restaurants.

Lovely breakfast with fruit, yoghurt, granola, pastries etc. can be served in your room or in the restaurant. You can also order cooked eggs.

Thank you for helping make our wedding anniversary so special. We very much look forward to our next stay at Algodon Mansion.

Room Tip: Ambassador suite or go for it and choose the Royal Suite! Both were stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    13
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
79
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in late April. Algodon is a lovely boutique hotel in the upscale Recoleta district, close to shopping, great restaurants and within walking distance of the famous Recoleta Cemetery.It is located on a side street, and although somewhat noisy early in the morning, is actually reasonably quiet after the rush hour.
We were given the largest suite, absolutely outstanding, with its own wine bar, separate dining area, and livig room with an amazing fireplace.The reception staff were friendly and attentive, particularly Martin and Soledad who graciously took care of every request.
On a negative note, breakfast was a little disappointing( it was included in the room rate). No full American breakfast here, nor a buffet style breakfast. Even the continental breakfast with fruits, yogurt and toast/pastry grew tiresome by the fourth morning!!
Also, we found the housekeeping service incredibly disappointing. On two occasions we had to call to have the room cleaned ( this was at 4 in the afternoon!). Amenities were not replaced/ restocked to the point where I had to use a plastic bag because the shower cap I'd used the day before had been taken and not replaced.
The rooftop pool was tiny, as was the adjacent seating area.
Despite these minor inconveniences, the hotel and staff were amazing and I will definitely stay at Algodon on our next visit to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Beautiful boutique hotel, lovely neighborhood. For reasons unknown (a favor to our booking agent, Limitless Argentina?), we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite for our one-night stay, which was fabulous...if only we had 20 friends to entertain that night. Loved the TV embedded in the mirror in the bathroom. All facilities were excellent. Staff was very helpful, but response was slow because there are only a few people on staff...even checking in, we had to wait 15 minutes...then even longer for luggage. The included breakfast was excellent, but, again, service was very slow. A wonderful place to stay if you aren't in a hurry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I spent about 3 days at this fine hotel. Our room was magnificent, the staff very helpful & attentive when needed. I would highly recommend this Hotel when visiting BA. The rooms are beautifully fitted out with large bathroom and generous sized bedroom. It is not a large hotel so book early for busy seasons.

Room Tip: The street view room we had wasn't noisy that we noticed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We loved the Algodon.A fantastic location for exploring Buenos Aires.We liked the fact that it is in an area that is safe to walk around at night.Great big luxurious rooms with everything you could possibly want.The staff are very friendly, warm and helpful.Our only complaint is the spa.This is not run by the Algodon Mansion so it is not a reflection on them.However it is housed in their hotel and they offer a complimentary spa as part of some packages.So i think they need to make sure it reflects the feel of the hotel.Our experience with the spa was not good but I am pleased to say the hotel were very helpful in sorting out our issues.So.....stay at the fabulous Algodon Mansion but avoid the spa.

Room Tip: Avoid the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I spent five nights at the Algodon Mansion last month and had a wonderful experience. Our suite was spacious (a huge bathroom, which is unusual in an urban hotel), the continental breakfast that was included with our room was delicious and the location is perfect. What stood out the most, though, was the excellent service provided by all of the hotel staff. While this may be partly the advantage of staying in a small boutique hotel that focuses on individual attention for its guests, many of the staff went above and beyond to help make our stay at the hotel and our experience in Buenos Aires exceptional. From recommended itineries to restaurant and shopping suggestions (including making an individualized list of stores when they knew we were looking for leather goods), they just couldn't have been more helpful. The staff is young and enthusiastic and I want to give a particular shout-out to Jimena and Soledad for all of their help. We would definitely recommend the Algodon....oh, and their restaurant Chez Nous is wonderful too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed at the Algodon Mansion in October of 2012, so my review predates some of the not so favorable reviews I just looked at. I can only say that my stay, in Room 8 or 9, for four nights was up to standard for a small boutique hotel. I was traveling with my mom, who is 77, exceptionally demanding of hotels--and she pronounced herself pleased. We came down to breakffast every day and had a wonderful time with the serving staff, who were all "muy amable". I only ate at the restaurant once and didn't think it was exceptional but it was certainly acceptable. Our room, which was one of the better ones in the hotel, was really just over the top in terms of luxury appointments. I particularly liked the TV screen that appeared in the bathroom mirror. The location is lovely; just a street or two over is a local food market area that was fun to walk through and of course it is walking distance from the great Buenos Aires book store: El Ateneo.

Altogether, an excellent hotel. More elegant than charming perhaps, but nothing wrong with that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Algodon Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algodon Mansion

Address: Montevideo 1647 | (between Guido and Quintana), Buenos Aires C1021AAA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#13 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#20 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#40 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#72 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Algodon Mansion 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Algodon Mansion is an all-suite, luxury boutique hotel located in the Recoleta neighborhood of Buenos Aires, Argentina. This landmark 1912 building is fashioned in French Classical design and has been impeccably restored, yet re-imagined with inspired contemporary elegance and sophistication. Our suites are exceptionally spacious and offer superior comforts in amenities, including impeccable service, design and luxurious finishings. Suites overlook a shaded residential street, as well as an exquisite interior lightwell that features a cascading waterfall descending to the lobby. Our celebrated restaurant and wine bar offer delectable ambiance and cuisine, and on our rooftop, teak decks and loungers surround a swimmer's pool for summertime tanning with a petite bar for afternoon soirées. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Algodon Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algodon Mansion Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algodon Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.