We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Conventillo de Lujo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamentos Conventillo de Lujo to your Saves list
Apartamentos Conventillo de Lujo
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Tte. B. Matienzo 2696 | Amenabar 299, Buenos Aires 1426, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 (USD)
Ranked #19 of 249 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truly a home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is a my first time traveling solo in South America. Not knowing anyone, not knowing Spanish, I was really nervous about my trip. Thanks to Amy and Angel at Conventillo de Lujo, they made me feel at home. I was introduced to many great places in Buenos Aires. Amy was the sweetest lady ever. Try to get to know her, she is an amazing person! When she had time, she took me to milonga (she loves to dance!) and La Boca. I truly appreciate her friendship. Breakfast here was delicious. The location might not be super central, but it's very easy to take a bus of subte from here to go anywhere. I like the quietness of this place, not very touristic. It's exactly what I was looking for. I get to meet the real local people. Every morning, I practiced some dancing at the studio (wood floor) and twice a week, there are tango classes here. There are private dance classes available here too. Amy introduced me to the authentic Argentinean culture. For me, CDL is truly a home away from home. I would come back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
9
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011 via mobile

The Best part of staying 10 nights at the Conventillo de Lujo was the owners, Amy and Ray and their wonderful staff. It's a small "hotel" with individual apartments. I had tea on my balcony every morning and watched the area wake up.

My husband Peter spent the first hour of his day practicing tango in the dance studio located next to the atrium kitchen where a tasty breakfast is served. If you are a tango enthusiast there is no better set up!

Everything was very clean and modern with granite counters.

Amy and Ray were so warm and welcoming to us, going out of their way to help us with our various requests (for a tango teacher and a bandoneon player!) we wouldn't have had such attention at a time share, which was our other option.

I really appreciated Julio-he picked us up at the airport after a 10 hour night flight and delivered us to the Conventillo de Lujo. He is Amy and Rays taxi driver who does this wonderful service for the guests.

For my first trip to South America I am SO GLAD we stayed with Amy and Ray! It truly was our home away from home, which in our case is Philadelphia, USA.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

You have touched my heart and soul. I cannot thank you enough for everything...your kindness, assistance, generosity, spirit, patience, warmth, and caring. You have made my first time in Buenos Aires so very special and truly unforgettable. I think of you all the while as I play the tangos and dance in my heart. It makes me happy knowing I will be back with you again next March.

Room Tip: In addition to rooms, they have apartments, which I found preferable for a longer stay. It made my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

A very friendly atmosphere, lots of tango, very nice architecture, and super nice people! Seriously, it is a once in a lifetime experience. And they will help you with anything; where to go, how to get there, best places to go shopping, etc.
It really feels like family with these guys :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

If you ever wanted to learn Tango (even with no prior experience), this is the place for you. As a bonus, you get to know the real Buenos Aires and its very friendly people. I can think of no better place to stay in Buenos Aires. The hotel is clean, well located and the hosts are amazing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Staying at Conventillo de Lujo has been wonderful each time. This is my third trip to Buenos Aires. I like the genuinely warm welcome and family atmosphere at Conventillo de Lujo. The help and advice that Amy, Ray and Susana have given me has made a real difference both to my knowledge and enjoyment of things in the area, also of course to improving my tango. The classes held at Conventillo de Lujo have a mix of locals as well as visitors and I´’ve enjoyed meeting people here who have become friends. I have recommended Conventillo to my family and friends and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Buenos Aires.

Janetta - England

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conventillodelujo_11, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Apartamentos Conventillo de Lujo, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Janetta,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. We hope that you will be able to come back to Buenos Aires again soon and stay with us at Conventillo de Lujo. We have made many changes and improvements since you were last with us. We have a great rooftop qincho and solarium now. Many people love to go up there to lie in the sun and read. We will look forward to having a barbecue with you.

Abrazo,
Angel Garcia
Conventillo de Lujo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock, arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

I have been to Bs. As. numerous times and have stayed at the Conventillo the past three years. Besides visiting family, my passions there are horse racing and tango. I can walk to both the hipodromo in Palermo and to the La Milonguita milonga.
Our driver, Julio, is always waiting (in spite of AA diverting us for hours) for us at the airport and he takes us to our home away from home. It is like having a relative pick you up and catching up on the latest news.
The apartments are beautiful and we love sitting on the balcony and watching the neighborhood.
Amy, Susana and Ray are tangueros. We have accompanied them to numerous milongas and always have had a great time.
There is not a restaurant, but the kitchen is open all of the time and breakfast is included. We didn't take advantage and cook anything because we were on vacation, but each apartment has a full kitchen.
We're always planning our next trip to Bs. As. even before we leave. Until I hit the lottery and buy the Tudor house down the street, I will continue to stay at the Conventillo de Lujo.
(The name is a pun. It's always fun to see the looks on the immigrations officers' faces when they ask you where you're staying.)
I always cry when I leave the Conventillo and Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos Conventillo de Lujo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Conventillo de Lujo

Address: Tte. B. Matienzo 2696 | Amenabar 299, Buenos Aires 1426, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartamentos Conventillo de Lujo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have three two-bedroom and two one-bedroom apartments available in the building. All our bright and colorful one-bedroom apartments are equipped with a full kitchen, breakfast bar, comfortable living room, modern bathroom, and spacious outside balcony. We have individual heating and air conditioning units in all the bedrooms and living rooms. Breakfast, housekeeping service, wireless internet, cable TV, and emergency medical care are included in your daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Apartamentos Conventillo de Lujo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Conventillo de Lujo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.