We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb and inventive food plus caring service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Pizarras Bistro

Las Pizarras Bistro
Thames 2296, Buenos Aires, Argentina (Palermo)
4775-0625
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 2,808 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Palermo
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Superb and inventive food plus caring service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I found this restaurant through TripAdvisor and thought it was so good I went back the next night. It's an odd place, with no sign, and one needs to knock at the door to be admitted. Once inside, you find an attractive but plain room with simple wood tables and no menus. All the dishes are listed on chalkboards. My server both nights was Javier, whose English was decent and whose sincerity made up for any language shortcomings. I sampled the soup, a hake fish with crispy skin, a pesto pasta, and a chocolate dessert. All were sensational, and memorable. These items are probably only available on occasion, but I'd expect whatever is on the chalkboard to be equally good. The prices are very reasonable and it's easy to get in between 8 and 9 most nights, difficult after that.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    91
    21
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Meal of Our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Thank goodness for tripadvisor and the location of our hotel. The reviews led us to Las Pizarras where we had one of the most memorable and phenomenal meals of our lives and definitely the best in Buenos Aires. The server that we had carefully read each choice to us (translated to English) without any prompting and we found this to be above-and-beyond. Otherwise, we would have plodded through our Spanish dictionary and still would have been completely satisfied with our experience.

Our meal was complete with wine, oysters, rabbit pate, and then a duck dish that made me embarrassed to be eating so well in life. Our trip took us back to Buenos Aires on our return and we eagerly anticipated a second meal at Las Pizarras. I think I cried when we showed up on a Monday evening only to discover the restaurant was closed. Since we were leaving the following day, no more meals were had at Las Pizarras...but that's just the best excuse to go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We wouldn't have found this restaurant without Tripadvisor. God bless this website!
The coffee-pepper butter accompanying the hot bread was a good omen of things to come. The shrimp starter was juicy and well cooked in a balanced sauce. The pumpking-corn soup was perfect taste and temperature with no need for additional pepper.
The rabbit ravioli was juicy and a large enough main for two. The moist chocolate dessert was the highlight: quality cool dark chocolate layer covered with a room-temperature dark chocolate mousse. Fantastic!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great value, interesting food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The service can be a bit slow and you do feel like you are at the mercy of the chef and his mood but if you can be laid back about life, this is a great place to head. Interesting food for Buenos Aires which is so beef focused - rabbit, venison, hare, mackerel etc. all being regulars. Mostly the food is really excellent.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant of our 10 day trip to Argentina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

One month later, I can still can conjure up our delicious last meal in BA at La Pizarras Bistro, and I might add we were thrilled to have found it through tripadvisor. After some great boutique shopping in Palermo Viejo we strolled over to the restaurant a half hour before our 9:00 p.m. reservation on a Wednesday night. They accommodated our early arrival and am happy to report that we did not feel like idiot touristos either, as there were several other table already there, some of which even appeared to be portenios! Because the entire menu is written on chalk boards in Spanish we felt lucky that our waitress was from Michigan and translated everything for us, especially since each dishes had a litany of interesting ingredients. This is truly a foodie paradise. I haven't had such fresh duck since my aunt sever the head off of one from her backyard garden when I was visiting in Poland. They left the perfectly crispy skin (the best part!) on the sliced duck breast and served it with delicious autumnal accompaniments. My husband the game lover had the hare stew which was out of this world, and my daughter loved her fancy pasta dish. The wine steward, whose English was limited, but far better than our Spanish, was still able to set us up with a great vino too. I can't believe that my new favorite is over 5,000 miles from home!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Pizarras Bistro also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Las Pizarras Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Pizarras Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.