We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in prime location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algodon Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Algodon Mansion to your Saves list
Algodon Mansion
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Montevideo 1647 | (between Guido and Quintana), Buenos Aires C1021AAA, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 437 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in prime location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at Algodon Mansion after an overnight flight from the U.S. to find our Recoleta suite was available for early check in. Aside from the tiny 4x4 elevator Algodon became our oasis to return to during our stay in B.A. From the huge comfortable bed to the cavernous shower to the delicious boxed chocolates every aspect of our stay at Algodon Mansion made us feel as though we were very important guest.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    17
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
88
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed four nights over a two week period and was completely blown away by this opulent mansion. During my second stay I was upgraded to a beautiful apartment suite, the likes of which I would never be able to afford in another major city. Bedroom, living room, dining room, wine wall......the pictures on the website can't do the place justice. For those who prefer the ambience of staying in a private home Algodon Mansion is highy recommended. Its location in Recoleta is also a plus in terms of safety and cleanliness. Thanks to Martin and all the staff for the warm welcome and recommendations for a first-time solo visitor.

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite the splurge is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a beautiful property in the heart of the Recoleta. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bathrooms are cavernous and overall we liked the fit and finish of the room. It is a comfortable hotel and the service was very good and helpful. Everyone was very nice and pleasant and issues were handled with a smile. We did have a few issues that were technical and plumbing related but they were handled and it would not prevent us from recommending this hotel. Our biggest gripe was that the cleaning of the room did not always meet our expectations and though not dirty by any means the bathroom cleaning should and could be better. It is a small property and it feels like your own mansion which is a major positive to this hotel. I would recommend this property and give credit to the hotel staff and the overall design of this property for the reasons. There are better hotels in Buenos Aires but we enjoyed having our own private mansion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just got back from BA yesterday and stayed here. I sent the following note to the hotel as quoted" We arrived for 4 nights last Friday and checked out on Tuesday. I thought I would share my feelings with you about our stay. On Friday when we arrived we were very tired from the flight and had dinner reservations outside of the hotel but instead decided to eat at Chez Nous. It was wonderful and we loved everything about it. Good thing we did because we had no idea the restaurant, bar and spa were going to be closed for the next 2 nights of our stay. We were VERY disappointed about this fact and feel since we were paying full tariff we should have had access to the entire hotel. Very unfortunate and odd indeed. We wanted a massage but again the Spa was closed. The cigar bar says it it open until 1:00am in the brochure but when we came back to the hotel at 11:15pm on Saturday we were told it was closed. Quite a disappointment. We found it very inconvenient to use unstaffed as well. We liked your rooms and number 9 was a nice suite but we should point out that we could hear ever word of the people in number 8 from our bathroom. Also, housekeeping was not through enough in its daily cleaning. Why did we get only one towel of each size. For such an upscale experience this seemed cheap.

Lastly, your staff was very friendly and nice and we appreciated that.

I am sure your owners know there are many high end products out there and I am searching for a reason upon my next visit to stay at the Algodon Mansion again."

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor_Beck, General Manager at Algodon Mansion, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear haddad007,

I very much regret that we were not able to fully meet, and exceed, your expectations during your stay with us.

While Le Spa offers treatments seven days a week from 8:00 am until 8:00 pm, our steam room and jacuzzi are only activated upon request as part of our commitment to being ecofriendly and environmentally conscious whenever we can be. We do recommend that massages and beauty treatments be booked a day in advance (or a minimum of 2 hours in advance on Sundays and Mondays). I regret that you did not have the opportunity to enjoy one of our exceptional spa services.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at Chez Nous restaurant. Please accept my sincere apology, however, for any miscommunication regarding the operating hours of our restaurant, which may be determined throughout the year by the high or low season. This is a factor that is not unique to our hotel, rather it is common practice among some of the world’s best hotels, among which we count ourselves.

I do thank you for bringing your comments to our awareness, and hope to welcome you again here at Algodon Mansion. We would be delighted to have another opportunity to truly exceed your expectations.

Should you need any further information or assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely yours,

Gregor Beck, General Manager of Algodon Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Located in Recoleta neighborhood, the hotel is a havre of peace. Elegant. The rooms are superb !! The personnel couldn't be more kind and efficient. Food by Chef Antonio Serrano an experience not to be missed. Excellent wine bar. Pool maybe too small.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

What can I say this place is just divine. The service, food, accommodation is just 5 star. It is positioned in the best area. Everyone I delt with went out of their way to help beyond expectations. Gladys and Fransisco were just excellent at their jobs and need to get a special mention, they willing helped us and met our expectations all the time. We had restaurants booked, a list of shops to visit, just a couple of things they did for us. Well done to the management for training their staff to this calibre. Will be back when next in Buenos Aires.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband, young son and I spent three comfortable nights in a Recoleta Suite at the Algodon Mansion. Eventhough, this was the smallest of their suites, it was plenty of room for the three of us. The best parts of the suite were the luxurious bathroom with separate walk-in rainforest shower and the elegant bath tub. If I could have boxed up the bathroom and put it back on the plane to the U.S., I would have done so! The king sized bed was very comfortable and made with a duvet and upscale bedding. There was a separate sitting area with a full-size sofa, tv with dvd player and a cabinet with the minibar. The dvd player came in handy for our son, as we were able to play some of his favorite dvds. A complimentary bottle of wine from the company's vineyards is provided and it was very tasty. We used the small roop-top pool once, it is really only the size of a small dipping pool. The hotel staff were wonderful and went out of their way to recommend places to eat, secure reservations and arrange taxis. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant aside from breakfast, which was very good and offered a good variety of choices. The hotel is located in a quiet, residential area of Recoleta, so street noise was not a problem at all. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Algodon Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algodon Mansion

Address: Montevideo 1647 | (between Guido and Quintana), Buenos Aires C1021AAA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#15 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#23 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#29 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#32 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Algodon Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Algodon Mansion is an all-suite, luxury boutique hotel located in the Recoleta neighborhood of Buenos Aires, Argentina. This landmark 1912 building is fashioned in French Classical design and has been impeccably restored, yet re-imagined with inspired contemporary elegance and sophistication. Our suites are exceptionally spacious and offer superior comforts in amenities, including impeccable service, design and luxurious finishings. Suites overlook a shaded residential street, as well as an exquisite interior lightwell that features a cascading waterfall descending to the lobby. Our celebrated restaurant and wine bar offer delectable ambiance and cuisine, and on our rooftop, teak decks and loungers surround a swimmer's pool for summertime tanning with a petite bar for afternoon soirées. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Algodon Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algodon Mansion Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algodon Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.