We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Tango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Tango to your Saves list
NH Tango
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cerrito 550, Buenos Aires C1010AAL, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #63 of 436 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Located on the widest street in the world (allegedly) avenida 9 de Julio, a block away from El Obelisco and also a block away from Teatro Colon, 5-10 minute walk to La Casa Rosada and to cafe Tortoni. The rooms are nice and clean, bathroom is nice as well, the style overall is modern and it looks recently renovated, if you want to feel you are in Buenos Aires, this is the hotel. Like many other big cities in te world, crime is always a possibility just be careful when you walk around...my 69 year old father and I did not have any issues at all, even when we walked back to the hotel at midnight.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    181
    45
    14
    3
See reviews for
49
175
28
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Right across the Obelisco, close to Calle Corrientes (where all the most important Theaters of Buenos Aires are), and above Tango Porteno, a beautiful Tango House where a fine show is presented, are just a few perks the location of this property offers to its guests. Very courteous service.

Room Tip: a room with a balcony will give you the best view of the Obelisco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is very clean, in a great location and a reasonable price. We stayed three nights during two different stays. The staff were exceptional. The hotel is a few blocks from Florida Street (shopping street) and an easy walk away from Recoleta Cemetary. We felt very safe in the hotel. The hotel is not dangerous. Buenos Aires is a big city with a lot of crime. That is not the problem of the hotel. Tourists need to be careful. The rooms are a good size, the bathrooms are clean and the showers have great water pressure. The breakfast that came with our room was very good and plentiful. Americans beware of the eggs. They are like soup unless you eat at the end of the breakfast period because then they have been sitting in the heating tray long enough to cook.

Room Tip: Our rooms faced Cerrito (name of large street) on the 8th floor. It was a great view of the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this very central hotel.It looks on to 9 de Julio Avenue,very close to El Obelisco and Teatro Colon.The staff were friendly and very helpful.The Tango Club next door gave an excellent show.I would recommend this hotel for ease of site seeing and we felt very safe.Buffet breakfast was plentiful.The Hotel arranged pick up from the airport.

Room Tip: A room at the back is advisible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

There are 3 reasons not to stay at this hotel.
1- the area is dangerous to tourists. On a Sunday afternoon four tourists from the hotel were attacked and robbed within 50 yards of the entrance in broad daylight. Necklaces were torn from the wearer, people were thrown to the ground, etc. The attackers mill around the area and swoop down on unsuspecting tourists as they emerge from the hotel entrance.
It was surreal.
2- Traffic and congestion. Argentineans like to demonstrate for any reason and no reason. The area around the Obelisk is their preferred location and traffic comes to a standstill for hours. Police simply block off the streets and wait for the demonstrators to go home. There was a demonstration on 2 of the 3 days we were there. You will have to walk about 6 blocks away from the area to catch a cab. If you drove yourself, you're going nowhere.
3- There was a power outage. Not only did we lose power but the back up emergency generator failed. We had to climb the stairwell to our rooms in the pitch black so we could pack and get out of there. Needless to say a demonstration shut down the area so we had to walk to our new hotel but the luggage could not be transported until the demonstration was over. That was about 11pm.

Room Tip: Stay at least 10 blocks from the Obelisk. Wear no jewelry of any kind including earrings if you valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We booked in this hotel because we had a concert in Buenos AIres, we wanted a hotel just for a couple of nights. In other words, just a place to sleep, but this place came out as a great place to enjoy Buenos AIres, it is over 9 de Julio avenue, 50 meters from Teatro Colón, and close to everything. Nice people in front desk and breakfast restaurant. We stayed in a room in 8th floor with a good terrace over the avenue. I recomend this place.

Room Tip: Room in 8th floor have terrace, even if you do not smoke, you can ask for these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here before a tour, with the tour (twice) and after the tour, and the staff was enormously helpful with the bookings (including encouraging me to book for less through TripAdvisor on one occasion), as well as arranging a car to pick us up at the airport, and sorting it all out by phone when the driver couldn't find us (like we didn't look like tourists)
Rooms are modern and spare in decor, scruplilously clean, and roomy enough, with excellent showers!! (big item for me)
Room choice is difficult - the hotel is right on Avenida 9 Julio, allegedly and probably truly the widest street in the world. We loved the rooms with the view of that street, but a light sleeper might prefer the rooms in the back of the hotel, with absolutely no view and with the commensurate quiet. For me the room with the opportunity to view the incredible traffic was a kick.
Location is superb, one can walk to almost anything, but it is a big city with considerable poverty so put the watch in a pocket and don't wear necklaces.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Tango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Tango

Address: Cerrito 550, Buenos Aires C1010AAL, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#49 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#60 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#64 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Tango 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Tango is conveniently located in downtown Buenos Aires, just off the famous "July 9 Avenue"- the widest street in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Tango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Tango Hotel Buenos Aires

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Tango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.